We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the hype” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jamahal Private Resort & SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jamahal Private Resort & SPA to your Saves list
Jamahal Private Resort & SPA
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Uluwatu I, Jimbaran, Bali 80364, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
VIP Kiss - save 25%
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Jimbaran
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Believe the hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This was our first experience of bali and what a way to start. This place is beautiful.

The rooms, gardens pool are very well kept and clean. Even the basic room had a large bed, outdoor bathroom tub etc with a large mirror / make up area.

The complimentary lotions etc are of the best quality and as we suffer from mosquito bites the staff ensured the room was always mosquito free with incents.

The staff are world class. From security to cleaners they try and remember your names. The beach is a 5 minute walk which some think is a drag but its not biggy at all as once your there you have your own area where the staff take care of you especially the smiley older lady.

Dhita the director is outstanding. She is welcoming and wants to ensure her guests are happy as can be. She treated us to an upgrade on the last day to the pool villa. All is can I says wow! Huge pool, open plan decking and kitchen, soaking up the sun in privacy playing songs off of my iPod connected to the Yamaha sound system. The pond was full of koi and the lounge had a 32 inch led!

If you can afford it, even a basic room, go for it. Don't look anywhere else. I'm fussy at the best of times and use trip advisor to plan holidays so I owe it to you all to be honest.

They even changed the router as the wifi in our room was weak!

Tried to return but didn't hear back from the hotel :(

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makhijani, Owner at Jamahal Private Resort & SPA, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
om swastiastu from jimbaran, hope you got back safely, and thank you for your very nice words. reviews like this means a lot to every staff at jamahal. we are especially glad that you chose to return to us so quickly and to arrange your second stay with us as soon as our email address was solved (domain is jamahal.net) and we all hope to welcoming you back soon for your third stay. terima kasih!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    26
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
249
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Jamahal was exactly what the doctor ordered after our wedding weekend and 24 hours of flying from the US. As we walked out of the airport, our driver was waiting for us with a cold towel, Frangiapani lei (probably more for the driver, so he didn't have to smell us after our long flight), and cold water - exactly what we were looking for after our flight.

When we arrived to the hotel, the manager informed us we were being upgraded from one of the junior villas to the presidential villa. We walked into the villa and our jaw dropped. The villa's pool was bigger than most hotel pools I saw in Bali and the gardens were incredible.

The best part of this hotel was the privacy and incredible service of the staff. With only 13 villas, it's possible to not see any other hotel guests if you want. This isn't for everyone, but we really enjoyed the 4 nights of peace and quiet after our long travels. They also don't allow any children here, which really makes this place perfect for couples looking to get away. And the staff here was just AMAZING! I can't say enough good things about all of them. From their friendliness and professionalism serving meals (all of the food was incredible) in our villa to bringing us a movie to watch at 10pm, they are all first class.

My only concern before arriving was the property not being right on the beach. This was not a big deal at all. It was a 10 minute walk to the beach or the hotel shuttle would drive you down there. The walk is also on a private road to other hotels, so there is no traffic and no one bothers you. Then when you need to cross the main road the hotel is on, the hotel security guard comes out and stops traffic for you to cross.

We will definitely be coming back to the Jamahal one day!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Jamahal and we were totally blown away by the impeccable service from the staff. The staff go out of their way to ensure that you feel right at home in their villa.

We ordered a low-fat banana milkshake and warm milk (low-fat) on our first night (8 Aug) and were told that it was not available and nearby stores were closed for the day. However, we were promised that it will be available the following morning. With no disappointment, the staff (every one of them including counter staff and the butler) actually remembered our preference and made sure that low-fat milk is served every time we ordered meals or drinks. To add on, we were given complimentary tapas (which tasted absolutely great!) along with the mains for our dinner on our first night!

