We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price & good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Masa Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kuta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Masa Inn
Save
You added Masa Inn to your Saves list
Poppies Lane I / 27, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 198 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good price & good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was the first hotel we stayed at on our three week trip to Bali and was a good start to familiarize ourselves with the area. It was recommended to us as a good value by some close friends who travel to Bali a couple times a year for business. The location, while not beach front, is great and a short 5 minute walk to Kuta Beach on Poppies 1. There are several convenience stores along Poppies for water and snacks. When walking along the streets without sidewalks, stay very close to the building so you do not get hit by the motorcycles/mopeds along Poppies. Pedestrians do not have the right of way! Once inside the stone walls, the property was well maintained with beautiful gardens and clean pools. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was good. The rooms were large, adequate and contained a mini fridge. The staff was fantastic and willing to help you. Internet access was random - sometimes you would get access and sometimes you didn't. This was very typical throughout our trip and you get used to it. The town is very congested and the streets are lined with shops and aggressive vendors who will try to get you to buy their wares, get a massage or paint your nails. Always ask the price especially if you want a manicure/pedicure as they will charge you per the nail if you get nail art. We found a very clean and very inexpensive spa/massage near the Bomb Monument on JL. Legian street called Soma Massage & Spa. A 30 minute foot massage cost about $3 US and a 1 hour Back, Neck and Shoulder Massage cost $8. Reminded me of an Aveda Salon in the US. Be careful to look inside the shop where you will get the service done as some girls stand along the street and look presentable, but their shops are in a back alley with unsanitary conditions. There are several good restaurants along Poppies with good Curry dishes. Also, make sure to bring water shoes as the beaches have broken glass mixed in the sand! We walked with our flip flops when on the sand most of the time and we would pick up the glass when we saw it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near/around the back pool away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    135
    45
    4
    3
See reviews for
69
71
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Barker, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Was great service from the start, all staff very friendly & helpful.
Our rooms were big & only a few steps away from a Hugh pool.
Rooms serviced daily by lovely staff.
Breakfast is very basic, but what more could u get at such a cheap room rate!!!
I loved the location on poppies 1 , only mins walk to legain st, same for kuta square,
Restaurants galore only steps away... Beach not far either...
We have stayed at many places in Bali & this one is my fav for a basic middle range hotel.
Will be back next January only for longer this time ... Bye

Room Tip: Choose bottom floor for kids such a great pool ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I stay at this great hotel from the 2nd of January till the 22nd of January. In this time we became a part of the Masa family. Nothing was to much to ask, the staff were there to make our holiday one to enjoy. Stayed in rooms at the back of the hotel and it was so quiet.The pools are great and allways clean good for that evening swim. Step out onto Poppies 1 and it is a 5 minute walk to Kuta beach or Legian st. Some of the best resturaunts are only 2 min away. If you are really hungry the Havana Club but the best food by far was at La Walon two minutes away from the Masa and is owned buy the brother of the owner of the Masa. Breakfast was simple but very nice twice a week they do a bigger breakfast with Indo food cap cay noodles rice etc. The rooms are clean and have a big bath tub with endless hat water not that you need it. If you are after cheap accomadation that is of a very high standard then I recommend you stay at the Masa Inn

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the Hotel are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Old-fashioned Bali property - lovely gardens, banana pancakes and juice for breakfast, big rooms (although not fancy), own balcony with table and chairs...nice. Great staff. Step outside for restaurants, shops, massage. 5 minutes walk down P. Lane to Kuta Beach.

Room Tip: The rooms out the back are very quiet around a beautiful pool and lawn. Not sure I'd like to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

As a first time traveller to Indonesia I booked this hotel based on prior reviews. The hotel is a little dated but very clean, staff are good and almost all speak English, pool area is nice and rooms have air conditioning. It's not fancy but a great clean budget hotel in the middle of kuta.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lempaala, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Peaceful pool, clean and nice rooms. Employees are excellent, they don't try to sell you anything and are really friendly. Breakfast was good and there are near good places to eat. They also give you a ride to the airport with reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Good cheap accommodation in great location with true Bali feel. Nice and simple place, clean rooms, good pool and nice enough breakfast. Very quiet and would recommend it to anyone who are not looking for overpriced 5 star hotel chain accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuta hotels
0.2 mi away
Kuta Puri Bungalows
Kuta Puri Bungalows
#24 of 198 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Walon Bungalows
La Walon Bungalows
#69 of 198 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Satriya Cottages
Satriya Cottages
#13 of 198 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Asana Agung Putra Bali
Asana Agung Putra Bali
#35 of 198 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dewi Sri Hotel
Dewi Sri Hotel
#56 of 198 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kuta Angel Hotel
Kuta Angel Hotel
#15 of 198 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masa Inn

Address: Poppies Lane I / 27, Kuta, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Kuta
#27 Family Hotel in Kuta
Number of rooms: 314
Also Known As:
Masa Hotel Kuta
Masa Inn Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.