We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and an environmentally responsible ethos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge to your Saves list
Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge
Kampus Bukit | P.O. Box 3704, Jimbaran, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and an environmentally responsible ethos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Travelling with a group of friends to Flores we overnighted at Udayana. This was our first introduction to Merryl and Alan Wilson's vision of environmentally responsible travellers' accomodation - surrounded by nature. I carried Merryl's beautiful '101 butterflies' book with me as we journeyed on - what a joy to learn about the glorious kupu kupus of Indonesia. Special thanks to Kadek for her welcome and caring and a big thanks to the kitchen staff for wonderful food - served in the beautiful open pavilion over looking the gardens - full of kupu kupus! The eco lodges at Luban bajo and at Kelimutu were great too!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you and your group Robyn for your comments about the Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge. In particular the emphasis on our butterflies and the book "101 Butterflies of lowland Indonesia" (written over a period of 12 years at this lodge).

Our best wishes,

Staff and Management of the Udayana kingfisher Eco Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
32
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jimbaran, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Udayana Kingfisher Eco-Lodge is part of a system of eco-lodges in Indonesia, under the management of Alan and Meryl Wilson. This lodge is in a beautiful, forested setting that takes you away from the bustle and noise of this area of south Bali. The lodge practices ecological management of the grounds and water, plants and creatures. The varieties of birds and butterflies are wonderful. You wake to the birds in the morning and go to sleep to the night calls of frogs, lizards and night birds. The staff are delightfully warm and friendly, willing to help you in any way possible. Many have been at the lodge for many years. Nyoman will arrange trips for you on Bali and throughout Indonesia. There are visits to many local attractions that can be arranged for you. The other lodges are definitely memorable if you have the time in your itinerary. Kadek will make you feel at home and assist you with any needs. Santos is a terrific driver and knows very much about the area. The lodge has a large dining room providing verybreakfast, lunch and dinner, good coffee and cold drinks. They accommodate requests and dietary restrictions. The dining atmosphere is relaxing and enjoyable. The pool is sparkling and relaxing, and has a good view. Bed nets bad filtered water are provided for your comfort and safety. This lodge and it sister lodges are a great way to experience Indonesia

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We thank you for your report, in particular, the emphasis on our staff all of whom live locally. Your comments re our management system is greatly appreciated.

Staff and Management of the Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

31st May, 2014 - The first stay of our 4 lodges to visit - Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge, Bali then onto Labuan Bajo-Komodo Island Eco Lodge then onto Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge, Borneo finishing off with Satwa Sumatra Elephant Eco Lodge. All equally as good and enjoyable as each other. What a great informative, back to nature experience we and our 6 friends had. On arrival at Kingfisher Lodge we were welcomed by Kadek and Nyoman, extremely capable and professional women. Our flight just made it and we managed to capture photo's of the eruption of Sangeang Api Volcano as we flew close by it - off N.E. Coast of Sumbawa Island. Rooms large, beds comfortable, ensuite, a/c, ample delicious food, great pool overlooking Bali and University grounds. Off for a bird walk to the Nusa Dua Settling Ponds, very impressive no. of birds. This Lodge we used as our base whilst visiting the other 3 lodges and on our last day we spent here did some sightseeing around Bali. A great place to enjoy the quiet atmosphere whilst not far from the hustle and bustle of Bali. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
We greatly thank you for your report on our Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge. This is so appreciated by all concerned with management of this Conservation company

Management of Ecolodges Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrett Park MD USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My spouse and I spent three nights at the Kingfisher Udayana Lodge in the last week of March, one leg of a trip in which we stayed at four of the ecolodges. We had an exceptional experience at the lodge. The staff were very welcoming and pleasant and this greatly enhanced our experience; Nyoman and Kadek in particular were very helpful and made us feel like we were at home. The lodge is situated on a hill overlooking the southern part of Bali that is located on a wooded section of the campus of Udayana University far removed the hustle and bustle that characterizes much of Bali. A number of nature trails wind through the woods. The lodge has a very nice pool with wonderful views. We took part in a number of excursions organized by the staff; birding at the treatment ponds, beach at Nusa Dua, Kecak Dance at Ula Watu temple, dinner at Restaurant Cuisine on Jimhbaran Beach, and a two day trip to West Bali National Park, all of which we recommend to others. The lodge is a two story building with the 10 rooms on the lower level and the upper level is a large open area with a dining area and a lounge/library. The multi-course meals were very good and we enjoyed long-leisurely breakfasts and dinners sitting in the open area overlooking the island. The staff are very proud of the environment friendly features of the lodge and it is encouraging to know that at least a few are working to improve environmental awareness on Bali.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Manager at Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We thank you for your report about us especially your appreciation of Kadek and Nyoman and our staff. It really gives them a feeling that all their hard work is not in vain. We so appreciate guests who really understand the great struggle to keep this wonderful environment which is so rapidly being destroyed

Thank you

Alan Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

As always a lovely stay at The Lodge. Quiet and relaxing away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta, yet close enough by car if you want to venture in. Food is great and service always with a smile. Thanks again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Manager at Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Many thanks David for your report which is greatly appreciated by our staff here at Udayana

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We loved this ecolodge! We stayed here with our 18 month old for 3 nights. The service is wonderful, everyone is so nice and helpful. Thank you to Agung and Kadek for a memorable stay. The lodge is very peaceful and quiet, the rooms are comfortable and very clean. Although not on the beach, the view is beautiful and the surrounding forest reserve makes one forget that you are in the middle of one of Bali's most visited and crowded parts. The hotel is one of the few truly environmentally responsible places in the area and their initiatives are outstanding. This is hugely important in an area that continues to be overdeveloped such as southern Bali. We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to be close to all the attractions without leaving a heavy footprint during their stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Manager at Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Malaysian Guests, thank you for your report especially your emphasis on the environmental aspects of our Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge. This has been an enormous struggle and so important for Bali at the present time. We also appreciate your kind comments about our staff.

Alan Wilson,
Chairman,
Ecolodgesindonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

British couple 28 years old

Stayed in one of the double rooms, it was very clean and comfy with good A/C and hot water to the shower, they cleaned the rooms daily, the massive double bed had a decent mozi net covering us at night. The breakfast (inc) was fantastic and there's a lovely pool area overlooking the reserve. It's not located near anything but that's what we were after, a taxi to kuta is about 20mins or to jimbaran (beach and restaurants) was about 10mins. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We thank you for your positive report re Udayana being a special pplace. This is especially appreciated by our staff (all local) who have worked so hard to make this place what it is

Alan Wilson,
Chairman,
ECOLODGESINDONESIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge

Address: Kampus Bukit | P.O. Box 3704, Jimbaran, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge is our first eco lodge, is the centre of our company and is the first small hotel in Indonesia to obtain international eco certification from Green Globe. This lodge is the eco standard for all our other lodges. Situated in beautiful gardens with a swimming pool in the Jimbaran hills of South Bali, the lodge is a perfect base not only to discover Bali but Indonesia through our other eco lodges. Aroud the lodge is a bird sanctuary with two species of Kingfisher, The Javan being the lodge icon. There have been over 50 species recorded in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udayana Kingfisher Eco Hotel Jimbaran
Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge Bali/Jimbaran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.