On our second morning (9 Aug), we were also impressed that the staff actually prepared breakfast for us even though the last serving time was 11:30am (we left the villa at 1am for Mt. Batur hiking and was only back to the villa at 12pm). We were feeling tired and wanted to have our massage treatment that afternoon. The staff facilitated our booking and got back to us very promptly. We also told the staff that we were going Kisik Grill and Bar for our dinner and they checked with us on our reservation details. They advise us on the time needed to travel to Kisik and facilitated with the taxi booking to ensure that we reach our destination as scheduled.

We visited Jimbaran beach (ten minutes by foot) and were ferried by the villa's transport. The staff at the beach attended to us and got us a pair of beach benches. The staff even ensure that we have an unobstructed view of the sea when another beachgoer attempted to set his beach bench in front of us.

On our last day, the staff also arranged shower facility for us before we head to airport for our flight (at 6:55pm) to make sure that we will be comfortable during our flight.

To add on to the personal touch, every staff remembered the activities we do every day and they will always strike a conversation with you based on the activities you did that day. Room were maked-up twice a day, where you will experienced clean and tidy room each time you stepped into your villa. Breakfasts were served promptly at the time you indicated on your order sheet and the bread are always freshly baked from the oven!

I am reminiscing the four days already as I am typing this review. It was really an unforgettable stay. Thanks Jamahal for making my trip to Bali a perfect one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

jamahal was perfection, verging on heaven on earth.


the 2 bed room pool villa was an absolute oasis, beautifully appointed and a private garden retreat, so many little touches and eye for detail

the meals at jamahal were outstanding, and were only bettered by the wonderful staff. Their professionalism and friendliness to meet all our requests for tours, dinner recommendations made this a holiday to remember

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruse, NSW, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at Jamahal and we cannot recommend it highly enough. The staff go out of their way to ensure you relax. Other reviews mentioned that they felt too isolated but if you want to mingle, go to the beach or the pool area as both had other guests during our stay. The room was beautifully appointed, food was excellent and the pool area very relaxing. We loved every minute of our stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We visited Jamahal on the last night of our honeymoon. It was the perfect ending to our Bali trip and we were SO sorry to leave. The staff were so welcoming, friendly and generous - we feel very lucky to have had the opportunity to stay at this very special place. The villa was private and a haven of peace. The spa massage a real treat and the food creative and tasty with a good deal of choice, not forgetting the amazing coffee on tap. We loved going to the beach: it was lovely to watch the sun go down. We have not stopped talking about what a wonderful time we had and thank you all for the lovely memories Jamahal has made for us as we start our married life together.
PS we tried to re-create those lovely smelling cold face towels you have, always just when needed. We haven't quite mastered it yet, no worries, it hasn't got anywhere near Bali hot yet in the UK - but what's your secret?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Romantic, private, great intro to Bali.
This was the first hotel we stayed at in Bali on our honeymoon, and I was sad to leave it. The service was awesome. The beach at Jimbaran was beautiful and only a short walk or shorter shuttle away. Breakfast (I think I added when booking) was a treat... I always overindulged and was never disappointed.
The beach is roped off with loungers setup for Jamahal guests and you can walk to any of the restaurants on the beach for lunch dinner. Sit back relax and watch the sunset as you drink your cheap beer and eat delicious seafood plucked from the ocean that morning.
Jimbaran is truly gem and the Jamahal was the best home base I could imagine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jamahal Private Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamahal Private Resort & SPA

Address: Jl. Uluwatu I, Jimbaran, Bali 80364, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#1 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#10 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jamahal Private Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In ancient sanskrit, "jamahal" means "precious time;" this small private estate has been transformed into one of Bali's best boutique resorts, a heaven for maximum 12 couples and honeymooners seeking precious time pampered by 70 attentive staff together. Private and cozy, jamahal is a splendid collection of ten suite villas and three villas. Structures and interiors artfully blend contemporary and traditional elements. Located in the center of former fishing village of jimbaran with a private beach club only 350 meters away from the resort. Definitely not a main stream resort but the place for a great service experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jamahal Private Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamahal Private Resort & Spa Hotel Jimbaran
Jamahal Private Resort And Spa
Jamahal Private Hotel
Jamahal Private Resort & SPA Bali/Jimbaran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamahal Private Resort & SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.