We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous villa, terrible service.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Luxury Villas & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lavender Luxury Villas & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Lavender Luxury Villas & Spa Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   By Pass Ngurah Rai Street #7, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 191 Hotels in Kuta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Gorgeous villa, terrible service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at lavender villa from the 31st of dec to the 3rd of jan.
We were collected from the airport by a lovely driver at 9am and taken to our hotel. When we arrived, the lady behind reception didn't even acknowledge us. Finally she greeted us in a snotty manner and advised us that they had no early checkin details (I'd sent two emails two weeks prior without any acknowledgement). We were told we would have to pay $30usd to checkin early. We agreed and waited 25minutes for them to make it up for us.
We were then driven through the grounds in a golf cart to our villa at the back of the property by another lovely driver.
The villa was gorgeous, nothing like why we expected from the exterior of the premises or along the drive to the villa. Full size swimming pool, pavilion, the aesthetics of the villa and the way it was decorated was lovely. Spa bath in separate huge bathroom was a welcomed addition. The photos online didn't do the villa justice at all.
The first issue we encountered was the wifi- and it was ongoing through the length of our stay. After we complained about it 3 or so times, we were rudely hung up on and 20 minutes later, a tech guy arrived at our villa to investigate. We left the villa and when we returned it had been rectified (however continued to crash for 4 days).
I could continue to ramble on and on about our further bad experiences, so I will jut break them down in point form.
- the mosquitoes are abundant and brutal. We ate at the garden restaurant one morning for breakfast and silly me didn't put bushmans on. 15minutes later and I counted 12 bites.
- the shower water smells like raw sewerage. Disgusting. No other water supply had a smell.
- the pool pump broke on the second morning and the pool overflowed (this was fixed later in the afternoon but broke again on the third day)
- no DVD as stated. Called reception to advise them this and the sent one over.
- the toilet would only flush when it wanted to..
- 2 x 2hr massages were included in our package. The layout to get to the massage rooms was very unusual. The massages were nice but too strong. Ok nonetheless.
- the location of the hotel is terrible. It is directly on the bypass and is very difficult to cross. Not to mention impossible to get a cab. We did find an easy way to get into central kuta. About a 15/20minute walk but you need to walk down an alleyway and along the river and cross two busy roads. Nevertheless, better than the two hours it took us walking along the bypass.
- food was average at best.
- the male stuff were lovely. All very happy and chatty. They made us feel welcome.
- the female staff on the other hand.... This is the biggest issue I had. Snotty, snobby, did not give us the time of day. Horrible, all of them. And I mean it. Not one of them made the effort to speak to us with a little bit of respect. Side stares and laughing, absolutely no phone manner whatsoever. One day there were three of them behind the reception desk laughing amongst themselves while my partner and I were standing there for at least five minutes before I spoke up.
By far the rudest group of girls that I have ever encountered at a hotel in bali.
- plenty more things to dig at but that'll do for now.

In all, as nice as the villa was, we were very, very happy to leave. An will never go back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    6
    10
    9
See reviews for
10
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Miri, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I enjoyed the stay, and will return again.
They provide service of sending us back to our villa at rear side using golf car. We stayed for 2 nights, and wish to stay longer.

A bit far from kuta happening area, but very good for honeymooner that need a romantic place to stay (not for shopping).

Room Tip: The normal hotel rooms (Superior or Deluxe) is nothing special. The good room is private pool villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Firstly we booked this hotel on a whim with a special for a private villa and after booking decided to go on tripadvisor and check some reviews. So glad I did this after I had booked as I think I would never had booked it. So the outcome was after turning up a day earlier than our booking (another place we stayed at we had to leave just not our thing and Lavender happily accomodated us by moving our booking ahead by a day, great service) we turned up in the lobby of Lavender thinking my goodness what place have we come to. The hotel does look pretty dodgy from the front but let me tell you we had a villa (709) and from the moment we stepped through our villa doors were absolutely stunned. For the price we paid it was an absolute bargin, large private pool, huge room and bathroom, nice hot water and all the little trimmings. Up the road and across are some surf shops selling good quality surf wear. If you go out the back entrance of the hotel you are right amongst shops etc and its not so far from Kuta by taxi which by the way if you are a regular traveller to Bali know are very cheap by Aussie standards. Breaky was great but as stated in other reviews they do seem to cater to the Asian market with not many Aussies but this did not bother us in the least. Overall it was a great stay and we would definately consider another visit here for the right price. Really happy with the stay.

