We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bakung Sari Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bakung Sari Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Bakung Sari Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kubua Anyar Kuta,Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 190 Hotels in Kuta
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great value budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

After picking up a cheap airfare, I booked this hotel as a cheap accommodation option for 18 nights, as this was a bonus trip for me. I'd read the reviews on here and wasn't expecting much. I will say that I was pleasantly surprised.

I booked one of the superior rooms. Even though the standard ones are newly renovated, I do like a veranda to sit on, and since this was to be a relaxing holiday - and was to include Nyepi day, I wanted to have somewhere outside that was comfy to relax with a cold drink and a book.

I had no issues with the room itself. Air-con worked perfectly, small fridge was enough to keep a few drinks and some fruit in. Bathroom was just fine, and after a couple days practice I worked out how not to get the water all over the toilet - shower is over the floor and not in a tub or cubicle. :)

The included breakfast was plenty - 1 egg any way, 1 strip of bacon or ham, toast or pancake or rice, fruit or juice and coffee or tea. If it wasn't enough food, it was cheap enough to order extra, though I never felt the need.

The pool looked nice, but I'm not much of a swimmer, so never actually used it.

I had no issues with linens at all. The sheets were white and clean, as were the towels. Never a problem with getting new towels either - they were usually dropped off by lunchtime most days. I think the latest it turned up was 5pm-ish one day. The bed was very comfy though the pillows were just like I've found in every hotel in Bali - flat and hard as bricks. Purchased a new fluffy pillow for about $6 at the dept store and all was well again.

Staff were all happy and friendly - the other guests not so much, but that's no big deal.

I loved the location for a change of scenery. Fantastic eating options close by. Some good restaurants in Jl Bakungsari, but better still were the warungs outside the main entrance to the hotel. The sate warung was fantastic and cheap at around $2 for sate and nasi. A new warung opened up while there and they had a good menu with take away an option if you prefer it. Warung Nikmat next to the hotel was also a fantastic option. A short walk to Jl Raya Kuta in the evening brings you to many food carts with the best tasting food and super cheap too.

I only had need to call on reception for two things during the stay. The bathroom sink wouldn't drain away one day. It was fixed within half an hour of notifying reception staff. The other time was to help me with my bags when checking out and again I had someone there to help me within a few minutes.

I'd happily stay again either short or longer term.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are renovated and more modern but no balcony or veranda. Superior rooms are older but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    86
    85
    37
    41
See reviews for
52
78
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suzhou
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This was our second stay at the Bakung Sari and we liked it. For 25$ per night we had clean sheets, 2 fresh towels every day without asking, a/c, hot water and a yummy breakfast every morning. Nobody hassled us, the staff was friendly and the pool was great. Loved the balinese style building and tropical garden.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Cosy and nice balinese style hotel. Breakfast comes for free and they were awesome.
Don't have the chance to try out the pool as itinerary was packed but it sure did look fabulous.
However the alley leading to the beach gets flooded when it rains, only wear slippers or flip flops will do.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

i have stayed at this property many times, but after having my old standard room refurbished, its time to move elsewhere, firstly my little verandah, where i sit and smoke has gone, there is no cupboard space in the room, and i HATE living out of a suitcase, and the thing that has pushed my over the edge is KETUT the restaurant woman constantly harrassing me to buy her stuff, she don't do it to anyone else, and i lost my temper with her, so thats it, after years of being a loyal customer, and putting up with no towels, i have decided to move on elsewhere.

Room Tip: if u dont mind living out a suitcase get a new refurbish room, with no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I'm not sure what people are expecting for $25 a night. After reading some reviews, I arrived with some trepidation. What I found was a pleasant, little hotel, with clean rooms, a lovely pool, adequate breakfast, in a great spot. Sure the towels were thin on the ground, but having read this on TripAdvisor, we just took 2 old ones with us. You can buy a spare towel in the market for peanuts. Every single member of staff with whom I had dealings was helpful, friendly and pleasant, so I'm not sure what the "lack of service" comments of others refer to. It did rain in under the door when the wild storm hit one evening, but surely that's part of the Bali adventure? I would not hesitate to stay here again. Sorry to hear that others had money taken though. Even in posh hotels, best to keep money in the safe.

Room Tip: The 'standard' rooms have just been renovated and were better than the 'superior'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We were using this hotel as a transit point between the mainland and The Gili Isles. It is currently under renovation which can only help a slightly tired looking building. We stayed in one of the refurbished rooms, which was pleasant enough. The main problem appears to be the lack of service hat the hotel staff produce. On arrival I had to ask for bath towels and repeated the request for the next four days of my stay. The last day I requested towels on two occasions and they finally arrived at 18.30! The cable TV was patchy at best, but the free wifi in reception was a good speed. There is a general apathy with all of the staff. If you are prepared for a disjointed service and do not pay more than $30 for the room then it is an OK place to stay. If you have to pay anymore than that then look around as I am sure that you will find better.

Room Tip: Ask for a standard refurbished room, all the others are either old or under renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

was a bit dubious staying here after reading some of the reviewa.OK it is an old hotel but we had a fantastic stay there rooms were cleaned everyday restaurant was great and the staff very friendly.Would definately satay there on our next trip.

Room Tip: ask for ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bakung Sari Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakung Sari Resort and Spa

Address: Jalan Kubua Anyar Kuta,Bali, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Kuta
#69 Spa Hotel in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bakung Sari Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If what you're looking for is a conveniently located hotel in Bali, look no further than Bakung Sari Resort and Spa. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. This modern hotel is in the vicinity of popular city attractions such as Consulate of Netherlands, Supernova, Kuta Square.At Bakung Sari Resort and Spa, the excellent service and superior facilities make for an unforgettable stay. This hotel offers numerous on-site facilities to satisfy even the most discerning guest.Hotel accommodations have been carefully appointed to the highest degree of comfort and convenience, with balcony/terrace, refrigerator, television LCD/plasma screen, internet access – wireless, satellite/cable TV in each room. Whether you're a fitness enthusiast or are just looking for a way to unwind after a hard day, you will be entertained by top-class recreational facilities such as garden, spa, outdoor pool, massage. Enjoy unparalleled services and a truly prestigious address at the Bakung Sari Resort and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Bakung Sari Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakungsari Hotel Kuta
Bakung Sari Resort And Spa Bali/Kuta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakung Sari Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.