We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kumala Pantai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kumala Pantai to your Saves list
Hotel Kumala Pantai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Werkudara, Legian Kaja, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 180 Hotels in Kuta
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A quiet oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I had been 3 weeks up north in Lovina before heading down south and thank god I had booked the Kumala Pantai!!!
It's in a great location opposite the beach, great restaurants and lots to see and enjoy.
The hotel is old but it remains the old charm of bali, beautiful gardens with tropical walkways, and the occassional sounds of baliense music drifting through.
The rooms are very spacious and clean.
The hotel pool was great.
I would definetly recommend this hotel and will be back again next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    225
    77
    24
    13
See reviews for
176
131
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have stayed at the KP many times over the last 5 years or so and can honestly agree with the many other reviewers when they say that it's like coming home. It may only be three star, the rooms could do with a lick of paint and a general spring clean, the brekkie menu never changes except for the addition of baked beans every now and then and the towels we wont go there but it's still comfy. Till next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have just returned from staying 8 nights at Kumala Pantai resort, we found it fantastic value for money, beach front location was excellent with everything you need at the door step, rooms were large clean and comfortable, we stayed in H block close to lobby, front entrance, shopping,restaurants and massages only a minutes walk away. The Italian restaurant was very nice with lovely view, the gardens were immaculate as were the pools very clean and great service from pool bars.Breakfast was nice but needed more variety. 2 down sides -Towels in rooms were clean but stained and Internet was very slow. Overall a wonderful stay,we highly recommend the Kumala Pantai and will look forward to returning. The Deck restaurant next door at the O Ce N was the best seafood buffet (Tues nights ) we have ever had,great value at $20 all you can, wonderful sunset views.
Thanks Kumala Pantai for a wonderful family holiday.

Room Tip: B block is closer to the large pool but any room in this resort has its advantages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth western australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for 10 nights last month. This is my 3rd stay here and haven't been disappointed yet. We had a lot of rooms booked as we were in Bali for a wedding. There was only a small glitch with one room one week before arrival but that was sorted before we arrived. Great location right on the beach (across a small road with limited traffic), rooms are clean and big and very balinese style, breakfast was a bit of the same every day, but not a big deal for the price of this hotel. Staff were all very friendly and very helpful. Special thank you to Luhnik for being such a valued staff member in booking all our rooms! Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Although this site reports this being a Kuta hotel, it is more Legian/Seminyak so if you're into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here from 20th to 27th October. When my wife said it was 3 star, I wasn't impressed.( she booked it ). Well, surprise. The Kumala Pantai ( Jade Beach in English ) is far better than 3 stars. Rooms are very good, pools are great, could only pick the swim up bar pool has the kids pool adjacent and it gets noisy and pool toys fly over the bar, minor issue. The second pool has a bar but not swim up, good in a way, people dont stay in the water drinking for 5 hours without ever getting out for the obvious. Grounds are well looked after, great breakfast included and the restaurant is good if you want to stay in. Another 3 star I stayed in recently, the Melasti Beach Resort and Spa, isn't a patch on the KP at 3 stars. Only one concern, it appears common that if you travel in a group, as we did, and your group has 2 or 3 rooms booked, it is often the case that only one of those 3 rooms may be available with the others held over for late checkouts. we didn't get access to the other 2 rooms until 7.00 pm. Coincidently, another party travelling with us but arriving 2 days later had the same issue when only 1 of 2 rooms was available till 7.00pm. I guess the hotel management think its OK as long as you have one room. Not so, especially when some of the party are mother in-laws :) :) We found if you jump up and down a bit ( we did after a couple of hours waiting ) they present you with a Junior Suite to relax while you wait.
Otherwise a great hotel, we will stay again but then, there is always the Nusa Dua Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: Y block 2nd or 3rd floor for pool views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold coast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Loved this hotel ! Rooms are big and clean and well looked after. Pools are big and beautiful and breakfast is enormous!!! Can't fault this hotel and it is in the best area of Bali...so close to good shopping and fabulous food abounds in this area!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent the first 5 nights of our 12 night holiday at the Kumala Pantai after it was recommended on our last trip. I can understand why you have a lot of return customers. It is great value for money, wonderful beachfront location close to fabulous restaurants. We stayed in two rooms (knew this at the time of booking) SG22 and SG03. Both were fine, would probably prefer the ground floor room rather than the 2nd floor due to the ease of accessing the pool from your verandah. I booked directly with the hotel, quick response to my email, no problems.

There a couple of things that I think management could take into consideration to inhance and bring the hotel in line with similar price hotels that we stayed in the area.
1. Breakfast could include a few more choices e.g. different cereal other than corn flakes, cakes and some pastries.
2. Wifi - unfortunately your free wifi was not good. Most hotels and restaruants in the area and even on Nusa Lembongan Island have super fast free wifi not just in hotspots but over the entire hotel including rooms.
3. Do something about pool lounge hoggers. Many times we tried to get a chair and inconsiderate guests had placed items on them early in the morning just incase they needed one and never seemed to use them. I noticed that other hotels in the area have signage up stating that if a pool lounge is unoccupied for longer than one hour your towel and belongings will be removed and kept securly in the pool bar to allow other guest the use of this furniture. I think this is fair and would solve the issue of not being able to find a seat when you want to use the pool.

These are only small issues, but could enhance your guests stay. Overall we throughly enjoyed staying at your hotel. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kumala Pantai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kumala Pantai

Address: Jl. Werkudara, Legian Kaja, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kumala Pantai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kumala Pantai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumala Pantai Hotel
Kumala Pantai Kuta
Hotel Kumala Pantai Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kumala Pantai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.