We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2010 visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence

Save Saved
You added Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Wana Segara No. 2-5, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 175 Hotels in Kuta
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“2010 visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Comfortable and clean rooms. Our 3 year old was happy in the kids club, i hope they pay attention better to the kids now.

Cons:
Water in the pool was cold
I did not like the check in and waiting time, it was a bit long.

Room Tip: Plan in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonKuta H, General Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear wednesday221,

We thank you for your honest review on TripAdvisor.com on the hotel, staffs and service.
We were happy to hear that you had a memorable stay and we will continue improving service not only in Kid's Club but also in all area.
Since your last visit was on 2010, we are hoping you would return and stay with us again.

Regards,
Irmansjah Madewa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    175
    60
    10
    14
See reviews for
116
143
15
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marikina, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I enjoyed to stay here with my boyfriend, both first time in Bali Indonesia. Close to restaurants, mini store and shopping mall. I will recommend this hotel to my friends! I liked the facilities, so clean, friendly staff, good breakfast and nice pool with minibar. I just dont like the smell on the hallway of 3rd floor, smells like ginger. I hope they change it soon, flower smell. Hehe

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonKuta H, General Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Lalabs29,

We would like to thank you beforehand for taking your time reviewing Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence on TripAdvisor.com.
It is nice to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and we have even noted your suggestion to replacing the fragrance in the hallway. Rest assured, we do take things seriously and we thank you for the input.Deeply apologize for any inconvenience it may caused.
We hope you would consider visiting us again soon! Have a nice day.

Regards,
Irmansjah Madewa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

3rd Time booking at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, as usual was top star service and atmosphere.
I was a bit down in Bali due to coming solo and having my cash stolen the day before the kind staff and management in the hotel upgraded me to a Premier Suite to lift my spirits.
I opened the doors to my room and was taken back!! Wow Beautiful. I felt like a Queen.
Room was so large and spacious. Kitchen and living area and breakfast bar.

This hotel does not get the acknowledgement it such deserves.

The staff are GENUINE and friendly. Unlike many hotels in Bali, the staff I find are very fake and robotic, but at Aston they have time for you.

Security Guards are so nice and waited with me till my friend picked me up from the hotels front on his scooter. This Hotel is very Safe and secure.
My friend wanted to come up to watch movies and have a meal in my room he had to get a security pass and hand in his ID. They are very strict. Looking after everyone's best interest.

I dined at there Restaurant and was shocked to always find it basically empty. I have no idea why this is because the food was always wonderful. Breakfast buffet was large but I did miss the addition of the crepes.
I ordered a spaghetti napolitana and it was served with a basket of bread rolls and butter and a side or garlic bread. It was so cheap!! PLEASE DINE HERE!!
There's nothing I can say bad about this hotel.

PLEASE TRY THE TOP FLOOR ROOF TOP BAR.. LUXURY perfect for birthday or romantic night or just to meet new friends, overlooks Bali and the atmosphere and lighting is amazing.

Have booked Again for September this year this time with my Family, next time will be about Astons Resident 3 bedroom Accommodation!!

Thank you for turning my upsetting holiday into a good one!!

Room Tip: Premier Suits are gorgeous. Double security to get to your room, double the air conditioners, double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonKuta H, General Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear TadeoFamilia,

It is always nice to see your review on Aston Kuta on TripAdvisor.com and it has always been a pleasure for us to welcome you back again.
We do hope that our Reservation Team helped you with your recent booking.
It is nice to hear that you went to our Rooftop Bar the last time you were here and even recommend others to come and try, it was very nice of you.
We hope your next visit will be even more great than previous one and do not hesitate in contacting us should you need anything.

Regards,
Irmansjah Madewa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed at the Aston Kuta for 7 Nights and found it to be great, with wonderful staff who were always very friendly. A lovely pool with a swim up bar, as the pool is in full sun, it can be a little warmer during the day, however we still found it very refreshing and spend a fair amount of time relaxing by the pool. The hotel is only about 5 mins away from the airport.

We had a suite overlooking the pool (I believe most of the hotel's rooms overlook the pool), which included a small balcony, this was only for standing. The room had a small kitchenette, two tvs, two air conditioners, a lounge, writing desk, huge king bed and bathroom.

Breakfast was included - the selection included some Asian, Malay and Western food, an egg station, a waffle/pancake station, cereal and fresh fruit and juices. We always chose to have a latte with our breakfast which was an added extra of approx. $3 AUD ea (they were having a 1/2 price promotion during our stay).

