We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis close to airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge to your Saves list
Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge
Kampus Bukit | P.O. Box 3704, Jimbaran, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Nottingham
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Oasis close to airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We managed to get a cheap rate through Agoda to this lovely eco lodge. As it was last minute and a Sunday it had not got through to the staff yet but this was not a problem as they gave us a big warm welcome like long lost family and quickly made up our room with fresh flowers and brought us a welcome drink. The rooms are thoughtfully appointed with a pleasant open air bathroom and terrace to the front. This overlooks a beautiful garden and then down to the lovely pool area (little used by any other guest when we were there). The dining room is nice, and breakfast adequate. They prepared dinner for us the first night but we were later getting back than we expected so it was a little cold unfortunately. Still, tasty. The honesty bar is a nice idea. Free tea and coffee. Lovely lounge area with extensive library.

We didn't have time to explore the grounds but the birds and butterflies are apparent everywhere. The staff are very special here. They are just genuinely lovely people and were great with our 4 year ols. I think children are a bit of a novelty here as it is mainly older people.

One problem is finding the place! The address is not actually correct and the one sign off the main road is small and just says Udayana Lodge (nothing about eco or kingfisher). Then it is quite a way up a bumpy track going uphill before you reach the place. Even our taxi driver who lives in the area got lost. But once you know where it is you are fine. Perhaps arranging a pick up from the hotel or getting exact directions would be wise. Having said that, traffic allowing, it is only about 20 mins from the airport. Nothing within walkable distance but fine if you have a driver or your own transport.

We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
32
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We spent our final night on Bali at Uduyana Kingfisher - a perfect place to wind down and relax before a long journey! Its set within a protected area on the grounds of Udayana University, so its quiet, undisturbed by the hustle and bustle of Nusa Dua and it has excellent wildlife right on the property. Staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and food was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

My partner and I stayed here on our last night after a busy month in Bali and Lombok. It was a great place to recoup, relax and catch our breath before the long flight home the next day. The location was ideal -- close to the airport but far enough away from the frenzied tourist areas of South Bali that we could imagine we were still in an isolated location.

The staff were friendly, helpful and most engaging. The two meals we had were excellent, as were the facilities. Our only regret was that the trails marked on maps seemed not to have been maintained and therefore we were not able to make use of them as we had hoped.

It was a good introduction to the chain of eco-lodges run by this company throughout Indonesia, something we might well pursue on another trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

NIce hotel! Peaceful, quiet and handy for the airport. Very nice pool; I am a nature-lover so especially enjoyed the grounds and fish ponds. Unfortunately, the walking trail that we tried to use was overgrown and inaccessible, possibly because it was low season. Meals were very good and the view from the dining room lovely. The kitchen staff and the hotel driver were all very friendly, helpful and efficient. They were great!
Our reservations were made months in advance, online, through Asian Accommodation and Tours (and paid via PayPal). Once we had booked and paid, however, Asian Accommodation and Tours no longer responded to our emails when we wanted to confirm or adjust our accommodation and transfer arrangements. They simply ignored our emails. The end result was some unnecessary anxiety plus a long, sweaty, uncomfortable wait at Denpasar airport for a hotel transfer that never came - despite the fact that we had phoned them from Lombok two days previously and were given verbal assurance that all reservation and transfer arrangements were in order! When we eventually reached the hotel, the apologetic and helpful hotel manager WAS expecting us, but she had no idea that we needed an airport transfer - a miscommunication could have been avoided had the booking agent maintained communication. I would not book through Asian Tours and Accommodation again; nor should Udayana Kingfisher Lodge.

If you plan to stay at Udayana Kingfisher Lodge, I would recommend booking either through a different agency or directly through the hotel.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

Lovely place up in the hills so away from all the shops full of rubbish in Legian and Kuta. No McDonald's in sight;-) The driver and all the staff are lovely and really helpful. Trips can be arranged with the hotel driver too, with the local insider knowledge and small groups making all the difference, and the trips more flexible. Food is yummy and plenty of it, the pineapple jam at breakfast is delicious. Pool is in a peaceful garden surrounded by trees. Was very well looked after here, would go back again if I revisit Bali.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The lodge is in a very peaceful location, surrounded by vast grounds. The rooms are quite basic, but comfortable and large. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious and included one of the best pots of coffee we had while in Bali. One night we went for the set dinner menu and were very pleasantly surprised with a simple, but absolutely delicious home-cooked meal that was excellent value for money. There is a lovely cozy living room area that is great for reading / watching TV. The service impressed us the most of all. All the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome to the lodge.

On the down side, the lodge really is miles from anything. This is ok for a couple of nights, but any more than that it may be a strain. Considering the inconvenient location, we felt it would have been fair if the lodge provided a free shuttle service into Jimbaran town instead of charging for the trip each time. Taking into account the location and basic rooms, it did feel overpriced. Possibly paying low season prices (we went in high season) would feel better value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at this lovely little hotel as we journeyed around Indonesia. We used it as our base as we needed to go in and out of Denpasar to get to the remote islands. The rooms are a nice size with great AC and VERY quiet. Maybe 15 minutes from the airport in a very quiet part of town. The owners and staff were exceptionally helpful. We left our luggage with them and each time we returned (4xs) it was already in our room when we got there.

They have a big pool which over looks the valley and bay. Nice sitting areas where many bird watchers would greet the morning while having their coffee/tea and watch the local birds. They have excellent meals with both a set an ala carte menu. Everything we ate was wonderful. They have a small in house bar with wines, beer and soft drinks.

The staff could not be more helpful as were the owners Dr. Alan and Meryl Wilson (both are ex pats from Africa). They are committed environmentalist and are very active in animal preservation issues. They will make you feel most welcome.

They have 5 different lodges throughout Indonesia that are all Ecolodges. For some the only downside might be if you are looking for a hotel close to the clubs and nightlights. You will have to take a taxi but we preferred the peace and quiet with warm Balinese hospitality!

Room Tip: they have 10 rooms and they are all fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge

Address: Kampus Bukit | P.O. Box 3704, Jimbaran, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge is our first eco lodge, is the centre of our company and is the first small hotel in Indonesia to obtain international eco certification from Green Globe. This lodge is the eco standard for all our other lodges. Situated in beautiful gardens with a swimming pool in the Jimbaran hills of South Bali, the lodge is a perfect base not only to discover Bali but Indonesia through our other eco lodges. Aroud the lodge is a bird sanctuary with two species of Kingfisher, The Javan being the lodge icon. There have been over 50 species recorded in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udayana Kingfisher Eco Hotel Jimbaran
Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge Bali/Jimbaran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Udayana Kingfisher Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.