We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay, would definitely return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Astari - Villa and Residence

Save Saved
You added The Astari - Villa and Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Astari - Villa and Residence
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jl. Karang Mas Sejahtera | Kencana Selatan 1, Jimbaran, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 Jimbaran B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Enjoyable stay, would definitely return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a pleasant 5-night stay at Astari during our trip to Bali for friends' wedding. The hotel was clean and has decent-sized rooms. Staff were very hospitable and always ready to be of assistance. It's conveniently located not far from the airport and the famous seafood restaurants in Jimbaran. One suggestion is the regarding hot water kettle provided in the room, best to use bottled water to boil instead of using tap water.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs have a porch and the pool is only separated by footpath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agung-TheAstari, General Manager at The Astari - Villa and Residence, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Ms Mon W,

Thank you for visiting us at The Astari Villa & Residence. It has been our pleasure to be able to serving you. If there is anything that we can improve please let us know, we will be very happy to keep improving our service.

The next time of your visiting to Bali, please do not hesitate to contact us. We will be happy to arrange your holiday.

Sincerely,

Agung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    32
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
30
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at astari villa & residence for a week, and I think in this type of accommodation it was a bit long. It was so hot I found it better to be staying on a beach so you benefit from the sea breeze and there were a few things that could improve. The lunch menu is very limited and they don't have a seperate dinner menu. The room was ok but the bathroom was very small and cramped, could only have one person in at a time. The staff were very good and helpful, however one element I found strange that breakfast was included in the price but you had to go to reception and ask for it yourself. I'm not sure if I'd stay there again but for a short jimbaran stay I guess it could be ideal.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the first 4 days in bali. The hotel is very new and clean and The staff is very friendly and has a personalised approach - they are willing to help with everythig. The private hotel pool is clean and nice. Overall we had a good feeling while staying here. The only thing that is not ideal is a location, but they offer a free shuttle bus to jimbaran beach and nusa dua beach. Other nice beaches can be reached by taxi. It is also important to mention that no matter where you stay in bali, you will have to go everywhere by taxi, because it is almost impossible to walk along streets (no sidewalks). So the location is not very important for you unless you stay at big hotel complexes in nusa dua (there is everything in the complex). In conclusion, Astari is excellent choice if you want to stay at nice, smaller and quiet place and want to make trips around bali and explore different beaches.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agung-TheAstari, Owner at The Astari - Villa and Residence, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Rumlo,

Thanks for the awesome review and the time you spend to review us. It has been our privileged to be able to serving you at The Astari Villa. We hope you enjoy your stay with us and coming back again for the next trip.

If there is any lack of service we apologize, please do not hesitate to send me email to help improving our property and services.

Once again thank you, on your next trip to Bali please contact us again, we will surely arrange better and special trip for you.

Sincerely,

Agung
agung1608@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Astari Villa hotel in a deluxe suite for a week and found it to be a peaceful santucary away from the busy bustle of the Kuta/Legion area. It is has only been open since August 2012 so it is spotlessly clean and well appointed. The pool area is charming and the infinity pool makes a superb entrance statement as you step through the front doors. The young garden is being well maintained and we had no problems with mozzies during our stay. The breakfast menu was very adequate for us, often getting us through to mid afternoon. Be prepared to go out for other meals as the kitchen is not operating at present. We found a couple of Cafes with 200 metres of the Villa and it is only a short and cheap taxi journey down to the Jimbaran area for shopping and meals. It is easy access to the scenic Ullawatu and Nusa dua areas but is a drive to Sanur and Ubud, especially with all the roadworks around the airport at the moment. The staff were lovely and always willing to help when required. It has a gorgeous two bedroom private villa with a pool and secluded outdoor bathroom as well as a couple of villas under construction. As the word gets out about the superb standard available at the Astari I should think with the extra accomodation, the kitchen will be open for all day meals which would add appeal. i would recommend the Astari Villa hotel for that quiet Bali getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agung-TheAstari, Owner at The Astari - Villa and Residence, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Wenb,

Thanks for the awesome review and thanks for trusting us to serving you. It has been privilege for us to have you in The Astari Villa.

Thanks for the suggestion, we will definitely keep developing the variety of services to our guest.

Next time please contact us if you need any help, we will surely arrange your stay and trip.

Thanks.

Agung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at Astari for 3 days 2 nights at the villa. The Villa is located next to the mini hotels with a private pool. One of our friends who has a kid was having fun swimming at the private pool. The pool water is definitely one of the best as it feels very refreshing. Locationwise, Astari is not too bad, as it is close to Ayana and Jimbaran Seafood in which case we enjoyed very much. The breakfast has very limited choice but OK to start your day. Room is clean, service was good and people are very friendly. I think overall we enjoyed our time there :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agung-TheAstari, General Manager at The Astari - Villa and Residence, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Yusteen,

Thanks for staying with The Astari Villa & Residence. It has been our pleasure to serving you. Please do not hesitate to give us recommendation to improve, we always love to hear suggestion from our guests.

