We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolation, luxury, peace & quiet...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AYANA Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added AYANA Resort and Spa to your Saves list
AYANA Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Karang Mas Sejahtera, Jimbaran, Bali 80364, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Deal:15%OFF!
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Isolation, luxury, peace & quiet...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Ayana is an aesthetically stunning resort in the Jimbaran area, south of Kuta. Although its only a 15-20 minute drive from the airport, it is definitely out of the usual madness that most people associate with Bali. The resort itself is at least a 5 minute drive from any shops or restaurants, etc.
It is well suited to the type of holiday in which you mainly want to relax, swim, read, eat and drink. My partner and I enjoyed the 5 days we stayed there as we wanted to get away from it all and just hang out with each other. We probably wouldn't want to stay any longer than this as we were beginning to feel restless....
A great choice for couples, honeymooners or people needing a solid break. Also very secure for families who just want to stay in one place, and hey cater for this.

Another thing we noticed is that guests really keep to themselves, it's not a very sociable option. We consider ourselves very friendly but found it difficult to engage with others there.

All in all, a good romantic short break in a beautiful environment.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYANARESORT, General Manager at AYANA Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear ‘Leah C’,

Thank you for sharing your experience at AYANA. I am delighted to learn that you and your partner enjoyed a romantic break and some quality time away from the hustle and bustle of daily life. It is truly rewarding to know that you felt spoilt and well-rested as a result of your stay, and even a little restless – that is a sign of a relaxing holiday!

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to AYANA Resort and Spa.

Warmest regards

Roger Habermacher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,483
    440
    151
    40
    43
See reviews for
432
1,061
53
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davao City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This awesome hotel has everything. Our two-bedroom villa was very spacious and had an ocean view. . The pool inside the vicinity of our villa plus the bale were perfect! Our butler was like a genie-one call and he's there, attending to our needs. And the toiletries--L'Occitane! The bedrooms were perfect--from their exquisite designs to their bed sheets, pillows, slippers, bathrobes, etc.. They even had a pillow menu. Their Rock Bar was amazing! The pictures in their website were really what we saw--even much better when we finally experienced what they were boasting about. A beautiful resort in a beautiful island with beautiful people...

Room Tip: If in Bali, don't just stay in the hotels' usual rooms. One should stay in the hotels' v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

If money isn't a problem this resort is the place for you. It's stunning, the rock bar is incredible, the breakfast is huge and the pool are is big. It's on a cliff so there is a nice breeze.
However, the food and drink prices around the pool are ridiculous. The cocktail at the pool was really bad but the ones at the rock bar are amazing.
We travelled with our 2 young boys (3 &5). And stayed in the hotel rooms. Quite large rooms. If u can afford the villas get one, they looked so much better. There was hardly anyone staying in the resort and they put us all the way at the other end in the 3rd last room. Why hotels do this to parents, I don't know? The Italian restaurant was the only affordable restaurant, it's meals were $10 - $24 aud.
Laundry is expansive and you are isolated.

Room Tip: Go the villas, if you can't afford them you will be shocked at food and drink prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed one night for our wedding anniversary. Ok swimming pool three choices and the H2O and Ocean side were awesome. Fantastic Rock bar, excellent staff service and good food quality. Plus point, every time go to swimming pool , the staff gave us free mineral water. Nice thing.
The low side is room quite beautiful design but not that spacious and bathroom small. Comparing to Four Season price slightly lower but bigger room , spacious bathroom and more luxury. I valued room price not more than USD 200. We paid about USD 350. Thought the view will be purely ocean cliff but only partial with garden. In the morning rather woken up by birds chirping; the sound of hammer and construction just too noisy and killed the moment

Spa price just unbelievable expensive ! USD 700 for spa on the rock 2,5 hours. Ok location at the rock, special products for treatment (well how special) massage i wonder how fantastic and illuminating? That price enough to fly from Jakarta to Brisbane one way. Four Season massage also very good but price much less and sensible.

We did last year anniversary at Four Season ended by romantic massage package. This year at Ayana we couldnt ended up with romantic spa massage since the price just does not make any sense.

We wont comeback again
Price we spent and we expected did not match

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights here during our honeymoon in late Oct 2013. It takes 20 minutes to check-in because there's mistake in perception about room we want. But they handled it very good, and during waiting we given cold towel & welcome drink. The garden view room is awesome, with traditional Balinese touch and there’s balcony too, with garden and sea as a view. Fabulous view. Our sleep is very comfy because Ayana provide the best bed. The bathroom is huge with bathtub, shower and toilet. Breakfast with plenty of choice and the food taste delicious, we can get breakfast while listening to Balinese Gamelan playing live. We spent at least an hour for breakfast here. Pool is big and not too deep, around 4 feet deep. I can’t swim but I can enjoy being inside the pool with the ocean view, you should try this. We spent 3-4 hours a day at the pool. There are 5 pools here, and if you like deeper water, you can choose the pool below the main pool. All staffs are helpful and hospitable, serve with smile all the time. The price is little bit high for Indonesians but it’s worth it. Definitely, will come back here in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYANARESORT, General Manager at AYANA Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear ‘girindra’

Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed a memorable and relaxing honeymoon at AYANA, in particular the variety of pools and restaurants across the resort, the service from our team members, and selection of food and beverages. I am glad to hear that our Front Office team were able to quickly resolve the misunderstanding over your room reservation.

