We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tune Hotel Kuta, not bad, good on value and situate at a good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel Kuta Bali

Save Saved
You added Tune Hotel Kuta Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tune Hotel Kuta Bali
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kahyangan Suci | (Off Jalan Pantai Kuta), Kuta, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 174 hotels in Kuta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Tune Hotel Kuta, not bad, good on value and situate at a good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I've booked Tune Hotels for my 3 days of stay in Bali. The main reason for choosing Tune Hotel is the good value as I booked for around 10 USD per night. And the location is great for just in walking distance to Kuta Beach, Hard Rock cafe, Kuta Square, Discovery Mall, Waterbom and so on. I never keen to use any facilities like swimming pool so this hotel really suits my style to just have a place to sleep. If possible, don't stay the rooms facing to south as threre is a primary school and could be noisy for schooling periods. A laundry shop is just in the opposite of the front entrance. The disadvantages are the hotel guest has to add-on for towel (plus soup) package and wifi connection. Somehow, I walked twice to Satsuma (if no mistaken, a Japanese restaurant close to Kuta Square) to have my dinner while having net-surfing within free wifi. In fact, that's a lot of restaurants to provide free wifi in Kuta. Lastly, the third floor has a great view at the balcony.

Room Tip: Not facing south, Not ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    244
    128
    33
    9
See reviews for
64
103
127
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Bali: Kuta: Value Budget Hotel
Date : 27th April
I booked this hotel after reading a lot of the concept of Tune Hotels and the location, price offered by them. I think the price they charge is worth the service they provide.
Few things to remember: Better to book everything before you land there as the combo offers that you see in the website are not available once you land there. Also they dont accept credit card. Also they would take deposit money irrespective of the fact that you have paid the entire money before you check in which i found should not have been. But neverthless the tour service and airport transfer service is good and upto the mark, You can negotiate also with them.

Also though you take the aircon for not the complete day but the moment you enter the room it starts the times even though you wish to switch off you cannot. I would suggest not to take the wifi from there as the nearby there is a 24 hours internet cafe with a very less price.

Pro's: Very good location. Right in the middle of market area.

Cons: No Breakfast provision, No view,, Not suitable for families with more than one child., No cubboard and not much place to store luggage.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel Kuta Bali, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Hi There,

Appreciate your feedback following your recent stay.

To address your comments, our hotel essentially operates on a limited service concept, parallel to a “pay as you use concept”

Apart from the advantage of affordable prices, this concept is adopted primarily to support “Less Waste, More Earth”, which typically encompasses energy –consuming facilities such as air-conditioning, TV entertainment packages, laundered towels and other amenities. It allows guests to tailor their stay to their preferences whilst conserving the environment and their hard-earned cash, since most travellers bring along basic essentials such as towels and soaps.

Our limited service concept encourages guests to spend less within the hotel itself, driving more spend outside the hotel, through the affordable pay-as-you-use system of add-ons for energy-consuming facilities and amenities, and the perks, we help conserve both your funds as well as the earth’s resources.

The deposits we charge are refundable upon check out, we charge Rp 30 000 for towel deposit and Rp 15000 for key card deposit.

To clarify your comments, you may actually make a booking at the front desk using your credit card. With limited information here, I am precisely unsure as to why (if you had) you were unable to make one using a credit card.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about our hotel we are glad that you enjoyed the other parts of your stay and hope that we will have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

I like Tune Hotels too, i stayed at both the Bali hotels (they are quite close). The Legian Tune hotel is marginally better, with a small cafe that prepares well priced breakfasts but Kuta has single rooms that can go for as little as 1.4 USD (really) a night during sale periods booked well in advance. I should know i have already booked another week for the total of 10 USD next year !

