We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely garden, huge pool, cosy room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Sandy Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bali Sandy Cottages to your Saves list
Bali Sandy Cottages
Pantai Kuta Poppies Lane II, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 180 Hotels in Kuta
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely garden, huge pool, cosy room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Value for Money is great. In the middle of Kuta, but relaxing Cottages with a large pleased garden and huge swimmingpool. Cosy huge room with coffee facilities, nice balcony with a view to the pool. Really relaxing after coming back from the busy Kuta. Breakfastbuffet at the terrace. Friendly staff and very quiete. Have been there twice and I'll go back there.

Room Tip: I prefer first floor, but it doesnt matter which room ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    17
    5
    8
See reviews for
9
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Everything about this place is average. My room is standard with tv and AC, but there some problem with stinky smell ( i think its because of the old room) but when i request for room spay its took long time until i must come to thebreceptionist and ask by my self. For relief, the room design like balinese cottage with terrace and there is pool and bar on it. So, my room design with rose petal on bed, bath and i got a fruit platter. And that all. But for the price and location this place is give you standard value. You can take the other hotel near beach with little higher price or searching another place which same far away and same price with this hotel.
For information: i've little difficully to find this place at first and the operator which i call didn't help to much. I must walk far away from zero monument.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banjarmasin, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Sometime when you saw comments on balisandy it sounds terrible, but hey since you have low budget, i think this place is the perfect place for you to stay. I've been here with my family on celebrating 60th bday of my father. The most wonderful place would be swimming pool. The most annoying thing would be the location (if you rent a car, if not then it won't be a problem for you). The swimming pool seems open until 9pm by the hotel although there's no more light & it could bother you with the noise of people laughing or yelling sometimes. Hotel is very old & need renovation as soon as possible. Room at 1st floor is older than the room at 2nd floor. Bed sheet is rough & need to renew, so is the bed & pillow. Bath room is quite smelly sometimes. Bfast need more challenging on timing refill for food & glass. If you had more time for outside activities, then i think this place is quite enough for you. Beware on the reservation type of room, it could get more tricky because twin bed is more available then double bed that they probably have.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks - last week in December 2013 and the 1st week in January 2014. I've seen "professional" photos on various websites showing lovely rooms with colourful matching bed linen arranged with flowers and beautiful room lighting etc. The real thing is nothing like these photos at all! The rooms are dirty, the bedlinen that was once white is now stained and there is a small old style CRT TV in the corner. We booked a ground floor room more than 8 months in advance. When we arrived we were told that none were available and that we would have to spend the first day & night in an upstairs room. No big deal . . . except the only room available was disgusting! The bathroom was filthy, smelly and mouldy. The shower is in the bath and the water would not drain - so you ended up standing in ankle deep water. The vanity had the same problem of not draining. To make things worse there was no hot water - not even warm!! The toilet was gross and there were cracked & missing tiles everywhere in the bathroom. The doors to the balcony had a 2cm gap between them and would not lock. When we opened the main door to leave and change rooms it fell off it's hinges. We moved into the second room - bottom floor. We were sitting on the balcony and we could hear running water coming from the bathroom. It was pouring through the ceiling and flooding the bathroom. Apparently the guy upstairs was having a bath and somehow this was his bathwater?? Add to this that the bathroom was no different than the first one with the water not draining in this one either so we complained again. We accepted a lower grade room after first checking that the water was hot & at least drained. The general condition of the room was still the same - obviously this is the norm as we have now been in 3 different rooms. The towels had huge holes & tears in them and were only replaced half of the time, the sheets were replaced on our second last day even though we request this after the first week. The breakfast was very basic including 3 hot dishes that were always cold no matter when you got there and the pool had algae growing in it. I hope you are getting the picture! If you like cheap & nasty then go for it - because that is what you'll get.

Room Tip: My best room tip is - do yourself a favour and stay at another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights. The Staff were friendly and helpful, pool was good as well. Thats about all though. The room was falling apart around is. There was a roof tile missing so a hole in the roof, the bedding was stained, there were ants all over the floor as well. The last 2 nights the drain in the bathroom stunk so was leaching a disgusting smell throughout the room. It was a very noisy place as we were on the third floor and the while building seemed to echo. One morning at about 8.30am had a knock on the door while still in bed and they were wanting to clean our room - no do not disturb sign anywhere. According to the website it had just been renovated??? I guess you get what you pay for - $35AUD per night, just misleading information.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

we booked there in December, the webpage showed a relatively nice hotel. Upon checkin, we were appalled with what you actually get. rooms are filthy, reception stinks of kitchen fried smell... the pool is a concentration of bleach fumes.
the rooms are so filthy, they look more like prison hospital beds, sheets almost transparent, yellow... the towels had holes, the floor was crawling with ants and cockroaches...
we complained to reception, they upgraded us to their superior rooms... well, let me tell you, there was nothing superior about the rooms... same appalling conditions.
we asked to change the hotel, the reception manager promised to refund us... but they never did...
be very careful with this hotel... what you see is not what you get

Room Tip: avoid at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We booked two nights here thru Agoda.com - the management at the hotel called us on the day of arrival to tell us that they were overbooked and bumped us to their sister hotel "Bakung Sari" - then when we arrived at the other hotel, they changed their mind and decided they have a room for us after all in Bali Sandy.

The room they gave was dirty, it was like never been cleaned in ages, the floor was covered with dirt, the sheet and the pillow stank. The bathroom was nasty. The bathtub covered with disgusting stains. The toilet smells like sewer and has nasty stains/rings all over. We told the front desk to clean-up, they didn't do a good job.

The people at the front desk are not very friendly. We had absolutely horrible experience. It's very disappointing.

People stay away! See our photos.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Sandy Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Sandy Cottages

Address: Pantai Kuta Poppies Lane II, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Bali Sandy Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Sandy Cottages Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Sandy Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.