We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the pool and our room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AYANA Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added AYANA Resort and Spa to your Saves list
AYANA Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Karang Mas Sejahtera, Jimbaran, Bali 80364, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE $50 Credits
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Jimbaran
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Loved the pool and our room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

We loved the infinity pool, the jacuzzis next to it, and the other pools. The gardens were beautiful. Our room felt luxurious. We were informed that the steam room and jacuzzi in the spa were free, but we did not have time to go.
On a negative note, however, it was unbelievable that a 5-star resort could not check us in 45 minutes early, and that there was a stray dog in the garden one afternoon with no staff in sight!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,401
    420
    145
    40
    43
See reviews for
401
1,011
50
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

We stayed in Ayana for 3 nights as part of an 11 day honeymoon in Bali. We came there from The Royal Pita Maha in Ubud (which was amazing) and were hoping to continue a beautiful holiday in Bali. The hotel's check in time is 3 pm and since we got there at about 130 we were informed very rudely by the staff that we would be "allotted" a room at 3 pm "if it was ready!". The staff were all very busy and we had to constantly keep looking for someone to help us, given it is a big hotel. The linen in the room had bed bugs and my wife and I both broke out into a rash and informed the hotel but they came and changed the sheets with no apology whatsoever. I had read about the bed bug problem in another review on tripadvisor as well but was hoping it was one off.... no such luck. The private beach was closed for some construction work (we were not informed about this when we made our reservation and this was one of the reasons we booked) and the shuttle to jimbaran beach was only available on a first come first serve basis. We got the drop off but when we inquired about the pick-up were politely informed that the return shuttle was full and we can find our own way back!!! Also be prepared to wait in a 30 min queue for the breakfast buffet!
On the plus side, the rock bar and ocean pool are truly amazing. The experience of sitting at the bar being lashed by waves was a once in a lifetime moment.
All in all I do not recommend this hotel at all, visit the rock bar for a drink in the evening but would not stay here again. I hope the management realizes what a beautiful resort they have and compliment it with better service and better adherence to quality.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYANARESORT, General Manager at AYANA Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Dear 'KBtraveller82'

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We are investigating the issues you raised however we have found no evidence of bed bugs in our rooms and have had no doctor diagnose as such, for any of our guests. We adhere to strict hygiene standards as a five-star hotel under the management of West Paces Hotel Group, and I sincerely assure you that our guest comfort would never be compromised. I apologize about the closure of Kubu beach during your stay, but am glad you enjoyed the salt-water Ocean Beach Pool and Rock Bar.

Best regards

Charles de Foucault
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

This is our second family trip to Bali after 10 year later. We stayed at the Ayana Resort for one week. We cloudn't agree more with another gentleman comments on the resort titled "Don't Be Fooled." we also travelled the world and stayed at many luxury hotels or resorts and Ayana is definitely an overated resort in our view.

The toilet in our villa was plugged for three days in a row and we didn't bother to call for service the third time. The villa does not give us a fresh feeling at all and the decor or upholstry is well due for a change. At night, it was very to sleep as there was a lizzard outside our villa for 4 hours. If this is a so called 'five star' hotel, this is completely unaccectable and does not contribute to relaxation, which is essential to all guests.

In some resaurants, the price is over-priced. The Spa feels like a mental institution. The spa is very public - not exclusive at all and definitely does not live up to its "Number One Spa in the World" award, unless I have never been to any spa. The resort private beach was closed during our stay ubt this information was not posted on the website.

The WiFi was out of serivce for three days. Although we complained about it, there was no consistant follow-up. We have called the staff over 10 times to ask about the same issue, but everytime the reply was I will get back to you. Not suprisingly, not a single staff 'got back to us'. The next day, we were forced to go the buisness centre to resolve the issue and this is completely unacceptable as the hotel MUST acknowledge that they must cater to a customers needs and buisness emails are not a laughing matter and need to be urgently check. At the end of the day we were informed by the butler saying the internet cable but not wifi is working and they opened my personal laptop without my permission when I was gone. What kind of service is this?

Overall, we felt this whole resort is lack of personal touch and consist follow-ups.

Will we recommend Ayana to friends, the answer is absolutely not. As a world traveeler like our family, we experience 5 star service but we didn't have that feeling at Ayana at all. Please do not waste your time to lecture me about the 'five star' standards. Five star cannot be explicitly defined but experience by the customer though your service. Our experiene here at Anyana was impersonal and unsatisfying for the outragepus prices. The next time I come to Bali, I will be staying at the Four Seasons, which always been our preferred hotel because of their immpecable service throughout the whole stay to ALL guests.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

We got this room through a tie-up with the Marriott Vacation Club, and had high expectations as this hotel was the former Ritz-Carlton. The room are rather basic- clean and large, with old marble and basic wardrobes. My biggest bugbear is that there's no free internet- not even at the public areas/lobby (they charge USD7.50/hr!) . Surely, any top-class hotel can give this free to their guests?

Otherwise, the spa and Rock Bar are fabulous- I would come back for these two- but not for the accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYANARESORT, General Manager at AYANA Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
Dear ‘rypper’
Thank you for your feedback and I’m glad you enjoyed the spa and Rock Bar and the wonderful Balinese hospitality of AYANA. I am pleased to inform you that we have launched a renovation project for our standard rooms, which includes sound-proof ceilings, new décor and refurbished bathrooms. This renovation project is in an isolated wing of the resort far from public areas, so does not affect current guests, however it will elevate our standard rooms to a higher level of luxury which we are sure you will enjoy on your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to AYANA.

