We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dekuta Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dekuta Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dekuta Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Poppies Lane 2 No. 8, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 174 hotels in Kuta
Bonnet Bay
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just stayed for the weekend (2 nights), was all good. Check-in check-out was smooth, all staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was fine, only had it on one of the mornings, slept in for the other. Have read about discounted rooms in deep dark corners and I'd booked a great price through Agoda, however upon arrival was offered a prime room directly overlooking the pool.
Location is great, walk out front turn left and its a minute to the beach, turn right and your on Jalan Legian (main road/night spots) in a minute. Also a new mall has opened about 30 metres from the hotel entrance.
Poppies II is a great spot, although its close to all the action its a quiet little corner and nice to sit around the pool relaxing. Although it may have been quieter than usual as they were doing roadworks and Poppies II was closed to through traffic most of the time i was there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    71
    51
    17
    19
See reviews for
24
69
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a perfect location only a short walk from the beach and central strip with many clubs and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were large enough, however the bathrooms tended to smell slightly at certain times of the day which is weird. Also the towels had dirty patches on them, which made us question the hotels cleaning equipment. I would reccomend this hotel for great staff and location.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We only paid £22 a night for this hotel via agoda so can't complain. Amazing deal for the budget traveller. Nice infinity pool that we had to ourselves most days. The loungers by the pool were extremely good quality and comfy. You have to pay for these on kuta beach. They also have large bean bag beds.All the rooms over look the pool and have balconies. The food was nice although you can get cheaper if you go onto the street instead of pool service. Our room wasnt the nicest we have stayed in but had a flat screen tv with plenty of multi lingual channels. Service was great and staff friendly. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

For you who demand a place that very close to the kuta beach (it's only took 2 mins by walking) and get a cozy room with reasonable price here is the place! I didn't find any other hotel which around poppies lane and nearby kuta beach that provide a cozy room and swimming pool with reasonable price

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed here on our last night on Bali. Our flight left at 10:40 the next day and although we were warned to stay far away from Kuta, the proximity to both the airport and the beach made Dekuta hotel the ideal place to stay on our last night. The hotel itself was very comfortable and spacious, although you could tell the rooms were a little tired and have seen better days. The pool looked very inviting but unfortunately we didn't have the chance to use it as it was raining all day long. The hotel is located in a relatively quite area despite its proximity to the beach and the beachwalk mall. It was a great location to do some last minute shopping and have one last look at the beach before heading home.

We made our booking through agoda.com and had no problems checking in. The staff was very helpful in helping us figure out a good time to leave in the morning and booking us a taxi to the airport. It look less than twenty minutes from the hotel to the airport. To those who are familiar with Bali traffic, you'll have to agree- that's pretty good!

Room Tip: We were in a room right next to the staircase and with a balcony looking out onto the pool. Usually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Hi,
I got the stinkiest, dirties, lousiest quality towel with a lot of stains, god knows what it was. I wonder what was the hotel thinking.
Room wifi was poor.
There is no lift in the hotel, so plenty of climbing if you stay on the higher floor especially for elders.
Breakfast was not too bad but the hygiene was questionable.
Aircond in room is not enough powerful, the size of the room and the horsepower of the aircond not sufficient to circulate cool air. It takes ages to cool down the room, not at all good.
Location was good as it was near all entertainment places, beach walk was just close by.
Bed was just average, not comfortable.

Overall wouldnt stay here again.
Thanks

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We don´t like staying in touristic and buzzing Kuta. So we just searched for a laid back and calm place there for one night, travelled further the next morning. Unfortunately the booking-provider did a mistake and we arrived there without having a room. The staff on-site was very friendly and helpful. Quickly we got a room for a cheaper rate than we thought we had booked. The rooms are very clean, stylish and comfy, not as stylish as it looks on the homepage, but still pretty ok! The balcony are not really private. You are able to have a open view to the neighbors´ balconies.

The pool area is very nice and in consideration of the position in poppies lane definitely a calm and relaxed place. Only 5 minutes walking distance to the beach and most of the bars.

Breakfast was a little bit poor, a few fresh fruits and the standard indonesian dishes like mie and nasi goreng, eggs and toast, whats ok as well. Never expect too much of asian breakfast in hotels!

Definitely a good solution for people who are searching for a nice place to "overcome" a few nights in that partying, noisy town. But I absolutely recommend to stay in a more laid back area a little bit farther away from Kuta (Canggu, Kerobokan e.g.), there it is a lot calmer and cheaper.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 2nd or 3rd level with balcony. The rooms in the 1st level are directly positio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dekuta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dekuta Hotel

Address: Poppies Lane 2 No. 8, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dekuta Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A budget boutique hotel offering style, comfort, ambiance and flair at affordable prices. Something exciting is happening in the world of hotels. A new type of traveler is walking through the door. These modern people are explorers, culture seekers, professional and shoppers. They travel a lot - both long and short haul. They share a respect for the places they visit and are young at heart. Located just steps away from famous Kuta Beach dekuta offers a unique personality and like to be approachable, chic with comfort interior, contemporary design, great tourist centre locations, welcoming and friendly staff - an altogether perfect little package at an altogether perfect little price! All rooms feature premium king-sized or twin single bed mattress draped with high quality mahogany wood & bed dings topped with four oversize pillows, perfect for a good night's rest. The free Internet WIFI access throughout the hotel and the 32" LCD TV keep your mind well entertained, while the separate rain shower or bathtub relax the weary soul. Feeling hungry or just fancy drink in a friendly laid back atmosphere? You're in luck! Our hotel has its very own rooftop & lounge onsite - Nebula Room - serving delicious food & beverage all day long and you'll always get a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Dekuta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dekuta Hotel Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dekuta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.