We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sami Sami Restaurant

Sami Sami Restaurant
Jalan Karang Mas Sejahtera | Ayana Resort and Spa Bali, Jimbaran, Bali 80364, Indonesia
+62 361 702222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 141 Restaurants in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Serving trattoria-style Italian cuisine, this stylish open-air Bali restaurant is located on a bluff overlooking the Indian Ocean, offering brilliant views any time of day and at sunset. The rustic Italian cuisine includes a complete selection of antipasti, sandwiches, wood-fired pizzas, fresh pastas, seafood, meat and desserts. Sami Sami's bar on the cliff-edge lawn directly above Rock Bar offers 180-degree views and is a popular sunset viewing point. With both daybed and table seating available, this is a relaxed venue for refreshing sundowners and fruity mojitos, and pre-dinner bites from the tapas-style menu.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We headed to Sami Sami for lunch on our first day at Ayana and we weren't disappointed. The food was good and we had a glass of wine each along with some water and finished off with dessert all of which we thought was reasonably priced for this type of resort.

A small menu but tasty options nonetheless and there was something for each of us, including our 2 year old. Of course, the priceless view of both the ocean and the beautifully tended grounds of the resort is also a big draw.

For an easy and relaxed lunch in a gorgeous setting on a beautiful, sunny day, you can't go wrong.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    38
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Love the food here, yummy! The view also very nice! But for lunch time it was quite hot! A nice place to eat though if you stay at the hotel, great for dinner time :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed lunch menu - location, location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We decided to spoil ourselves with a day at the Ayana Resort - starting wityh lunch at Sami Sami and ending up at their award winning Spa!

I had emailed the Resort to organise both bookings - including free transfers from/to Sanur.

The Resort of course is 5 star all the way - never having been to Jimbaran I was blown away by the location...and Sami Sami does have an amazing outlook. Perched looking out over the ocean with the manicured and lush resort grounds surrounding you it truly is a perfect place for a daytime meal (at night of course there would be no ocean view).

The service was sensational as you would expect - and also because at 12 noon on a Thursday we were the only guests! We got the best table in the house (see photo), and with the ocean breeze blowing it was just sooooo relaxing.

Prices of course are western prices and we expected this - so the total nett was 677,600. We enjoyed a large bottle of sparkling Equil, 2 X amazing frozen fruit juice mixes, shared an Antipasto platter, then hubby had the swishest toasted ham and cheese I've ever seen, and I had the entree size Calamari. Really good food - tasted great and we ate it all!

So if your budget can stretch to some five star luxury in a five star location - then this is a very special place to be.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Would have loved a more extensive menu!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

It was a humid day when I dined, the fan above dint help much. There was a wedding happening next to the restaraunt and it took away some quality.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Little Italy- An Authentic Italian Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Sami Sami is by far my favourite restaurant at Ayana. Having dined at Sami Sami for 6 nights in February, I couldn't wait to return in November for their delicious menu and warm, welcoming staff who have since become part of our family! The newly launched 3 course menu is exciting, as well as scrumptious. We enjoyed the 'Milan' and 'Genova' set menus. The atmosphere at night by this clifftop restaurant is great as you are entertained by strolling musicians. The Risotto Aragosta & Zafferano is a must try which I enjoyed twice. Baked scallops, citrus salsa & potato risotto, as well as Fettucine with lobster, red chilli, leek, white wiine sauce were also very enjoyable and flavoursome. The Prosciutto & carciofi was the best I have ever tasted and reminded me of when I lived in Sicily, Italy. The Crema di zucca dolce was also so sweet and tasty. For desert you couldn't go past the Chocolate creme brulee with chocolate ice cream and my very favourite Lemon tart with lemon sorbet & mint sauce which I have raved on to others all year long. On their lunch menu the Gamberi alla Griglia with Sicilian caponata, rice arancini, soave white wine sauce was plentiful, fresh, grilled to perfection and delicious. The chefs beautifully present each meal and the staff are also very knowledgeable of the menu. We met Executive Chef Giordano Faggioli on our last day whilst enjoying breakfast at Padi and let him know of how fond we are of Sami Sami, its authentic Italian cuisine and gracious staff. We would particularly like to thank Ardy, Jun, Suma, Enni, Kariawan, Tude, Ayu, Angaa, and Erix for their kind and welcoming hospitality. We have known most of the staff since our stay in February and it was a pleasure as well as exciting to return and see them. We would also like to thank any other staff we came across as well as the talented chefs. Cannot wait to return!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sami Sami Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sami Sami Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sami Sami Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.