We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its good for price and across from beach but not as good as it is rated here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kumala Pantai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kumala Pantai to your Saves list
Hotel Kumala Pantai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Werkudara, Legian Kaja, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 190 Hotels in Kuta
sydney
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Its good for price and across from beach but not as good as it is rated here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights and admit we are not legian fans. good location for walking to shops but no better than places at tuban or kuta for walking to shops. seemed to do a lot more walking as markets and shops were spread out. rooms ok, stayed in h block by the driveway so a bit noisy late at night. place is big, pools okay but dont expect a lounge by the pool unless people have gone for lunch. staff that we saw were helpful but it lacks a personal atmosphere. handy being across from the beach but that end of the beach is not as nice as the kuta part. Overall, for the price and location it is good but if you prefer a more cultural visit, nicer accommodation, nicer beach there are other places in bali for the same price but not the access to shops or as many restaurants. would only recommend to people who love the noise and bustle of legian. Watch out for the huge clouds of insecticide smoke when they spray for mozzies!! wonder what it is and whether it is legal in australia? Rooms were cleaned daily and cleaned well. Bathrooms were very nice.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    237
    83
    25
    13
See reviews for
184
139
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

“A 5 stars hotel at a price of 2/3 stars” I remember reading this description about Kumala Pantai hotel in a review from TripAdvisor and I really feel the same after spending a night in this hotel recently.

A beautiful garden, spotless clean & spacious deluxe room with comfortable bed and near to beach, only cost Rp550,00 per night including breakfast, really value for money!!

We got 3 deluxe rooms at the SG block, all look clean and brand new. We are lucky as no bad smell in our rooms (as I read from other comments), in fact, I like the smell of the scented pillow, very light and very relaxing.

The breakfast is good and the beach is just next to the open air restaurant. I would say, this is a wonderful place to start your bali trip...

p/s: tried to upload photos of the hotel here but failed despite numerous attemps. If you wish, you may view the photos at the following link:

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2035706&id=1119733932&l=66e429111d

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Stayed at the Kumala Pantai, on reccommendation from friends. This hotel is great value for money, Had two connecting rooms in the new wing H, the rooms were new and the bathrooms large marble , with a separate bath and shower. The hotel had two pools, one with a swimup bar. The breakfast was included, at the hotel restaurant overlooking the beautiful Legion beach. Having teenagers, they ordered room service regularly, this was the same price as eating on the streets. The only down side, we were staying in the new block H, this was near the entrance, and away from the pool areas, a bit noisy. I would ask for a wing overlooking the pool next time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, wa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. We stayed in an ambassador suite in a new block SG.

We appreciated the rooms were serviced daily, which I didn't expect in a 3 1.2 star hotel. The pools are nice and both pools are great with toddler pools for the kids.

Unfortunately if you are fussy, the towels are small and thin and anything that was once white is grey including sheets, but they are not dirty and they do the job. It annoyed me that they didn't tuck the sheets in on the bed including the bottom sheet ! The attitude of the admin and restaurant staff was unfriendly (difficult) to raise a smile, if you asked them anything it felt like you were putting them out. The service in the restaurant was terrible we ended up eating at the Seaside rest. next door great food and great service.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Westayed here in May with family and friends for our sons wedding.
We couldnt fault the service we recieved
and our friends loved it as well.After approx 23 trips to Bali weve seen some dodgy
places but this hotel is just great and would rebook in a heartbeat.
The position is really lovely righot the beach and the breakfast is awesome served looking over the beach.Great restuarants just outside the hotel so thats a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

We stayed at the Kumala Pantai for 7 nights in August in a junior suite. I must say the room was certainly something different from anything you would stay at elsewhere and the only one in the complex like it (room RK I think). The room was clean, comfortable and roomy which was great when we were travelling with our 2 year old son. We really enjoyed the food at the hotel, particularly the italian food (great wood fired pizzas and pasta). The grounds were fantastic with lots of greenery and two beautiful pools. I had a treatment at the day spa there which was absolutely amazing! The location was also really good and the breakfast, although not a huge variety, was always fresh and pleasant as you sat across from the beach. We also thought the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful.

We had a number of other rooms occupied by our family and friends at that time as they were in Bali for our wedding. I must say everyone that stayed there thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and had no complaints at all. Next time I would probably request a room in the S block as it is slightly newer and closer to the pool. In terms of what you get for the price and the location, I don't think this hotel could be beaten.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Stayed at the Kumala Pantai with my wife and teenage daughter (14) in July school holidays. When booking requested a double bed and single bed in the one room. We arrrived in the early hours of the morning and were put in a top floor room in the A block which had two single beds and fold up camp bed. Next morning we requested a room change which after nearly half the day, when we were told we could move into that room they had already given it to somebody else, eventually we were allocated in NS block on the second floor, I have got to tell you that the room was not much better. It did have a double bed like we had asked but still had a fold up bed. The mattress on the fold up bed had a hole in it, the net curtains had cigarette burns in them, the bed side table had gum stuck to it, one of the three lamps we were given had the wires hanging out and wouldn't work, the hot water water supply was intermitant and as for the sheets and towels well they were a disgrace. The towels were old, grey and frayed , we wash our dog with better!! The sheets were pretty much the same, so thin we would of chucked them out years ago. You probably could have handled all this if you were paying $60 a night but we were coughing up $170 and I expect better for that sort of money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kumala Pantai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kumala Pantai

Address: Jl. Werkudara, Legian Kaja, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Kuta
#35 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kumala Pantai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kumala Pantai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumala Pantai Hotel
Kumala Pantai Kuta
Hotel Kumala Pantai Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kumala Pantai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.