Thank you again for your review, guest feedback is our greatest source of learning and is invaluable in our efforts to constantly improve our service and facilities to ensure a memorable holiday for all guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to AYANA in the near future.

Warm regards

Roger Habermacher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Although somewhat isolated, the Anaya Resort is spectactular. From the welcoming gong and leis to the wonderful greetings and smiles from the staff, Anaya is a paradise. You are pampared from the second you arrive to the time you leave. The rooms are very-well maintained and well-appointed. The Club level includes ocean views and access to a small-portioned but tasty foods at no charge. Because it is located some miles from town, you need a form to transportion to leave the resort. The beach is a tram ride from the complex, and you must negotiate over 200 steps down and up a fairly steep cliff. Once you arrive at the beach, you are greeted by staff with a cool towel, bottled water, shaded beach chaises, and congeniality. The water can be turbulent, but there are some basins in the rocks that provide some cool and refreshing areas to sit. Overall, this is one of the finest hotels in which we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The geographical location is the selling point of this hotel. There's a breathtaking view of rocks and crashing waves, with the Rock Bar and the "Kisik" restaurant cliff-side location being particularly appealing. The swimming pool is also built into the cliff-side, however it is not too big and when we were there it was crowded.

As for the service the story is different. The hotel screwed up our airport pickup, and we had to call them twice. The check-in was painfully slow as three of them scratched their heads for over half an hour. To be fair, we got a room upgrade however I strongly suspect they upgrade every couple. The "Club Floor" is a dingy room with a permanent buffet, reminding us of an airport lounge. We didn't feel special for booking "Club" service, and so can't recommend it. Breakfast was free, but it wasn't very good. The hotel also were quite negative to us at dinner in the "Kisik" restaurant, turning what should have been a memorable experience into one of frustration as we had to wait for two hours to get a seat and then we were ignored much of the time at the table. Food though tastes very good, once it finally arrives.

I'd certainly recommend the noisy "Rock Bar" (which plays constant loud dance music in the evenings), if you're in the area and fancy a scenic drink before heading off somewhere else. However, for a resort that claims to be at the top level of facilities and service, we were surprised we felt so unwelcome. Staff are clumsy and uncoordinated, their competency in English is poor (so we had to explain many things several times to be understood) and we felt rather like an inconvenience. Perhaps we'd have got better service were we Japanese or Korean, as there were plenty of guests from these countries.

Overall then, a bit of a mistake staying there. We won't make the same mistake twice.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the "Club" rooms - they're the same as the standard ones except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYANARESORT, General Manager at AYANA Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear ' SingaporeBizTravel ',

Thank you very much for your comprehensive feedback, it is invaluable to our continuous improvement. I am glad you enjoyed the location, our scenic views, the quality of food served at Kisik restaurant and the ever vibrant Rock Bar. I am concerned by your comments about the service at Kisik and Rock Bar and will meet with the team at both venues to ensure that all of our team members uphold our Canon service philosophy. Your comments certainly sound out of character for our team members, of whom I am very proud for their warm and caring service towards all of our guests. Rock Bar is extremely busy over sunset which can affect pace of service, although we always strive to provide timely and memorable service at any time. I must say that I personally prefer Rock Bar at night under the star-lit sky, when the weather is cooler and the sunset busy period has ebbed.

I am sorry to hear that your airport transfers were not provided and that the check-in process did not live up to your expectations. I am addressing these issues with our Front Office team to ensure greater attention-to-detail, in line with our high standards of guest service. The Club-level rooms and suites are markedly different to standard rooms. They feature different decor and amenities, and exclusive access to a private lounge for Club-level guests only. Other than the daily breakfast, the Club Lounge also offers four other complimentary food and beverage presentations daily including lunch, afternoon tea, dinner, cordials and desserts. Freeflow beverages are provided including beer, wine and imported spirits. Club-level guests are also entitled to complimentary laundry and pressing service, unlimited use of our 18 hole golf putting course and tennis pavilion, and the Club Concierge service.

We take great pride in our caring service and our staff’s anticipation of guest needs, so I thank you once again for bringing the issues you experienced to my attention to enable us to improve our responsiveness and provide a memorable stay for all guests.

Kind regards

Roger Habermacher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AYANA Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AYANA Resort and Spa

Address: Jl. Karang Mas Sejahtera, Jimbaran, Bali 80364, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#4 Business Hotel in Jimbaran
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#7 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — AYANA Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Indian Ocean, AYANA Resort and Spa embraces the mystique of Bali, natural beauty, and the grace of its people. With 368 guest rooms and villas, varieties of facilities and services to satisfy the guests, the Resort, set in 77 ha of tropical gardens, invites self-indulgence on the southwestern tip of Bali in Jimbaran bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your AYANA Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayana Hotel Jimbaran
AYANA Resort And Spa Bali/Jimbaran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AYANA Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.