We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing dining experience, a real gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuca

Cuca
Jalan Yoga Perkanthi, Jimbaran, Bali 80364, Indonesia
+62 361 708066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 119 Restaurants in Jimbaran
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Dessert, Tapas, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cuca serves SIGNATURE cuisine made exclusively from the best and freshest local ingredients. We are a casual dining destination that tempts you with three reasons to come: tapas, cocktails, and desserts, and three spaces to experience: an interactive and exciting food bar, a relaxed and intimate dining room and a chilled out garden lounge. Choose the space that suits you best and come with an open mind and an empty stomach!
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An amazing dining experience, a real gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We are staying in the villas next to cuca and because it was so close we strolled in Cuca on our first night, not knowing anything about it. We was not expecting such quality in the food, and the unique experience of the restaurant as a whole. The restaurant has four different spaces, you can sit at a long table at the back of the restaurant and watch the chefs cooking your food. When they are ready the chef will bring them over to you and explain the ingredients. You can tell that head chef and owner Kevin has trained under Michelin star chefs as the food is spectacular and is cooked and presented in an Heston Blumenthal manner.

As well as the 'live theatre' experience you can dine in the main restaurant and for extra privacy curtains can be pulled around your table. Throw in an outside bar and chill out area and you have a truly great place to eat and drink. Owners Kevin and his partner Virginia made time to speak to us and made us feel really welcome. We have since been back to eat or drink most nights, so glad Cuca is on our doorstep! Best of all the food and drink is well priced - PLEASE DON'T CHANGE!!

If we ever make it back to Bali, Cuca will be one of our first stops!

Jay and Amy from London.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    67
    28
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tops every restaurant in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The absolute dining experience in Bali - tapas like I have never experienced before each an exquisite mouthful. Chef Kevin and his charming wife Virginia have created something truly special in this quiet location off Jalan Uluwatu. Impeccable service by friendly and informed staff compliment the amazing food - all of which is sourced locally.
The mojitos are a must, make sure you leave room for the puddings - we were telling Virginia that that their pudd's were imaginative and delicious she asked if we had tried the Bali breakfast we hadn't but managed to make room for one last taste sensation - so glad we did!
We visited after sunset, but plan to go back and enjoy the garden.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We just had dinner at Cuca and I felt compelled to write a rave review immediately! Quite simply, it was one of the best meals I have ever had. The food is delicious and prepared quickly, with impeccable timing. It is all tapas based and each time we finished a dish, the next one would appear. All of the ingredients go together perfectly and the owner (and head chef), Kevin, explained each dish to us and recommended options. We loved all of it, especially the dark chocolate mousse which is a must have! I thought I had died and gone to heaven. The waiters should also be mentioned - they were all extremely friendly and welcoming. The whole thing was a delight and despite only being in Jimbaren for a few days, and rarely wanting to visit the same restaurant twice when we travel, we will be going back tomorrow for sure!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Whoawwww !!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

What a nice surprise, we found Cuca accidently by walking around, we saw se light and we went in to just have a drink, and we got seduce by the waiter so we ordered a ceviche.
The cocktail came and it start, amazing cocktail, so well done and the ceviche also so well done.
Unfortunatly we had a reservation for dinner this night so couldn t stay.
The day after we went back for dinner and met Kevin the chef that start explaining us the whole concept that he create in this place , his baby.
It is so nice to meet people that love so much what they do and give so much energy in it.
Everything is thought up to the small detail , no import only local produce even the china ware that is amazing, the cocktails are create by him and are awesome and I don t even talk about the food, amazing.
I live in Hong Kong and I am in the industry as well and it has been a long time we didnt have such a great experience even in HK.
We met after his wife Virginia, also a very kind person
So to conclude a place to be known, to go , to promote,and to enjoy

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Exquisite restaurant, we were able to find it by chance and we had an amazing dinner. What a joy to see so much work and dedication put into every detail without forgetting the most important: the food and the use of local produce. A must for all who come to Bali, creative dishes, original tableware and delicious cocktails presented in a unique way in perfect combination with the dishes.
I would definitely return for another great dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuca also viewed

 

Been to Cuca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.