We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but OK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kumala Pantai

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kumala Pantai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kumala Pantai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Werkudara, Legian Kaja, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 174 hotels in Kuta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tired but OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Just finished my stay at the HKP. I was with a group of 5 women. We stayed in NS block. We had a lovely stay. Yes the rooms are a bit tired and need a spruce up but it is a 3 * hotel. If you want 5* services and rooms you need to stay else where. The food was very good... Nice assortment for breakfast.. Had room service and good choices and prompt , friendly service. The main pool area was nicer than a recent 5* I stayed at in KL. The staff were very friendly and obliging. There was construction next door but I wasn't concerned by it and it didn't go through the night as was suggested in a previous review. We got a discount on our room due to it was a pleasant surprise.go to Briella's across the road from the hotel for great treatments.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    205
    68
    24
    13
See reviews for
168
127
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

i always end up to feel that thisnis the best hotel in bali.
the pool has warm water, great breakfast, cozy room and nice staff, location is great, at the right heart of seminyak area. you can walk all out just to grab you lunch, dinner or to seminyak boutique, or, just to walk on the beach
try it and u will agree with me :)

Room Tip: ask them to give you the room near the restaurant area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I was a bit disappointed at Kumala Pantai. I have stayed before and found it ok. This time I found staff quite unfriendly, especially at breakfast and also trying to get towels around the pool. I found rooms when serviced very average. Wifi was shocking always took forever to connect and would then drop out. I had also had booked this accommodation for April but have since changed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Firstly what no one tells you is that there is construction of a Hotel on the adjacent site and they run a night shift and the hammering to lay plumbing went on all night, The staff at Hotel Kumal Pantai said they cannot be held responsible for the site next door. Did not appear to be concerned
On arriving we where put into accommodation I did not book, even though I had reserved accommodation via Expedia for a junior suite , the hotels comments where contact Expedia, I even showed them the conformation from Expedia confirming the pre paid reservation, the Hotel Staff did not assist to resolve the booking there comment was they were full. I requested a refund from hotel who wanted double payment at this point, to be told its a Expedia issue, and informed me to contact Expedia, who I could not raise on telephone number provided at the time and I put this down to the communications system in Bali on the cell phone.
This Hotel is only Nine years old but it looks like its been around for twenty five years, the air-conditioning is poor faulty has serious water leaks from the unit it is in need of serious repair, actually replacement.
Out of desperation I accepted a room for three days and then we had to move out selves to another room for the balance of the stay no assistance was offered by the hotel with exception of a porter to move the bags. No form of compensation in a complimentary drink or meal was forth coming from Hotel.
In my opinion the language barrier as an excuse when communicating, I even had the assistance of a young Australian lady who spoke Balinese, explain to them, but when they needed to make a point they could do it in English.
In general the cost for this place is costly as I have stayed at alternative places in Bali and cheaper too.
There overall cleanliness is unacceptable they clean where you can see, I removed the cushions on the couch to be confronted by papers dust bunnies and more
The small signs placed in the room could do with wiping down as they where covered by dust and grime,
The fridge in both e rooms need attention the first room the ice in the ice compartment had filled up the opening, the second room the fridge did not close properly .

Room Tip: Ensure you get what you boook keep all relevent paper worrk as they say you owe them an extra day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed for 3 days. Rooms were very clean and very well kept. We were on the ground floor, which made it easier to access the beach, out the door and turn right, your on the beach. There were a lot of stray dogs hanging around the entrance to the beach, they do not bother with you, but it may intimidate some people, especially parents with children. We used the mossy net(November). The restaurant is very basic

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have wanted to stay at Kp for so long so was very happy to get in. Room service food is great and pools so lovely and inviting. Rooms are roomy and comfortable but WiFi is terrible. Not worth paying for it. Hope they improve the WiFi as we had to go elsewhere to get decent internet access which really is a must for those of us who enjoy surfing the net instead of reading a book all the time. Also wish access was a little easier as it is only one way to get in there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Have been staying at Kumala since it opened and have always found both Desi and Luhnik have been wonderful in the degree of service they provide and their swift response to emails regarding accommodation. There are a number of staff in the restaurant who do provide a higher degree of service than many of the other staff and it is this inconsistency in service that needs addressing. Ari and a few others go to great lengths to make sure you are being served and have everything you require, his friendly smile is always a welcome addition to my time at Kumala. Breakfast is fairly typical of breakfasts provided by hotels in Bali. Room service does provide a fairly good selection of meals at a very reasonable price and the restaurant provides some very good italian dishes including pizza. My main issue with Kumala is the inconsistency in service provided by the staff particularly in the restaurant as well as the cleanliness of the linen and comfort of the beds. On my recent visit I was unable to sleep and although yes this hotel is good value for money considering its location, I do enjoy a goods nights sleep. Another issue recently was that the staff in the pool bar between S and SG Block were often very noisy particualrly during rainy periods when there were no guests in the bar. If you are looking for peace and quiet I would not recommend S or SG block. Another problem I encountered and have done so previously is they cut off your card access to the room at midday on the day you are due to check out, this includes those people who have arranged a late checkout due to late flights, this can be very annoying particularly in a downpour. Overall it is good value for money however if you are looking for peace and quiet and a great nights sleep, this may not be the hotel for you.

Room Tip: For peace and quiet (when the construction has been completed next door) NS or A block lower floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kumala Pantai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kumala Pantai

Address: Jl. Werkudara, Legian Kaja, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kumala Pantai 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Kumala Pantai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumala Pantai Hotel
Kumala Pantai Kuta
Hotel Kumala Pantai Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kumala Pantai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.