We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to airport, authentic bali hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Alit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Alit to your Saves list
The Alit
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pura, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 180 Hotels in Kuta
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Close to airport, authentic bali hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

It could have been much better if they pay attention more detailed for the bathroom. My personal experience was that the bathroom (room 18) was not as fresh/new as the bedroom. The toilet cannot be flushed well and i ordered someone to fix but he failed. Bathroom is very vital for any guest. Bedding is nice, room is spacious for budget accomodation. The hotel still survives after 25 years due to staff hospotality and some good upgrades and touches.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    33
    33
    3
    8
See reviews for
21
22
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Swimming Pool and Jacuzzi Filthy, the hotel needs to be scrubbed clean from top to bottom, we booked and paid for 26 knights at the Alit but moved out after 3 weeks, we only lasted 3 weeks because all other places were booked up but we ended up finding a room at the Bali Rani and paid to stay at the Bali Rani for our last week because we couldn't stay there any longer, gave up having breakfast about 3 days after arrival because of very poor choice on menu, the food was cold and always tasteless.

Service in restaurant very poor, one knight we sat in an empty restaurant for 35 minutes and still no one even tried to serve us so we left and got a taxi to Kute for our meals day and knight.

The cockroaches in the room was the last straw.

Never Again

Room Tip: I could not bring myself to rate this because there are no minus signs, do not stay here because it...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked this hotel merely for its proximity to the airport and were a little anxious given the varying reviews of the place. We would generally agree that the hotel has definitely seen better days. It is a lovely little oasis in the grounds but the rooms (we stayed in standard) were very plain and the brown and red bathrooms are quite hideous. However, the beds were comfortable, it was clean and quiet, the staff were helpful and welcoming. We caught the hotels free taxi into Kuta but could not use the free shuttle service, or have breakfast at the hotel as our flight was too early. Instead they provided a large takeaway breakfast of water and several pastries which were nice.
Overall a comfortable hotel for the price and as a layover.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed one night with my family. Right after checking in, we found a 4cm cockroach in bath room and my wife screamed when she saw it. I could not bring 2 babies to bathroom and went to hotel restaurant for dinner. Staff at restaurant were not professional and used Japanese during dinner even I spoke to them we are not Japanese. When I submitted my creadit card for dinner, they said they prefer cash and will add 3% more to dinner for card service fee if I still want to use card. I had no choice coz I only had rupia for airport and taxi. It was very uncomportable memories on the last day of Bali and wondered whether Bali is recommended for trip next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after arriving in Bali and before leaving. It is great because it is close to the airport and easy to get back and forth. But it is also great because it is quiet and peaceful. Gentle music in the restaurant, a calm quiet pool that you can relax or swim laps in, a little shop, and nice massage options to relax you before and after traveling. Many Japanese travelers there, but they understand English too. Our group was fine there. One speaks English and Bahasa and the other speaks English and a bit of Japanese. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed hear for a night while on transit through Bali, didn't have time to go in the pool, which looks a little run down. We plan to stay there again before we fly out, but wouldn't recommend it for anything other than transit stop.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I'd definitely recommend this place if you have an overnight in Bali en route to elsewhere, but it's not a place to stay if you want to be in Bali. The price was good, as I booked through Agoda.com and got their discount.

Very close to the airport, and the free pick-up service is good. So it’s not a bad choice if you have an early flight out, or get in late - except that the free pick-up service is not available before 8 a.m. - nor late at night, so you may have to pay for a taxi. However, having said that, I needed to go at 7:45, and one of the drivers had gotten to work early, so I got my free shuttle even though I was (slightly) outside the scheduled hours.

The hotel has a Japanese owner and mostly Japanese clientele, so the décor may appeal more to Japanese sensibilities. I didn’t like it. The furnishings were sparse - no end tables by the beds, nothing on the walls, and the dark brown bathtub, floor to ceiling walls and toilet left much to be desired aesthetically, to my American tastes. There’s a tv, if you want it, and a fridge if you want it, which is nice. I didn’t use the pool because of my short stay, but it looked ok. The water was basically clean, with a good clear color, but it looks as though they don’t scoop it often enough, so there was floating surface dirt.

Other reviews mention street and airplane noise, but I heard none, except while in the bathroom. In the room, with the bathroom door closed, all I heard was the gentle hum of the AC, and I slept well, even thoug I’m a light sleeper and very sensitive to noise. However, I was on the lower level of one of the 2-story buildings, so maybe having another room above cut the airport noise.

The spa is a nice feature - I got a good massage for what is a high price by Indonesian standards, but very cheap compared to what I pay at home. The restaurant serves pleasant food, which is a good thing, since unless you take a taxi or have your own transportation, there’s nowhere else to eat. The location is bad - although close to the airport, it’s not near anything else. It’s in a residential area with nothing in the vicinity.

The water in the shower never got hot - it only got to barely lukewarm, although I ran it for a long time. This may not be a general problem - when I mentioned it on check out, the woman I spoke to thanked me and said they would check it.

The Indonesian breakfast is just fried rice or fried noodles. The American gives you both eggs and pancake, plus bacon or ham if you eat such things. The pancakes appeared to be the real fluffy American style ones, not the crepe type that you mostly get in Bali. However, I tried the Japanese breakfast option, so I can only speak about the American one from glancing at someone else’s table. The Japanese option was an interesting experiment, but if I stayed there again I’d probably go with the American.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alit

Address: Jalan Pura, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alit 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Alit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alit Hotel Kuta
Alit Hotel Kuta
The Alit Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.