We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pandan Sari Cafe

Pandan Sari Cafe
Near to Four Seasons Resort, Jimbaran Bay, Bali, Jimbaran, Bali, Indonesia
+62 361 8553963
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 119 Restaurants in Jimbaran
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went to this place on the recommendation of trip advisor as every seafood restaurant along jimbaran beach looks the same! A decision well made, the place was so reasonably priced and superb food. We had the squid, snapper, tuna all of which were gorgeous.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood, beautiful sunset and soooooo cheap!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This restaurant does not look appetising from the shop itself. When we arrived we were able to choose the seafood we wanted before it was cooked.

We ordered:

1kg of reg prawns
1kg jumbo prawns
1kg mussels
1kg of squid (half crispy)
All of this was cooked in a yummy spicy sauce.

The value for money was amazing for all this food it only cost $65 for 2 of us!!!!

The setting outside was to die for the sunset was amazing!!

Highly recommend a visit to this restaurant!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pretty nice food, reasonable prices, basic setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Pandan Sari Cafe #1, pretty basic setting serving decent BBQ seafood at decent prices. Service is quite decent too. Much recommended over the widely popular Menega Cafe a few shops down.

Tried:
Grilled Red Snapper - Recommended
Sea Prawns - Recommended
Oysters - So-so
Grilled + Fried Calamari - Recommended
Steamed Clams - Recommended
Ice-Cold Bintang - Must have!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice to grab some beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Having read negative comments about Jimbaran seafood places, I was not so interested to visit there, but happened to join some friends. They did pass us the menu with the price and we did not have to pay a lot. The price was reasonable and a bottle of beer was not that pricy like hotel bars. We had some shrimps and a whole fish in BBQ sauce. The taste is nothing special, just average, but it is really nice to drink beer on the seaside setting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“basic amenities, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Jimbaran beach is famous with seafood restaurants and notorious with charging foreign tourists twice as much as the local ones for the same food. Forewarned is forearmed.

We had lunch at Pandan Sari Cafe (the southernmost branch) 4 times while staying in Jimbaran.

The cafe manager I Made (i: ma:de:), which is usual name for 3-rd male child in Balinese family, was very friendly guy. First five minutes after I came across Pandan Sari cafe and met I Made first time, we had a chat about qualities of the fresh seafood, best ways of cooking for each kind of fish on display. When talking to him I felt we understand each other. So, when I asked for the menu for the local tourists, not foreign ones, I received it without any problems.

1 fish for fish soup, 1 fish pan-fried, 8 prawns, 2 crabs, 2-3 Bintang beers, 3-4 fresh juices, rice, spinach set us back 500'000 Rp (53 USD) or so.

The serious drawback of the cafe is ill-thought air circulation. Very often the smoke from the grill was filling in the cafe premises. So, having lunch outside in the shade of the tree was a better option.

I would recommend this place to a friend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pandan Sari Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Pandan Sari Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pandan Sari Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.