Warm regards

Charles de Foucault
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, nyc
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

We stayed here for a few days in a beach view room. Large comfortable rooms included all expected amenities and a private balcony patio that overlooks a well manicured golf course. Breakfast was delicious with great variety. The concierge was most helpful, even offering to call up other drivers on our behalf when we decided against using the hotels service. During our stay we also spent a few hours at the private beach where we experienced solid service. The ayana is also host to the famous "rock bar" where a number of outside visitors come to have a sunset cocktail and listen to guest djs. Hence the posh - so a good option if you want a more lively atmosphere without leaving the hotel premises. But still quiet and relaxed enough to not be annoying.

One thing to note is if you are looking to lie out on the beach, this may not be ideal, only because the beach by their pool is not accessible (due to safety considerations) but there is a shuttle that will take you to a private beach. Even this beach has a very strong current, so not the best for swimming. The only other drawback to note may be that this is a very large hotel. It reminded meof the large resorts in and around Hawaii - which are certainly very nice, but missing an intimacy and personal touch that might be found at a more "boutique" style accommodation.

Also, be sure to explore the grounds and the villa section but do stay away from eating at dawa. We hard all these great reviews and were truly disappointed with a very experience meal.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYANARESORT, General Manager at AYANA Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
Dear ‘dailln4n4’
Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at AYANA and especially your room amenities and service, the private beach and Rock Bar. I am pleased to inform you that a new Chef (from the USA) will join our team as Chef de Cuisine at Dava from January. We are confident you would enjoy his cuisine on your next visit to AYANA, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards

Charles de Foucault
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010 via mobile

Well if you want adventure then this is not the place for you. Ayana is perfect for sheer luxury and relaxation. My husband n I were on our honeymoon and stayed at the Ayana for 4 nights. Well we were initially booked into a deluxe ocean view room and upon check in the lady at the reception said she had upgraded us to a club room without the club room privileges. The room was good and spacious howeve don't expect an OCEAN VIEW it's more like garden view the ocean seems a small strip from the balcony.
I also feel that for the price paid the hotel did nothing for a honeymoon couple. We stayed two more nights at another villa which was obviously a lower star than the Ayana but they gave us a fabulous reception cake champagne flowers and the whole honeymoon feel.
Apart from that the staff were fantastic they somehow always knew our names and kept congratulating us for our wedding which was a really sweet gesture. I reckon the staff and the location of Ayana is what makes it all worth it!
Coming to the facilities. The swimming pools are beautiful. The ocean pool as promised is breathtaking and the main infinity pool is also beautiful and hugeee!
The dava dava restaurant is overpriced and nothing great! Kisik is beautiful and serves us simple yet tasty food. Padi padi was the beat for me we tried the Indian food and it was absolutely amazing.
The breakfast served at padi padi has countless dishes but I must say it would rate the lowest on my list of breakfast spread. I have Been to many resorts the world over and even the humble ones have a better spread. The breakfast seems to cater only for Japanese and Chinese people. I think they need to realize that too much doesn't necessarily mean good food!
Overall it was a great experience but everything was Overpriced!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

If you are an experienced traveler who has visited many luxury resorts around the world, DO NOT BE FOOLED by the reviews on Ayana. First of all, Ayana boasts the #1 spa in the world but it does not in any way live up to any standard that would qualify it to be a leading spa. The facilities were old, the treatment rooms were very basic and sparse, and there was nothing to say about the quality of the treatment. My friend left her massage within 15 minutes. Secondly, the rooms did not feel clean. The phones smelled and there were holes in our sheets. Both my friend and I broke out into a terrible rash all over our body. Since we both got it, the doctors ruled out any allergies. We were told it is likely from a bug that was in our sheets which concludes that this hotel does not have the level of hygiene that a world class hotel should have. When I called the hotel afterwards to let them know about this, no one responded to my emails or returned my calls. They obviously do not care.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYANARESORT, General Manager at AYANA Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
Dear ‘LuxuryHK’
Thank you for your review, which we have investigated in detail. We take hygiene and cleanliness very seriously and adhere to strict international standards in accordance with the five-star hospitality industry. I am genuinely surprised by your statements and regret that the doctor did not formally diagnose your skin condition to provide a clear indication of the cause. This is certainly the first time any guest has complained of such an incident at AYANA, and you would presume we would be hearing more such cases if it were in fact related to hygiene.

Our records show that our Rooms Division Manager spoke to you via phone to listen to your concerns in detail, took action to rectify the situation and created options for your accommodation. He also met you during your stay. We regret that you did not enjoy your spa experience, and can only state that it is not our own claim to be the #1 Spa in the World, but the result of a readers’ survey by Conde Nast magazine. We humbly appreciate your feedback so we may continually improve our facilities and services for all guests. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back to AYANA in the future, so we can have another chance to wow you.

Best regards

Charles de Foucault
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AYANA Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AYANA Resort and Spa

Address: Jalan Karang Mas Sejahtera, Jimbaran, Bali 80364, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#5 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#7 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#7 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — AYANA Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Indian Ocean, AYANA Resort and Spa embraces the mystique of Bali, natural beauty, and the grace of its people. With 368 guest rooms and villas, varieties of facilities and services to satisfy the guests, the Resort, set in 77 ha of tropical gardens, invites self-indulgence on the southwestern tip of Bali in Jimbaran bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your AYANA Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayana Hotel Jimbaran
AYANA Resort And Spa Bali/Jimbaran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AYANA Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.