We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort to your Saves list
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Uluwatu 45, Jimbaran, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man
1 review
“Amazing hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

We travelled to Bali in early May after a two night stop over in Singapore. We stayed at this hotel for 11 nights and I loved every minute of it. From arriving late on the Saturday night we were excited from the minute we got to the hotel as entrance to the hotel is stunning and the lobby is impressive. We were made to feel very welcome from the start and the staff were helpful and polite throughout the whole holiday. All the staff always said hello whenever you walked past them and made you feel happy to be there. Our room overlooked the gardens on the left wing of the resort and it was lovely and spacious and cleaned really well everyday. The bathroom was huge and so was the bed and there was even a mini walk-in wardrobe, every girl's dream. The main pool area was amazing with a swim up bar on one side and a chill out area on the other, it catered for the full on sunbathers and those that prefer to sit in the shade. The sunloungers were the best I have ever seen at a hotel, very comfy and plenty of them so you didn't need to worry about getting out early to put a towel on one to save it. Also the hotel towels that are provided by the poolside are a nice touch as they were nice and big and once finished with it you could just drop it off and collect a clean one the next day, magic!
It truly was a 5 star experience and we would definitely stay at this resort again if we went back to Bali. The breakfaast buffet was delicious and there was plently to choose from so it catered for all tastes. We only ate at the hotel on a couple of occasions at lunchtime from the poolside restaurant as the menus for the main Italian & Japanese restuarants did seem a little pricey and we prefered to go out at night and explore Kuta or the restuarants along the beachfront so you got more of a true Bali experience.
I had a pedicure whilst I was there at the spa and that was wonderful, would have liked to have a massage but never got round to organising one. The main spa itself was lovely and I enjoyed our trips there to use the jacuzzi and steam rooms. I would truly recommend this resort to anyone as it caters for all. Its a big resort so it doesn't feel too squashed but at the same time its big enough to feel you can get away from everyone and enjoy some quiet time if you want. Not sure how busy it gets in peak season, however in early May it was just right. Will never forgot our holiday to Bali and our stay at this resort and I would definitely go back if the opportunity came up. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,620
    624
    151
    53
    38
See reviews for
662
1,189
72
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

We booked for a classic room but knowing we have the Ambassador card, they instantly upgraded us into the room in Singaraja view... The room is very spacious, the bed is excellent, the patio (though quite small) is so nice... I like the fact that the room has a lemongrass scent, it's so refreshing. The Kaffir Lime soap in the bathroom smells so nice, I couldn't resist in buying them at the store for souvenirs.
Their breakfast selection is great. Their Balinese traditional dishes for breakfast is so delicious, their healthy juice is unique (beware of the surprising taste though).

They have so many pools (I like especially the ones with the spray ones), kids would love them! Don't worry about not getting chair near the pool or by the beach. One thing to remember though that we really need to come as early as possible to have one spot with the shades/umbrella. If your space leaves unattended for an hour, the hotel staffs would remove all your stuffs so that other guests can occupy your space.
I can't say I like the beach though.. it's now not as clean as it was once.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We had a good time here. The hotel is very large as you would expect which makes it feel a bit faceless. However, the service is attentive and the rooms are well-kept. Our only negative observation would be that the food (both room service and in the hotel restaurants) is rather overpriced for the quality, and the bedding in the rooms isn't as fresh as it might be - we had to ask for new pillows because they smelt very stale!

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

Bali… visit for the sun/sea/sand/food/adventure/sightseeing/partying… there are so many reasons to go to Bali, and there is only one place I would go back to! The Intercontinental Bali proved to be a real Balinese resort, right down to the BBQ buffet dinner with traditional dancing by a bon-fire on the beach.

Rooms… we were upgraded to a suite in the Club rooms, a gorgeous duplex with 2 flat screen TVs, a nicely stocked mini-bar, fresh exotic fruit every day, a huge bathroom with rose petals for the bath, and even a personal butler service. The Club floor also has an Inspiration room to rent DVDs, books and use the internet, as well as book excursions around the island.

The complex was enormous!! It really catered for families as well as romantic couples who wanted some peace and quiet. Surfing is a must in Bali and so is Paddle Boarding, both of which can be done on the hotel’s beach. Right next door is a string of restaurants, walk-able from the shore, which serve fresh fish BBQs! And if you don’t fancy wandering around, the cocktails and food at the Japanese sushi bar are worth staying in for, as well as the Italian cuisine by the pool. The sunset bar for cocktails overlooking the most exquisite sunset you will see in Bali, is something you will revisit day after day, and rightly so!

Breakfast……… My favourite meal of the day! Food from all ends of the world are served at the extensive breakfast buffet! Set yourself at least an hour to enjoy all the culinary delights, from exotic fruit and vegetable, to fresh smoothies, salads, Malaysian noodles, English Breakfast, Chinese soups, curries, freshly made waffles, croissants….. the list is endless!

And if you’re looking for a spa treatment, they were able to cater for a much needed pedi/mani/hair style all in the same sitting! Multi-tasking at it’s greatest.