Kuta seems an expensive place to this european in 2011. But Tune helps with the finances
The fans in the rooms are different from the huge scary but very cooling propellor blades in Tune Hotels Malaysia, they have thin blades that whirr a lot but DO NOT COOL THE ROOM ! So if you want to be cool and not wake up with a damp pillow, you should take the AirCon package that can be split across the total length of your stay , i.e it is for the period "consumed" not a fixed time. The aircon is fixed to a low level of cooling and is quite efficient, but it is not instant cooling like aircon units at home. It is the same for the WiFi, it is very slow, you are forced to refresh many times, but it is adequate albeit a little annoying. everything seems to "limited" in speed, power, presumably to save money for the hotel
The hotel is situated 300m from Kuta square with the Matahari supermarket/department store and shops/Mcdonalds. I agree with a previous poster , a bottle of drinking water is more than double the price of the same bottle in Matahris ! It is located down a small road off the main Jalan Pantai road and is quite well signposted.
Kuta is the only one of the 2 Tune Hotels in Bali with single rooms, Legian only has doubles, as far as i am aware. My room in Legian was very pleasant, but i DID take a double there on the ground floor.
Reception is very efficient and friendly, room service comes every day. No problems, except the poor fan and slow wifi as previously mentioned.
If staying for more than 1 or 2 days, the Towel, soap, aircon package is almost compulsory, unless you buy your own stuff.

Room Tip: Nicer rooms on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Tune hotel always famous with its great location and clean tiny room. So does this one in Kuta, Bali. I stayed for 1 night in this hotel. It's located near Kuta Beach, only 15 minutes walk.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel Kuta Bali, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Hi Tuner,

Thank you very much for this review.

It always nice to read of guests liking our hotel and we are always pleased to know that we have managed to complement your stay.

Our hotels are strategically located close to major shopping, sightseeing and business destinations. Nearby each hotel, you’ll find established convenience store operators and food & beverage outlets to give you reliable facilities within easy reach.

Needless to say, our hotels appeal to budget conscious back packers and perfect for people who just want a good price on a user pays basis.

Thank you for the review and we hope to have the sincere pleasure of welcoming you back soon

Warm Regards,
Sharon - Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

The room is a little small but ok. I choose this hotel for its' location as thought of stated in google map, unfortunately the map posted the wrong location. The hotel was behind Matahari Shopping Mall at Off Jalan Tegal Wangi. I like their selling point ( pay on what you request) but I would said that checking out was slow since short of staffs, plus the lobby was swamp with people waiting to check out.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunehotelsdotcom, Manager at Tune Hotel Kuta Bali, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Hi There,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

Tune Hotels Kuta, provides space-challenged rooms but they're impeccably clean and perfectly adequate as "crash pads"

Our piece-meal concept requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay.

'For non-essential items such as TV, Wi-Fi, tea and coffee and hairdryers, guests only pay if they need them. Guests not using the extra facilities won't be charged for them as part of the room price.' This typically allows our customers to assemble their stay requirements to suit their budget.

Although at check-in time, it may get a little crowded at the counter, nonetheless we have always endeavoured our best to ensure our service is kept top-notch within the limited service capacity.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We booked a single room and double room. Both room types are small but comfortable. The bed is great. We did not go for the air-cond as the room is cool enough just with the fan on. Honestly, the fan is quite noisy when you turn up to level 5. But overall, it was still a comfortable stay. You can try the massage at Sole Pantai Kuta. From Tune entrance, turn left, walk straight to the main road and turn left. Walk about 200m and you will find the spa on your left. My mum and aunt said they had a great massage there.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Wife and I found this to be a very clean and newer accommodation. The staff wasn't the most friendly but we got by. We happened to get a good price but when we tried to return to stay again after returning from Lombok, the hotel was almost double the price. We ended up staying at a different location. The location of this hotel is very convenient and we liked the no frills amenities, even with the added cost. If you want to get in contact with me about this, I can be reached through my portal at www.balivillaindonesia.com. I didn't include email because the terms say not to! Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tune Hotel Kuta Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Kuta Bali

Address: Jalan Kahyangan Suci | (Off Jalan Pantai Kuta), Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kuta
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Kuta Bali 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel opens on 6 November 2009 - Get a 5-star sleeping experience at a 1-star price with Tune Hotels.com branded limited-service hotels. The Kuta, Bali hotel features 139 private rooms with en-suite bathrooms. We believe in letting our guests know exactly what you pay for, and offer the capability to design your stay via reasonably priced pay-as-you-use add-ons. The prices quoted are inclusive of the room price, applicable fees and prevailing taxes only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tune Hotel Kuta Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com Kuta Hotel Kuta
Tune Hotel Kuta Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel Kuta Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.