We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was OK but we waited an hour and a half!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of New Moon

New Moon
Pantai Kedonganan, Jimbaran, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 0361 8553963
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 93 restaurants in Jimbaran
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“The food was OK but we waited an hour and a half!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A restaurant on the beach with a great setting. Tables on the sand, candle lit, the moon and stars above. This is a seafood restaurant - fresh squid, snapper, king prawns, oysters....Most of it grilled. There is a but however! After one hour we still hadn't been served! Tour groups appeared to have taken the 'time'! However, if they have the capacity to seat number X then they should be able to provide a service commensurate with this. Sadly, the wait dulled the appetite and anticipation. A dreadful experience with no compensation - and it was our last night!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

19% Recommend
    4
    6
    7
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
439 reviews 439 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
“Nice Place to unwind and have dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A nice place to cap your whole day of sight seeing.The place is relaxing.There are serenaders and a Legong dance at night.

Come here during sunset and you will have a beautiful sight. You have to pick your own dish by selecting the fish,prawn,lobster or squid you want barbecued or prepare as soup.

Our order of two large fishes , a kilo of squid and half a kilo of prawns with drinks came to about 950,000 rupiah or about US$93.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a great meal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were taken to this cafe by accident by our driver. There were 13 of us in total. The view of the beach and sunset are fantastic but that's about all. Food was well below average as well as table service and the prices were quite high. A few of us were sick the next day seems strange that this has happened after we had tea here. Would not recommend this restaurant. There are lots at Jimbaran Bay to choose from.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not the best, definitely”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We asked for a discount right at the door and were given 10% off. The food here was average and still quite pricey.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

First time there as our driver suggested they were the best seafood restaurant, pricey n the food wasn't good, service wasn't even good either, they served our dinner then waited for our drinks till the end of our meal which we didn't even drink, after asking how many times, the view was awesome that's about it n we had to buy maccas on the way back to our villa :(

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Moon also viewed

 

Been to New Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Moon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.