We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Un's Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Un's Hotel
Save Saved
You added Un's Hotel to your Saves list
Jl. Benesari no. 16, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 150 Kuta B&B and Inns
Adelaide
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Although this place is not new, we find it a great and peaceful place to stay in the middle of Kuta and close to the best surf on Kuta beach. Rooms are big, pretty clean and staff are great. The attached restaurant - the Balcony - is a top place to eat. It is only 5 minute walk to the beach and 5 minutes to Jalan Legian, yet it is remarkably quiet. Two blocks of rooms with palm trees in the middle by the great little pool. We have stayed here many times (lost count) so as long as your not expecting a ritzy resort it is fine. Beds are good and air con is good, and they are slowly renovating each room with a new paint job and general tidy. Price is 50 to 60 dollars inc a very good breaky, you can't go wrong. Lots of Surfers stay hear (inc me) and the owner is a top Bali Surfer too.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    45
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
19
33
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I am not as over the moon as others, but if compared to some other haunts in Kuta that are now getting quite expensive, Uns has a bit more atmosphere to offer.
The verandah to one's room has a very colonial charm to it, the old furniture and green gardens. The room's are larger than most for this price, but the interior is basic but has some old worldy furniture inside.
The bathroom on the ground floor was open but screened for privacy (and possible ugly view outside) so it was important to lock the bathroom door each time you went out, as well as the normal door.
Internet was free, basic bathroom towels no more, so bring soap.
Breakfast not too bad, staff friendly enough, central enough location if you need to be in Kuta.area.
Power for hotel was cutting off a lot the time we stayed there, but they were promptly off fixing it.

Room Tip: I liked being downstairs, near the pool and looking along the expansive corridor, also good to get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altnau
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We found this place in the Lonely Planet (2011) and it was fantastic. The double room was large (two double beds) and there was plenty of hot water (despite another reviewer). We stayed in both a fan and air conditioned room. The staff was super friendly and helpful (e.g. in getting a motorbike/scooter for the day). Breakfast was included and really good (Swiss-style musli for me with tons of fruit, and pancakes for my partner). The restaurant is also great for lunch and dinner and uses local products. There's a laundry service and wifi as well, but the wifi doesn't work well in some areas (it worked great by the pool though). The pool is in a lagoon-like setting and is a reasonable size, but there were lots of mosquitos at night, so it's nicer during the day.

Room Tip: Our fan room was nicer than the AC room we moved to (and cheaper)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed in the deluxe room with airconditioning and paid around AU$60 for one night, which was reasonable considering it was high season (Christmas and NY period). We picked the hotel based on Lonely Planet's recommendation and were quite happy with what we got. Situated at the end of a side street, it was relatively quiet and far enough from the Kuta chaos, with walking distance to pretty much anything (Kuta beach, restaurants, supermarkets, shops, spa places). Gardens were lush green and common areas were kept clean. The pool is surrounded by big trees so it is forever covered in leaves and seeds - the staff did their best to keep it clean, but it really would be a 24 hour job. Our bedroom and bathroom were spacious and clean; staff were friendly; breakfast was a nice surprise, the menu had 5 different options you could choose from, all included in the price. One downside was on our last day, it rained the whole day. The big downpour caused the gardens to be completely flooded, lucky we were wearing flipflops. Our flight back home was only in the evening so we stored our luggage at the Reception after check-out. They even had a shower you could use if you want to refresh yourself before departure, so that was another plus to the place.

Room Tip: General tip for Bali travellers: check the room before you finalise your booking at Reception; if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

Stayer in December. Although i am not a Kuta fan, this place is a nice hidden secret with good value for money. What is excellent is the service of the guy at the office desk. He arranged everything I wanted, surfboard less, travel to other rural areas outside Kuta with a smile and great service. Will definitely go back to the hotel, although Kuta is more a place you go once.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

stayed at the uns for 15 days in april 2011 witha group of friends found everything about this hotel fantastic great value cant understand the bad reviews and will be booking in again for may 2012

Room Tip: remember this is a 3rd world country and chill out dont be a fuss pot' rooms on south side are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

A nice corner property from the hustle and bustle of Kuta.

Thank GOD we stayed two nights, because this was our first destination for Bali after a 28 hour flight from the States. The airline lost our luggage, but with Un's Staffs help we were able to retrieve it the very next day.

Down the Street from the beach, in the middle of all the restaurants, shopping, bars and nightlife. Beautiful garden and clean salt water pool. Rooms clean but ceilings a bit dusty. They do provide mosquito nets which do take advantage of. Outside bathrooms with hot and cold water. Takes credit cards. Includes Breakfast, and cute little restaurant that has a lot of suffer memorabilia. LOVED IT!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Un's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Un's Hotel

Address: Jl. Benesari no. 16, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Kuta
Also Known As:
Un's Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Un's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.