We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing cozy place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balquisse Heritage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Balquisse Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Balquisse Heritage Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Uluwatu 18x, Jimbaran, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Jimbaran
uae
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“amazing cozy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

its small. u cnt call it as a hotel. but give u all u need. its cozy and exotic decoration. everyroom hv different style. choose what u feel comfortable. i hv looked three rooms then decide which one i like,let me feel so good. if u want to pay a little bit more, u cn check the private rooms behind the main buildings. it is the most beautiful place i like. hv three rooms only. and one swimming pool. quite, privacy, we spend another two nitght there. only one word cn say, "amazing".

Room Tip: behind the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    51
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
40
143
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My partner and I have been staying here for the past ten years. There has never been an occasion when we have been disappointed. The ambience and aesthetics of the grounds, pool areas and interior design and styling are simply beautiful, yet all the while feeling like you are miles away from the outside world. On a personal note the spa is one of the most relaxing and satisfying of the many many spas we have visited throughout the world. It is simply high luxury and if you want a great massage and manicure don't forget to ask for Dewi. All in all it is a very reasonable price given the fees charged in the larger resorts on the Jimbaran strip. Each hotel room is unique in styling and design with delightful eclectic touches. For an overdose of luxury spoil yourself with a stay at the Shaba located next door on its palatial grounds and Private vistas and comfortable living areas within which to luxuriate and relax. Arriving at reception is always trouble free, relaxed and joyous, a tribute to the professionalism of Wayan, Astina and all the staff who make such a positive contribution to a great destination. Together they create and experience that saddens one when you have to leave and delights when you return.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This review is long overdue. Stayed 4 nights at Villa Balquisse in April 2012. This hotel is an oasis in the middle of the hustle and bustle. Every room is unique with extremely tasteful decorations from the bathrooms to the balconies. Everything has a luxurious yet down to earth feel to it. The grounds are beautifully kept, the staff is extremely helpful and the food is amazing, not to mention the dishes (pottery) the food is served in. The pools are wonderful and the afternoon tea/cake service is a delightful touch. I would gladly go back to Villa Balquisse and will recommend it to friends heading to Bali.

My only would-be-nicer issue was the distance from the beach but it's barely worth the mention.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Beautiful grounds and pools, delicious food, unique rooms, and exceptional service! My wife and I truly loved the quiet paradise that is Villa Balquisse. I will (and have already) highly recommended Villa Balquisse to everyone I know planning a trip to Bali.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Two friends and myself arrived in Bali in a jaded state due to a week of travel thru Asia, and needed a quiet place to restore our senses. After extensive reasearch we chose Villa Balquisse, and in the lush grounds and lovely staff we found just what we were looking for!
What really sets this place apart is the relative quiet due to only having a few rooms instead of the "join the masses" resort style Intercontinental across the street, and most of all, the staff! Their cheerful attitude and willingness to do their best is what transforms an average experience into a great one! They arranged a trip to Gili T, did our laundry, stored our bags, came in an hour early just to make us breakfast before our early departure- all done with a smile and a sincere desire to please. Thank you staff for your excellent service!
Everything was spotless except one of two pools, and when we left they were cleaning it. Location was fine, in a little quieter location still very accessable with a smooth airport transfer included. The only thing I will call, is though it is near the beach, you need to walk all the long way around the nearby properties to gain access, so it is a bit of a walk.
All in all, an excellent choice, one of my most memoriable stays!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Jimbaran Bay is not one of my favourite places in Bali. However, 2 nights at Villa Balquisse made it so much better!
They have 2 very serene pools that you could spend a whole day at relaxing at. Complimentary fruit kebabs and afternoon tea were served by the pools which were much appreciated!!!
Our room was spacious, & clean and the A/C worked well.
The breakfast was good and the salads at lunch were scrumptious!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I arrived very late in the evening at Villa Balquisse and was completely uplifted when I saw my room, it was absolutely gorgeous! So different from anywhere I have previously stayed with lantern lighting scattered everywhere and lovely, unique furnishings. The emphasis on decorations and furnishings in the room blew me away, it all comes together so nicely, totally loved it! My bathroom had a lovely bath and my bedroom also opened onto a nice court yard. What I totally loved was the outdoor living area, and spent some time there, was so relaxing and tastefully decorated, overlooking the two swimming pools. The restaurant was lovely as well and the food of good quality, breakfast offered a number of choices. The evening menu offered lots of options and the food was very nice. I had a number of massages and spa treatments and the massages were the best I have ever had in Bali, amazing, I would highly recommend. Finally the staff, they are all wonderful and so welcoming, friendly and accommodating. I could not speak highly enough of them, they are all fantastic. Villa Balquisse is a beautiful accommodation, with a strong Moroccan influence that allows you to escape the world behind the gates and totally relax and refresh and I would encourage anyone to visit this beautiful oasis, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balquisse Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balquisse Heritage Hotel

Address: Jl. Uluwatu 18x, Jimbaran, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#8 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
#11 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balquisse Heritage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel set in the heart of Jimbaran and nestled in a coconut groove. Balquisse Heritage Hotel is a mansion dating back in the 60s. Entirely renovated over the years by its owner and interior decorator, Zohra Boukhari, Balquisse Heritage Hotel has this shabby-chic vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Balquisse Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Balquisse Hotel Jimbaran
Balquisse Hotel Jimbaran
Balquisse Heritage Hotel Bali/Jimbaran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balquisse Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.