There is a laundry across the road - Justice Laundry that we found to very good, cheap, quick and honest. It was about a 15min walk to Discovery Shopping Centre which can get very hot (but you just buy another drink to cool down), there were plenty of restaurants in the area for us to try.

During our stay it was Silent Day (Nepei Day) on the 31st March from 6am until 6am 1st April - everything in Bali including the International Airport is closed, you are unable to leave your hotel until the following day. The hotel blocks out all the doors with black plastic and closed the entrance/foyer. During the day the hotel is still fully functioning - we had breakfast as per normal, enjoyed a relaxing day around the pool eating and drinking and had the buffet dinner.

I also spend 2 1/2 hours at the Day Spa enjoying a body treatment - the staff were very professional and it was very relaxing. The special for the treatment was about $45 AUD (Normal $88).

Even though this hotel is probably what some people may describe as the wrong end of Kuta we loved it and should we return to Bali again (as we're talking about) we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Opt for a suite if you have the opportunity - it's a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonKuta H, General Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Annette666,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for staying with us and taking time commenting on the hotel, staff and service in TripAdvisor.com.
We are happy to know that our staffs serve you with the best service they could ever give and that you appreciate all the effort.
We also enjoyed the fact that you experienced Nyepi day in Bali and hopefully you will return to stay with us soon.

Sincerely,
Irmansjah Madewa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Hotel Maintenance : average.
Room Service : good
Breakfast : bad
Pool : average
Checkin : long and boring
Rooftop bar: average (food bad)
Location: bad .. too far from everything
Kids club: was always closed ...
Beach: 200 meters but ... not good for swimming or anything
Shopping: 700 meter but in hot sunny morning 700 meter feels like 7 km
( I am a good walker was 5 km everyday )
Overall surrounding area of the hotel is not inviting or exciting.

Finally I will say you will get what you paid for.

Room Tip: There are few deluxe room which still have sea view on 5th or 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonKuta H, General Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Shanewaj,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for writing a review on the hotel, staffs and service on TripAdvisor.com.
We are sad to hear you did not enjoy your breakfast or your visit to our rooftop lounge and hopefully we could improve to give a better service and serving a greater dish.
Although we are not located in the prime area of Kuta, our guests can still enjoy the hustle and bustle within walking distance.
We strive daily to give the best service and we are open for suggestions to better improve our service.

Regards,
Irmansjah Madewa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Would like to say a huge thank you to the Aston Kuta for a wonderful stay in the premier suite overlooking a fantastic pool view. The staff were very friendly and house keeping was great. Look forward to our return in December :-)

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonKuta H, General Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Carol J,

Thank you for staying with us and writing your wonderful review on TripAdvisor.com
We will deliver your message to our housekeeping team and also looking forward to welcoming you back soon and to give you a much better service than your previous visit.

Regards,
Irmansjah Madewa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

18 members of the family converged on Kuta with all staying at the Aston Kuta. The staff were friendly and helpful. I was unwell and the desk staff showed genuine concern and arranged through the resort for medical assistance. Thank you! Security was good there and present.
Rooms were clean and functional, we were pleased not to be poolside due to the noise from people socialising after dark. The restaurants within the resort offer a good selection of menus with well presented tasty food. Local area is limited in comparison to other areas I have stayed in Bali, it is not on the beach, 10 minute taxi ride to get to where the action is. However very close to the airport, no flight noise. The on site spa is clean and reasonable priced, enjoyed many treatments.

Room Tip: Premium room above level 3 with no pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonKuta H, General Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Chrissy204051,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking your time and writing us a review on TripAdvisor.com.
We are sad to hear that you were feeling unwell during your stay and hopefully you are feeling much better now.
We strive daily to give the best service and we also hope you would return and visit us soon.

Regards,
Irmansjah Madewa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence

Address: Jl. Wana Segara No. 2-5, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Kuta
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#16 Family Hotel in Kuta
#17 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary sanctuary just a short stroll from the world renowned Kuta Beach, the Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence provides a stylish and comfortable atmosphere as your home away from home. With it's trend setting restaurants, roof top lounge and luxurious guest rooms designs- each guest will have a truly remarkable experience.While the hotel is situated in a peaceful and quaint area of Kuta it is just short walk (50 M) from the world renowned Kuta Beach and the heart of Kuta's restaurant and shopping district. Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence has over 209 guest rooms, banquet and meeting facilities, business center, gymnasium, swimming pool, spa services and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, AsiaRooms, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kuta Hotel And Residence
Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.