We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical Hotel great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Segara Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bali Segara Hotel to your Saves list
Bali Segara Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   JL. Dewi Sartika Gg. Nusa Indah No.9, Kuta, Bali 80114, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 180 Hotels in Kuta
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Economical Hotel great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed one night here and one in a 5 star hotel (The Stones). I can put the comparison simply; if you want a personal but Spartan experience, this is the place to stay. The staff goes way beyond expectations to make sure your every need is satisfied. The room rates are very economical, even for Bali. If you want the luxury experience, try another hotel. I warn you though, you will miss out on a hidden gem of the area.

Room Tip: Other advisors have mentioned the water and mosquitos. Every hotel in Bali sprays regularly as this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
21
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

we stayed here by word of mouth. its nothing flash, a small balinese hotel thats close to the airport. The owners was there, they seemed to act like the hotel is there for there use only, Guests were an inconvienience. The staff are fabulous, wonderful staff. Nothing is free including water to brush your teeth, this is free everwhere else. there are speakers very close to the hotel, so if you are happy to hear the "call to prayer" every few hours then enjoy, 5 in the morning was juat a little too early for me.
The mosquitos are a bit problem here. unlike other hotels who spray or smoke them, this hotel seemed to do nothing. Our room was a twin upstairs, the toilets did not work and there was no water for a shower. Other hotel guests seemed to have the same problem. I only stayed 2 nights, it was convienient to airport but not sure if i would come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed here after missing a flight and needed somewhere to park up for 18 hours while waiting for another flight. I really liked the hotel even though I have only given it a 3. It was in traditional balinese style and was very comfortable. It was very close to the airport and pretty central if you are wanting to stay in the Kuta area and visit the Nusa Dua/Uluwatu end of the island and not spend too much time getting around. I would stay there again as I found it very charming, but a bit expensive compared to other accommodation I stayed in which was more modern. It was the only place I stayed where I had to pay for the bottled water provided free by other hotels daily.

Room Tip: Room 206 - was not part of the Hotel but on the middle floor above reception. Central to the three s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiraz, Iran
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in Segara hotel for our first night in Bali. We had no time to look around and needed something cheap. I really liked to stay in Kuta for 1 or 2 nights so I found the hotel online and made a reservation by phone.
We were arriving late at airport and the hotel had a free pick-up.
Our-pickup was hassle-free as the place was near the airport.
Our first room was nice but there was a problem with an outlet so the lights went off. As they could not fix it, we had to move to another room. (We moved twice, first to a twin then to a double or maybe family suit)
The rooms were a bit shabby and old but the bed was very clean and nice. The second room was more like a small flat. There was a fridge outside the room in the hall.
Except for a coffee bag, the rest were charged.
Next morning we had breakfast downstairs near the pool.
The pool and garden view was very nice in the morning. It was near the beach just a few minutes walk in turning allies but ok for the day not night I guess.
All in all
You may like the atmosphere, it is really beautiful but the rooms look old.

I guess it depends of the price they offer. What we paid was too much for this place. So we decided to check out at noon but left our stuff at the hotel reception.

Of course the staff were nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontianak, Kalimantan Barat, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel is very near to the Denpasar airport. We didn't know about the free airport pick up so we went there by taxi, it was only IDR 15.000. It's located on a small road, accessible by car. The location was pretty good, we could reach Kuta Beach in 10 minutes or less by motorcycle.
The staffs were helpful. The hotel actually didn't have any bike rental but the staffs let us rented one of their bikes with just IDR 50.000 per day (standard price for bike rental).
Nice room, big old bathroom (bathtub in standard rooms). Everything was spotless clean. Free library.
Basic but good breakfast.
Quiet & very relaxing.
The pool was awesome. Clean, big enough for a small hotel. Nice day beds. Spa, fish pond, restaurant were just steps away.
It's a well maintained small budget hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband Arrived late in the evening to Denpasar Airport and booked the Bali Segara hotel which is only 5 minutes away. We were met at the Airport by one of the hotel staff and taken to the hotel. Our room was very clean and we had. Great night sleep. The grounds are lovely and there is a great pool in case it's really hot. Breakfast is included and the price for our room and breakfast was $44! Great value for money! Highly recommend for tired travellers to stay when arriving to BLi very late at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogangar, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel for approximately 1 month. We found it to be excellent value for what we paid for our room. We stayed in the family suite as we had our daughter and my mother staying with us for 10 days of our trip. Breakfast was included daily. With a choice of pancakes or toast and different spreads or a jaffle or rice porridge. Which all came with tea or coffee and most came with some yummy fresh fruit on the side. I'm not sure if they still do this as not long after we stayed new owners took over. We found the food to be excellent for what you pay. The lunch and dinner meals including soups and rice and chicken and noodles were delicious. Especially the mi goreng, best we have had in Bali and this was our fourth trip. We ate at lots of different places along the strip into Kuta and Legian and beyond. We had also in previous years stayed at the Padma Hotel in Legian. A very expensive upmarket Hotel. We found the soups and mi goreng and most of the food at the Segara to be just as good if not better. The rooms were serviced daily. Which is always lovely. The pool and all the hotel areas thoroughly cleaned daily. When we stayed most of the other patrons were out on tours etc. so we had the pool to ourselves a lot, which is great if you like a bit of peace and quiet at your hotel which we did. You can always go down the road if you want excitement and action. The hotel is an easy walk into Kuta or surrounding areas and a cheap taxi ride to all for great shopping and entertainment. We loved it and will be staying there on our next trip to Bali.The staff were fantastic too. Beautiful people. If you are genuine and treat people like decent human beings you will recieve the best of them. All very friendly and they make every effort to please. In conclusion this is a great hotel and at the time we stayed was great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Segara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Segara Hotel

Address: JL. Dewi Sartika Gg. Nusa Indah No.9, Kuta, Bali 80114, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 180 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Segara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Segara Hotel is a traditional Balinese hotel, offering 15 rooms ranging from standard room to family suite. Located in the south of Kuta, it is only a 5 minutes drive from the Ngurah Rai International Airport, and 15 minutes leisurely walk to the Segara beach, food and shopping district. All rooms feature bathroom ensuite, balcony/terrace, air-conditioning, safe deposit box, mini bar, and cable TV. Airport transfers and Wi-Fi internet access are complimentary. Other services/amenities include outdoor pool, restaurant, room service, in-house laundry service, car parking, tour/ticket assistance, and car/motorbike rental arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bali Segara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Segara Hotel Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Segara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.