We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Happy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poppies Restaurant

Poppies Restaurant
Poppies Lane I, North Side Near Legian St, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
(0361) 751059
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 466 Restaurants in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International, Dessert, European, Indonesian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Perth - Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Extremely Happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Visited this restaurant after reviewing feedback on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. Meals varied between our party from the steak, chicken, seafood, pasta, salad and vegetable dishes. A recent reviewer also commented about the portion sizes - to which I also agree (3 x prawns in a garlic prawn entree??)

The general atmosphere is relaxing, gardens/settings comfortable. You will enjoy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for a generous review.

Regarding portion sizes, with higher cost items such as seafood we very carefully balance these with our selling prices based not only on the cost of highest quality ingredients, but also on our operating costs, which are those of an established professional restaurant, which may not be the case in other establishments nearby. The cost of good seafood is now very high in Bali, but we always strive to keep everything in balance in order to serve our faithful returning guests and new visitors alike to the best of our ability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    241
    54
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Silver Service Kuta Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great food and atmosphere. Their hand carved coconut Pine Colada is a must for the cocktail drinker. Whilst the food was very good portion size was extremely small compared to other places making it a expensive night that left you still hungry afterwards.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great setting away from the noise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Came here 14 years ago and it's still the same. Great lunch, great service, great satay, water melon juice. Kids loved it. Nice n quiet when you want a moment to yourself. Beautiful setting.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Always reliable Poppies in beautiful outdoor setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We ate here five times during our stay in Kuta. Food is of a high standard and it is such a lovely setting. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“all good, beware of the pina colada in a coconut.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

very nice.
definately to recommend.

the all so famous pina colada seems to come in an already used carved coconut. and its a huge barong dragon head (bigger than a mainfish plate) maybe ask to get it in an normal cup.
the pina collada itsself is very good

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppies Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Poppies Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppies Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.