Room Tip: Take a villa and not a hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

One good thing about this hotel is the service. The staff was helpful and friendly but I and my friend got woken up for the room service one day at 8:30am!!!!! The room size is good with big balcony. The room would be perfect if everything worked well and doesnt look so old. I stayed there with 5 of my friends and the other 2 rooms' hot showers were not working. All in all, the room would worth the price if everything in the room works, think of the good hotel that goes old and they dont invest on replace the old ones with new stuff. But i would give credit to the service, beside from early housekeeping, I was happy with them all :) The location is about 15 - 20 minutes walking to kuta beach, it may sound far but there is markets, shops and restaurants all the way to the beach, so it's not that bad.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Situated by a very busy and congested highway road quite far away from happening streets of kuta.

Lobby of the main building and hotel, a bit dirty and unorganized. First feeling was " oh no!".

Everything, even the individual villas, are slightly run down.

Common areas, garden and swimming pool, are not nice which in many other hotels and resorts are beautiful.

we wouldn't go again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

not very close to the city of Kuta and it is on the main road...as its 5 min drive frm airport... The room was kinda old...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights while we were vacationing in Bali January this year.This was the worst hotel experience ever for myself and my husband. The room that we have been allocated to was extremely smelly. The bathroom was awful, smelly and dirty. The shower head didn't work properly and no one has attended to our requests to get it fixed. Furthermore, the air-conditioner was not sufficient to cool the room and the room was quite noisy. The breakfast was pretty ordinary. It is not very close to the city of Kuta and it is on the main road which was busy all the time and you could hear traffic if you are staying at the main hotel building almost all night long.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lavender Luxury Villas & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Luxury Villas & Spa Resort

Address: By Pass Ngurah Rai Street #7, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kuta
#35 Luxury Hotel in Kuta
#68 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lavender Luxury Villas & Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavender Luxury Villa & Spa has undergone an amazing transformation. Lavender Luxury Villa and Spa has been renovated. Now, Lavender Luxury Villa and Spa offer 21 units luxurious one bedroom pool villa and comfortable 8 suite cottage rooms with a nice blend of Balinese decoration and modern facilities. In 2014, all of the hotel rooms have been changed to be luxurious spa resort. Lavender Luxury Villa and Spa is very conveniently located and set on an immense 1,5 hectares of land and offers quick and easy access to Kuta as well as everywhere else in Bali. LOCATION * 3 km away from the famous Kuta Beach, shopping arcades, art shops, stylish boutiques and nightspots in Kuta area. * Mall Bali Galeria is just 6 minutes from this villa. * The Kuta traditional market is just only 5 minutes away from the villa. * The Ngurah Rai International airport is just 10 minutes away from the villa. ONE BEDROOM POOL VILLA * Lavender One Bedroom Pool Villa consists of 21 stunning units, each featuring a private pool villa, Jacuzzi and pavilion. * Each Villa is created with a harmonious blend of traditional Balinese architecture with modern facilities and amenities. * Service - oriented and friendly staff will pamper and tantalize guests with professional, personalized service in a comfortable & relaxing ambiance, where one can experience a piece of heaven. SUITE COTTAGE ROOM * 8 suite cottage rooms offer a wider space. * The guests can receive maximum degree of warm and friendly service. * Designed by wooden furniture and decorations, complete with all modern amenities and spacious bathroom with separate bath tub also jacuzzi for your extra comfort. LAVENDER SPA A sanctuary of tranquility, Lavender Spa offers a vast array of sensuous treatments from luxurious facials, natural body scrubs to manicures and pedicures, and other great selections of Spa package menu. All in all, Lavender Spa provides excellent treatments by well - trained staff using quality products. The traditional relaxing massage rejuvenated your body, mind & spirit using pure blended essential oils, which will enrich your skin and give you physical relief a clear mind and induce relaxation. RESTAURANTS * The Orchid Restaurant is available for your dining pleasure. The restaurant with its cozy ambience faces a waterfall swimming pool and serves temping dishes from East and West with warm and friendly service. * Outdoor Alang Alang Garden Restaurant with a capacity of 150 persons is a wonderful place for your gathering or rendezvous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Lavender Luxury Villas & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Luxury Villas Hotel Kuta
Lavender Luxury Villas And Spa Resort
Lavender Luxury Villas & Spa Resort Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Luxury Villas & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.