We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kumala Pantai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kumala Pantai to your Saves list
Hotel Kumala Pantai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Werkudara, Legian Kaja, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 214 Hotels in Kuta
Perth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Staff were brilliant, rooms clean, food very good and pools beautiful. For $85 AUD a night for two of us was excellent value for money. The large pool was big enough to do laps in which was a bonus as they didn't have a fitness centre. If you want an authentic Bali hotel then this is it. Close to great Restaraunts and some good market shopping. It's a good walk to kuta but certainly doable. If you want to tan then get to the pool early as there aren't many lounges in the sun. My only complaint would be the hard beds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deejthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Perth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed here last year after having stayed away from Bali for 12 years. I booked a twin share room for myself and a friend and being in the travel industry I had hoped they would have looked after me. Was not the case :-(
We had a room on the very end of the hotel close to a laneway that motor bikes drove up and down all day and night....very loud!
The rooms was very dirty, while I understand hotels in humid countires tend to suffer mould issues, it was the filthy state of under the bed and the grime around the room that I was not impressed with. The celing was very badly water damaged and needed a good paint job.
The rooms do need some TLC and maybe a soft refurbishment to freashen them up?
The pool I was very happy with and spent a lot of time in. The breakfast on most days was good but having to pay for decent coffee was a little wrong I thought?
Overall I am not sure I would stay there again unless they carry out some form of soft referb on the rooms?
Also they need wifi in the rooms or by the pool, only being able to log in at breakfast was not good as they did state free wifi, but never mentioned where it was limited too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CButt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubbo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My daughters and I spent 10 nights here. Our first trip to Bali.
The room was fine - a little cramped with our extra roll away bed but no matter.
The beds were firm but comfortable (pillows & towels a little old)
Hotel grounds were lush & immaculately maintained - gave a real sense of transitional Balinese landscaping
The only disappointment for us was the breakfast which was below standard.
Otherwise our stay at this hotel was lovely & would recommend it for great location, good value & service!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ugi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We love this place and have been quite a few times. This time we stayed on the middle floor of Y block (we usually stay in NS block but changed this time due to the building going on next door). We actually preferred Y - the room was a lot lighter. The hotel only had 60% occupancy so for us it was lovely! The pool was lovely, no lounge hogs at all on this trip. We love the majority of the staff here, all so friendly. Used WIFI this time. In the restaurant it is free, in the room we paid 80,000rph for 5 hours and it was fast. Only a couple of criticisms and all to do with the restaurant. The restaurant needs to brighten up the breakfast a bit, its a bit boring and it needs to change the lunch/dinner menu. It has been the same for 8 years, no wonder guests don't eat there at night very much. Also perhaps it needs to make a couple of tables smoker's tables, because having the smokers right next to us at breakfast drove all other tables mad. Better still - no smoking at all!

Room Tip: NS and A are right in front of the building going on at the moment, so a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AustralindJillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel has many good and bad points, on the good side the rooms are large, bathroom is a good size. The hotel and pool grounds are lush and beautiful, there are no rules around the pool such as not being able to take your own drinks down. Great location on the beach. On the negative side the staff are unfriendly, the bed was rock hard. Breakfast is the worst I have had in Bali, limited choices and food is unappealing. We had bali belly while there and the staff were very uninterested in helping us with the situation. I can see why people love this hotel but I will not be returning.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ChooChooPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the KP for 4 nights last weekend with a 2 year old and a 5 year old. We had the Ambassodor Suite and it was huge. In fact we questioned if we really needed that amount of space as we didnt really use the middle room (of 3) that was a lounge/dining. But it was good to put each kid in each room to go to sleep and us go out on the balcony to have a drink and relax at night.

The room itself was very 'bali' ish with marble everywhere and dark wood furniture. It was all very clean and i didnt see anything at all that i didnt like or thought looked a bit run down. The air con worked, the fridges were quite big and spacious, we had a bath and shower in each of the bedroooms....excellent! The pools were both huge and clean with no mould around them which was great. They both had toddler sections which were a little too tall for my 2 yo but she could still play happily on the very large steps and ledge around the pool. The gardens were maybe a bit run down but with the amount of rain they have it would be hard to have much but mud in some places.

The location of the KP would have to be the best part. It is right in the middle of the restaraunts on legian just part of the Jayakarta. It was so nice to be able to walk both kids to restaraunts or shopping without having to carry them. You couldnt hear anything at all once you were in the hotel grounds so that was an added bonus.

We ate at the restaraunt out the front once and had no issues with service. We also had a few drinks there each night on our way back and the kids loved watching the dancing shows they had. I had no issues with breakfast at all - it was maybe smaller than some of the bigger hotels but they still had a ridiculous amount of items that i figure i would never have the selection of at home so all very good :)

Be wary of the Circle K shop about 100m along the legian beach side. 3 times the shop assistant claimed my hubby had paid with a 10,000 note instead of 100,000 and the first two times managed to confuse him and he agreed. The 3rd he had literally got money from the atm so only had 100,000 and when he argued strongly the guy quickly backed down.

Room Tip: Rooms at the northern end of the hotel (not the beach side) were a lot closer to the pool which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ab_n_tam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We twice had stayed in this hotel and received good service. We loved the food and what I want to highlight is the value for money in what you get. The access itself is very strategic in around Legian and Seminyak, just walk away to beach.

The cons is some of the hotel furniture seems old and rusty, they might need some renovation or furniture refreshment.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
0.3 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#31 of 72 in Legian
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sing Ken Ken Lifestyle Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jayakarta Bali
Jayakarta Bali
#52 of 72 in Legian
3.5 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Bali Legian Camakila
0.1 mi away
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
#9 of 72 in Legian
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kumala Pantai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kumala Pantai

Address: Jl. Werkudara, Legian Kaja, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Kuta
#34 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kumala Pantai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kumala Pantai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumala Pantai Hotel
Kumala Pantai Kuta
Hotel Kumala Pantai Bali/Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing