We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High priced breakfast and slow/non-existent internet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Wana Segara No. 2-5, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 190 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“High priced breakfast and slow/non-existent internet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Overall, the room was a very nice size and nicely appointed. However, the critical needs (reliable wifi and reasonably priced food) fell well short. Continental breakfast included choices of juice or fruit - and - cereal or bread - and coffee or tea at a price of ~$12 USD. Whereas, a much better breakfast at a local restaurant would cost ~$6 USD.

The internet was not available ~50% of the time during my 2-night stay. When it was available, it was very slow. When asked about the internet, the response from the front desk was "it's wifi and is slow when people use it". It sounds like the bandwidth purchased by the hotel is inadequate.

The area around the hotel is run down and appears to be unsafe. There are guards posted at the entrance to the hotel and I would not recommend walking around the area of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonKuta H, Public Relations Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear funkytownva,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking your time writing a review on TripAdvisor.com.
Rest assured, your comments will be evaluated and discussed with our Management to give you the best service.
Regarding the breakfast allocation, we have planned on having a more affordable breakfast and as for the WiFi, we have added access points to ensure our guest to receive the fastest internet speed.
Do accept our humble apology and we wish you a very nice day.
Look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    211
    69
    12
    16
See reviews for
131
165
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just stayed at this hotel for 7 nights. The hotel itself was lovely, with spacious room, big balcony (in the family room), very comfortable beds, and a nice pool. The pool area was not extremely large but was still very nice with a few rows of pool chairs behind the swim up bar. The wifi was available in the rooms for free which was great. The best thing about this hotel was the staff, who went out of their way to help me when I had lost my phone, being only 17, they gave me a free escort and driver to take me to the police station to get make a claim, which I was very appreciative of. They were also extremely friendly in every aspect of the hotel. Free shuttle bus ran at 10am and 4pm into the centre of Kuta near Discovery Mall, but it was only a 10 or 15 minute walk into Kuta anyway. Overall I found this hotel to be very good quality for money, and would recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies are very nice, as they are very big and have lovely chairs over looking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonKuta H, Public Relations Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Traveling Morgan,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking your time to write such a beautiful review on TripAdvisor.com.
It brings joy to our hearts to hear that you had such memorable stay with Aston Kuta and we hope you will visit us again in the future.
We also would like to convey our gratitude that you would recommend us to your friends and loved ones.

Looking forward to welcoming you again and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Million thanks to Duty manager Mr Ari for his prompt act and great help when my family checked in on 24th June .We had a bad start with air con issues in our room, we feedbacked and immediately Mr Ari made an effort to check some rooms by himself in order to fulfill our request of strong AC . He also upgraded our room and ensured that all our request were met.
Additionally, we would also like to Thank Ms Eva for helping us with our room reservation via email. She was prompt and professional with her reply which really made our booking real fast and easy which we could not get such prompt reply from other prestigious hotel . Again I would like to thank Mr Ari and Ms Eva for their assistance which made our stay with my family such memorable and an unforgettable one.
Thanks & Regards; Mr Yong & Ms Sharon
E507

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonKuta H, Public Relations Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Yong and Ms. Sharon,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time and review us at TripAdvisor.com.

It is our great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also glad to know that our staffs has done the best service for our respectable guests.

We personally will send your regards to Mr. Ari and Ms. Eva and we believe they are as pleased to hear that you had a memorable stay.

Do come back and visit us again on your next visit to Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We enjoyed staying at Aston Kuta. Our Family room was upgraded to Residence but it was located far at the back. But overall experience was very good. Room was clean, although air conditioner in common room was leaking. Location is not too far from beach. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonKuta H, Public Relations Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Freddij,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your time and review us at TripAdvisor.com.

We feel bad to hear that you had a problem with your air-conditioner leaking in the common room,
however, rest-assured that we have change the compressor in the AC in order to stop its leaking.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your family again in Aston Kuta and will give you the best service possible.

Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 nights during May & I am so glad we chose this hotel. The staff are so friendly & welcoming. The service here is of high standard. It would have been nice if the pool was open later but other than that can't really complain. If I return to Bali I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonKuta H, General Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Laura,

First, we would like to thank you for taking your time and writing a review on Aston Kuta on TripAdvisor.com.
It's a great pleasure to hear how you enjoyed your stay and would love to return and stay with Aston Kuta on your next trip.
However, we apologize for not being able to open pool bar until late since we value the privacy and convenience of our guests and if the pool bar is open until late, it would disturb their peace.
We really hope you understand the situation and we strive daily to give the best service to our valued guest.
Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights was very nice hotel great food and rooms were clean, staff were amazing and really made us feel at home Hope to come back and will stay here again. Great distance from shopping and other attractions,I would recomend this hotel to everyone we really did enjoy our stay and made some great friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonKuta H, General Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Sarah,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking your time and review us on TripAdvisor.com.
It serves us a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence.
We really hope you and your loved ones would return and stay with us again on your next trip to Bali. Don't forget to recommend us to your friends, too.

Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callala Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a great week at the Aston Kuta, we got a room upgrade on arrival & wree able to arrange a late check out for a small fee, so suit our late flight. All the staff were just amazing & it was great to come back to our little piece of paradise after a day out & about. I also must mention the ladies from the Kimberly Spas just a few doors up from the hotel as they were amazing & our visits became a daily ritual, which were are missing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstonKuta H, General Manager at Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Wendy,

Thank you for taking your time and review us on TripAdvisor.com.

It gives us a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence.

Don't forget to come back and stay with us again and recommend us to your loved ones.

Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence

Address: Jl. Wana Segara No. 2-5, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Kuta
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#21 Spa Hotel in Kuta
#33 Family Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary sanctuary just a short stroll from the world renowned Kuta Beach, the Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence provides a stylish and comfortable atmosphere as your home away from home. With it's trend setting restaurants, roof top lounge and luxurious guest rooms designs- each guest will have a truly remarkable experience.While the hotel is situated in a peaceful and quaint area of Kuta it is just short walk (50 M) from the world renowned Kuta Beach and the heart of Kuta's restaurant and shopping district. Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence has over 209 guest rooms, banquet and meeting facilities, business center, gymnasium, swimming pool, spa services and 24hr room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kuta Hotel And Residence
Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Kuta Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.