We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuca is awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuca

Cuca
Jalan Yoga Perkanthi, Jimbaran, Bali 80364, Indonesia
+62 361 708066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 119 Restaurants in Jimbaran
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Dessert, Tapas, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cuca serves SIGNATURE cuisine made exclusively from the best and freshest local ingredients. We are a casual dining destination that tempts you with three reasons to come: tapas, cocktails, and desserts, and three spaces to experience: an interactive and exciting food bar, a relaxed and intimate dining room and a chilled out garden lounge. Choose the space that suits you best and come with an open mind and an empty stomach!
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cuca is awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I were in Bali few weeks ago, we went there two nights in a row! The food was unbelievably amazing! The local wine that we had was so nice, the chef and his front Manager wife were friendly & lovely people! We wish you Cuca all the very best!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    67
    28
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Obsessed with Cocoa 8 dessert 7 crispy fried chicken, Jimbaran's gourmet gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Cuca is just 10 min from our Jimbaran house, a kid's friendly restaurant which is really important for our little family when finding the right eatery in Bali. Everything presented by Chef Kevin Cherkas is EDIBLE! Means : you want to eat every single morsel on the plate, until the last drop of sauce, because it's just heavenly scrumptious. It's all about the TASTE, and FLAVOR Cuca wants to present to us. On my note of kid's friendly resto, I must thank them for providing the decent, top quality of baby high chair (see our pics here), Chef Kevin made a roasted pumpkin that our Baby Geo could eat, and Geo liked it! Cuca has now Kid's Menu on the list, mommies! And the staffs are amazing, attentive, and tried to entertain Geo while his parents are busy eating and snapping pictures. Just a suggestion for Cuca : please ensure your staffs are smoke-odour free on hands and clothes, as one of the male waiter who hold Geo left an unpleasant smoke-odour on Geo's skin and clothes..

Other thing we love about bringing the whole family here is their Garden Lounge that looks like a nice green backyard and Baby Geo just loved running around and screamed for joy! Another plus point at Cuca for us.

More about the food : Tapas is what you come to Cuca for. We love the famous Crispy Fried Chicken, Roasted Tiger King Prawn which is a twisted tom yum version of Chef Kevin, and Mushroom Puddle using balinese organic rice. Everything here is 100% local! The price is very reasonable for that level of excellent food! We will come back for more tapas, mocktail, and dessert!

BRAVO Kevin and Virginia! Love from Gaby-Benny-Geo

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Unique and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Eating at Cuca is an experience - a great one. Ordering a combination of Tapas is the thing to do here - and tapas like you've never seen before. The creative combination of ingredients is exciting, unique and delicious. Creative presentation! Absolutely.The savoury tapas were wonderful, but let's go straight to desert. I LOVED my desert which was made to look like a fried egg - really a combination of mango and fluffy meringue with a few more ingredients to create a delicious taste treat. The "yolk" even ran when it was pierced! Loved the irony. We'll be back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaneohe
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The food and setting are exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Cuca, located at Jimbaran (near the airport) is a chic, sexy, modern restaurant offering traditional balinese ingredients with a latin twist. Be sure to order the pri fixe menu for both spectacular taste and presentation. The Wagyu beef is a showstopper. From soup to dessert you will be blown away. And........ the cocktails are just as sleek as and sexy as the setting. So get dressed up and have a ball.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible restaurant offering a very different experience in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

First of all, Cuca is really near to the airport,in the area of Jimbaran- just 10 minutes in a taxi, so it's a great place to start your food experience during your holiday in Bali. Jimbaran beach is 2 mints walk from the restaurant.

Not every driver might know yet the location as it's rather new, but it's easy by saying that is after the Intercontinental hotel and next to Kayumani Villas- they will know that.

There are many positive qualities about Cuca as a restaurant: the atmosphere, the service,the menu, management, location, food and cocktails!

I truly enjoyed the fact that this restaurant really understand the concept of Spanish Tapas (as a group of varied dishes you order to share casually with the person/group in your table) so be prepared to share!! The beauty of Tapas is allowing you to try many different dishes and be able to repeat on your favourites (something hard to do in Cuca, as they are all incredible)

They do not follow a convectional menu (starter, main,etc) but the food is organised by groups.
Some salads and "snacks" like "Pan con tomate" and a special fried chicken- some puddles (rice dishes), ceviches (fish/seafood) , chichas (meat dishes) and desserts. The salads are a total different experience to any other salad you have tried before, my favourite one is the carrot and strawberry salad. I love the tiger prawn ceviche and the mushroom puddle. My favourite dessert is the Bali breakfast, it has the great flavours of mango, passion fruit and coconut together.

Even though the menu might seem small, you can get all the basics: fish, meat,vegetables and rice, and also they are happy to help you with special dietary requirements.

Another wonderful thing about Cuca is that you feel as you are having a fine dining dinner- due to the atmosphere, the interaction with the Chef and manager,the food quality but is not- it has really good prices.

If you are looking to celebrate a special occasion, look no further! Virginia (the manager) and Chef Kevin would make sure this is a special experience for you. They really put attention to detail on every aspect of a restaurant and them together with their staff make you feel special.

Cuca uses all local organic products, which means freshness and flavour and they support the community instead of bringing foreign products from abroad- which doesn't help anyone there, plus costs more!

The Chef, Kevin, has the great quality of putting different flavours and textures together as you would never think of doing and make them look and taste amazing! He takes the effort to come to your table and explain dishes (on top of it, he is one of the funniest person I've ever met) The staff is very helpful and friendly and Virginia (with her Spanish warmth and enthusiasm) works really hard to make sure everything in the restaurant is perfect, that you understand the concept behind and know how and what to order.

Overall, I would recommend anyone to try Cuca -as a "must do" in Bali.
Normally, I would say this is a "once in a lifetime experience" as something you must do at least once- try incredible food- but the cool thing about Cuca is that, you can repeat and won't burn your pocket (unlike other restaurants in Bali)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuca also viewed

 

Been to Cuca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.