We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Highly Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfer Cave Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Surfer Cave Accommodation to your Saves list
Surfer Cave Accommodation
Jalan Blonk Keker 168 balangan beach street, Jimbaran, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent! Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

It is a beautiful place and very homely, can highly recommend to anyone looking for a nice clean, comfertable and cheap accomodation. Jon and Diana and kids are so lovely and very helpful. Jon is a great tour guide and will take you wherever you would like to go, Diana is a amazing chef and will cook you the best food anytime of the day!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
95michael, Owner at Surfer Cave Accommodation, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
been really long time to respond your review, We got answer from couple who staying with us recently. They have been traveling for 5 months around south east asia, they are travelling to know the place and people on that destination including how they live daily, in their expectation bali is crowded and really touristik area and has no different with other destination. it's true if you are staying in the really touristik place like in kuta or legian area to where you get the most extravaganza night for the young people and the shop along the street with tourist price also beach full with seller .but ,if you just drive away 20 minutes to bukit peninsula you will get the really different atmosphere. with more natural and real live balinese people,tourist thinking bali is only kuta and legian and they even never go away from the city. come here to bukit peninsula and get the real experience to know Bali on it's true Bali. thank you for your recomends...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    3
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
8
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We have stayed with Jon, Diana, Michael and Charity many times. The Surfer Cave is not right on the main street or the beach so you will need to either A) rent a motorbike, which they have available or B) have Jon drive you in his nice big van. We do a little of both but going with Jon is always a real treat, his knowledge of Bali is exceptional and we constantly learn new things from him. You won't find vast luxury here or a million dollar view, instead you will have a window into Balinese family life and what real modern day Bali is all about.

The general area is very nice you have Balangan Beach (gorgeous and relaxed), Jimbaran Beach, Uluwatu temple, Padang Padang and Nusa Dua all within a short ride. There are a number of good restaurants nearby (try the ribs at Sate Club!) and the food that Diana and Charity make is excellent.

Beyond just the accommodation Jon has been continually helpful to us, whenever I need something in Bali I know I can rely on him - whether it's picking up visiting friends at the airport, arranging transport, hotels, or tours in other parts of Bali (or Lombok), or picking up important documents. Diana is amazing as well and we love the kids (Michael and Charity). Having a place to stay in Bali is great but after you've stayed at the surfer cave your realize you now have friends in Bali and that is a thousand times more valuable.

If you want a quiet place to stay in Bali where you have a chance to meet a great family, learn a ton about the Balinese lifestyle and culture, and enjoy the best South Bali you can't get any better than the Surfer Cave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
95michael, Owner at Surfer Cave Accommodation, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
we love you too
thank a lot for your reviews,
thank you for your contribution for this reviews and for our life, you has open our eyes of how to value the life, how to step the life and how to plan the life which will make our life longer , your 3 best formulas is truly work. ( that 3 formulas is ) 1. traveling 2. traveling 3.traveling.
we'll keep that alive, both of you not only left us a good memory but you both also leave us good gear which will be usable for all of us .it was really big honour for us to host almost all of your family from america and your friends. we really apreciate to how you love us in bali , untill you do less visiting your home land compare visiting us in your last three years,even you was able to stay in stars hotel but you choose to sleep at the sofa with us, hope that we can extended the amount of the room soon to make sure that you won't sleep at the living room sofa again.
we pray for your future and especially this moment that you decide everest as your journey track.
once more thank you and all the best for both of you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

In total I have stayed at Surfer Cave for 2 weeks and in the end..I had trouble leaving the place. Jon, Diana and the kids really made me feel at home and I feel like I have another family now in Bali. The rooms were comfortable, clean and excellent value for money. It feels very nice and cozy, as they have an outside livingroom where you can just chill and relax or play with the dog. The location is perfect. It's nice and quite, but the beach is only 5 minutes away and if you want to visit places like Kuta, Uluwatu, Tanah Lot etc..You can take the scooter and drive around. Jon has been a tourguide for many years in Indonesia, so he can give you great advice and will drive you wherever you want to go in Bali. Diana is an AMAZING chef, so there is no need to leave this place! All in all...I have had a great time here. If you want to feel at home, stay in a clean room, enjoy the best food and leave Bali with more wisdom...stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
95michael, Owner at Surfer Cave Accommodation, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
thank you for your reviews my daughter,
for the most of tourist just knowing bali as kuta as the most famous place ,where they have to come and visit when they come to bali. so you may get the same facilities like where you live just different place and better weather. but to whom want to know more deep bali you should come and explore more to the smaller area like bukit ,where the beach stil natural and no developed, not only balangan, dreamland, padang - padang or even uluwatu but also green ball, gunung payung, pandawa beach, niko beach or nusa dua beach, all of them are the bali beach with their own attraction and own caracteristic.Staying in this area will giving you an easy access to all of that destinatination including to kuta for night live only 20 minutes by motorbike.so welcome home to the home of all nations... and let get's the real adventure of BALI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

If you are looking for a local Balinese experience, a personal tour guide and a peaceful place to chill between surfing and scooter trips...then this is the perfect place for you! Jon and Diana run a little Surfer Cave Bed and Breaky in Jimbaran...and they do it perfectly! With the best local cuisine you will come across on the island, and the cheapest price for a clean and good-looking room, it is honestly hard to find something this good for the price offered. The owner is a decade long experienced guide that will always be of help to you, and will definitely influence your future travel plans in Indonesia. After the clubbing in Kuta and the abundance of activities you can get tied up in...this place is exactly what I needed, and it was worth the visit. Full recommendations!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Orford, Quebec, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Thanks John and all the familly that two weeks in Surfer caves where amazing

Recommended to anyone how want to pass a couple days in Paradise

Etienne!!

Room Tip: Surfer cave for sure and your close to the beach to get some good surf!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfer Cave Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfer Cave Accommodation

Address: Jalan Blonk Keker 168 balangan beach street, Jimbaran, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a bali happy family who run a small accommodation with the absolute bali taste and atmoshere away from touristik area and shop but close to all best beaches in south bali also just 20 minutes away from airport,threat all our guest as our family who visit us in bali. really happy to introduce bali with the real live also food till how to make it,for you surfer we are a good option surf place to stay, based near Balangan beach, Southern Bali. Whether you are an absolute beginner or an expert looking for world-class waves, and for you traveler you maybe just travelling through Bali, we can help you have a great and memorable trip. we serve all our guest as our family.welcome . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Surfer Cave Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfer Cave Accommodation Bali/Jimbaran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfer Cave Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.