Thanks once again for becoming family with us. We hope to see you again soon in your next visit.

Sincerely,

Agung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lovely little place located in Jimbaran. As the Villa is quite small, you basically get the pool to yourself most of the time. I travelled as part of a bridal party and the staff were very accommodating to our needs and wants. Sunny at Reception was amazing, going the extra mile to ensure we were comfortable.

Location-wise, it's not the best as a tourist visiting Bali for the first time. Nusa Dua is about a 20 minute taxi ride away and Kuta is about the same.

Breakfast is not buffet, however it is made to order. They have your usual choices of American breakfast, a small continental breakfast, traditional Indonesian Nasi Goreng and Mie Goreng and some healthy options too. I did not sample the lunch or dinner menus, however my travelling companions said it was great.

Reception is not 24 hours, so try and get all your questions answered and whatnot done before 11pm which is when reception go home for the night. The pool also "closes" at 10pm, however the staff allow you to swim only that the lights in the pool area automatically turn off at 10pm.

The villa is a quiet getaway from the real world. There are no other big facilities such as a gym or a spa, but for what you pay for, this is a great place.

Room Tip: Choose a suite and request for one on level 1, which is ground floor. When you step out of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agung-TheAstari, Owner at The Astari - Villa and Residence, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for staying with us at The Astari Villa & Residence. Thank you for giving us your time to review us on TripAdvisor.

It has been our privileged to serving you. Please do not hesitate to give us suggestion to improve, we always love to hear that.

Lastly, stay in touch and do not hesitate to contact us to arrange you / your family / your friends trip to Bali.

Thank you,

Agung
Agung@theastari.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at The Astari for 3 days and 2 nights with 3 of my friends. Apparently, we were the only locals at that time.
Before getting to the hotel, my friends and I had a little bit of an "incident" when the hotel forgot to send their driver to pick us up at the Airport, but after what it seemed like a lengthy phone call at the time, the problem was solved when they sent a taxi for us. So, don't forget to confirm everything before you land, people!
Now, on to the hotel.
The place was just wonderful!
You know when hotels sometimes put up pretty pictures on their website to lure guests into checking in into their hotels, this was not the case with The Astari. Everything was as beautiful as in the pictures. My friends almost refused to go outside to actually "have" our vacation as they really loved their rooms.
They only had 14 rooms (and villas which I had no chance to check out because our schedule was super packed), so it's quiet and tranquil and so relaxing.
The rooms were clean and looked really new.
The beds were comfortable, and no matter how much tossing and turning around you did, the sheets would always stay neat (just my kind of bed).
And the pool was only feet away from our room, and it was great. I wasn't sure, but the water was always warm. Was it the sun or they really did heat the water (if yes, so nice of them).
The staff was nice and did everything (no kidding, everything) we asked for. Yeah, we are locals, so of course language barrier was not a problem.
The Astari is definitely recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agung-TheAstari, Manager at The Astari - Villa and Residence, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Antonia,

Thanks for the awesome review. It has been a privilege for us to be able to serving you. We truly hope that you enjoy your stay at The Astari. If there is any imperfection in our service we apologize.

Thanks for recommending us. We hope to serve you, your family, and your friend again in the future.

If there is anything that i can help, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Agung
agung@theastari.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Astari - Villa and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Astari - Villa and Residence

Address: Jl. Karang Mas Sejahtera | Kencana Selatan 1, Jimbaran, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Astari - Villa and Residence 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Astari Villa and Residence Welcome to My Home away From Home, The Astari Villa & Residence is located in Jimbaran hills , 5 minutes drive to Golden white sandy of Jimbaran sunset Beach and the popular beach front seafood restaurant, only 20 minutes drive from the Ngurah Rai Airport. Nestled in a strategic spot at Jimbaran, an area at the southern part of Bali known mainly for its beaches, cuisine and cultural enchantments, the Astari is endowed with a thick tropical environment green trees swaying in the breeze, and warm smiling people. Featuring two floor Balinese blend with Nature designed Residence , have Ten large Deluxe room, Four Suites with Terrace and Balcony, four Private pool villas, Large Swimming Pool stretch in front the residence, ASRI Resto & Bar, and the LESTARI Spa. Enhance the Balinese experience with the Genuine welcome from The Astari Family member, do morning jogging along the quite street to Jimbaran beach, sunbathing on pool deck while reading books or enjoy cocktails and Beer from our Bar, enjoy the Body treatment from well trained therapist at Lestari Spa and having meal at our ASRI Resto. Explore the jewel of Jimbaran , visit Garuda Wisnu Kencana cultural park, New Kuta Golf, Jimbaran sunset BBQ and sea food restaurant, Padang-Padang beach and the Kuta lifestyle only minutes drive from The Astari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Astari - Villa and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Astari - Villa And Residence Bali/Jimbaran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Astari - Villa and Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.