I truly appreciated everything that the Intercontinental did for us: free car service to and from the airport, organised a fantastic day trip all over the island, arranged to rent out surf boards and paddle boards for me and all my friends at a discount, the daily stories and little gifts left on the bed each day (local honey, black pepper, cinnamon)… and so much more. It was a perfect beach resort, and 8 days didn’t even cover all that this place had to offer!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

My husband and I only stayed for four nights at the Interconti and I wish we would have stayed here the entire time we were in Bali. Words seem highly inadequate to describe this place. I have never experienced such luxury, combined with the friendliest service and a pristine location. When we originally booked the hotel, we reserved a room in the "Club" wing. We did this for a number of reasons, the main reason being the customs and immigration assistance at the airport. About two weeks before we arrived, we discovered that the Indonesian government no longer permits hotels to "assist" tourists with the customs and immigration process. My husband decided to send the hotel an email and confirm that that particular amenity was no longer available. When he did, they were very apologetic and offered to upgrade us to a Club Suite as compensation. Our expectation was for something like resort credit but we were more than happy to take the upgrade. Once we cleared customs we were greeted by a hotel staffer who directed us to the waiting air conditioned Mercedes. The driver loaded our bags, handed us cool towels and two bottles of ice water and then we were off to the hotel. Once there we were ushered to a private check in area for club members where they explained all of the benefits we were eligible for including free snacks all day in the club lounge, free alcoholic beverages during the three hour happy hour from 5 to 8 pm and free daily breakfast, from which we had a choice of the buffet at Gitta Terrace, menu service at the club lounge or room service. We were then escorted to the Uluwatu Suite on the second floor of the Club wing. The room was amazing. We had a view overlooking the private club pool and were easily within walking distance of nearby Jimbaran Bay. The club pool is wonderfully peaceful and very warm. It is like swimming in a bathtub. There are several covered Bales surrounding the pool in addition to the three or four that are on the lawn which fronts the beach. We were there in March, which is off season so had no difficulty reserving our spot. I am sure during high season we would need to get there earlier. The hotel has a policy that any chairs or bales left unattended for more than 1 hour would be free game. For us that was more than enough time to put our stuff down at 8, enjoy a leisurely breakfast and return by 9 for a full day of relaxation. Despite not having immigration assistance the club benefits were more than worth it. We basically made a lunch out of the snacks in the lounge and ordered off the menu for dinner during happy hour when the drinks were free. We had one or two waiters during our time there and our favorite by far was named July. He was so friendly and so helpful with insight about what to do and see on Bali. A word about tipping: In Bali, every hotel and every restaurant automatically includes a 20% service charge. This isn't a tax, it is meant as gratuity for services performed. At the end of the day, all of the service fees go into a pot and are divided among all the employees. I think they do this because other than in the U.S. tipping isn't customary and they want to make sure their employees are properly compensated. You can always leave a tip if you think your service was exceptional. We always did and it was greatly appreciated. Out of the three hotels we stayed at during our 12 day trip to Bali, this was my favorite. The decor of the room and the appearance of the grounds was traditional Balinese. The service was exceptional and the spa was amazing. I had the jet lag reliever massage my first night and slept like a baby. No jet lag at all. I could write a novel about all of the things to do and see on Bali. If you have questions or want more info about the Interconti, feel free to shoot me a message. I would be more than happy to oblige.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

To say it in a few words. BEST EXPERIENCE IN BALI!
Although the room we stayed in was a little dated.........
Great location, great staff, great restaurants, beautiful pool area, special events almost every night, Did i mention the staff...?
This hotel although large does not take away from the quiet and intimate experience that you would expect in Bali. Staff were great and polite.
Hotel is situated on a great beach which comes to life in the PM. A must for dinner one night at least!
Made one mistake on the trip, booked the second half at a hotel in Nusa Dua, even though the concierge tried everyday, twice a day we were unable to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

The Intercontinental Bali is nothing short of spectacular. The staff are very friendly, the food is good and the grounds are perfect. We stayed on the club side of the resort which has the extra ammenities. NOTE: if you plan on staying on the club side and expect to be met at the airport and have you visa taken care of while you wait in the lounge, you are wrong. The laws changed so they can no longer offer that, despite what the website might say. Anyways, we stayed in the Bukit Suite, the got upgraded to the Jivana Villa. FANTASTIC accomadations, especially Jivana Villa. Anyways, the intercontinental Bali is a great spot with lots of pools and restaurants, without the big resort feel. The spa is also something you must try but actually is not as costly as if you travelled to somewhere like Hawai. There is not a better spot in Bali, highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort

Address: Jl. Uluwatu 45, Jimbaran, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jimbaran
#3 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blessed by an endless stretch of white sand beach overlooking the tranquil waters of Jimbaran Bay, InterContinental Bali Resort features 417 guest rooms in three unique levels of accommodation. The property embraces a 14 hectare tropical landscape that is a blend of indigenous flora, gentle waterways and stone statues reflecting the island’s artistic heritage. There are six swimming pools, Planet Trekkers children’s resort, a fitness centre and plenty of recreational activities to keep guests occupied throughout the day. Spa Uluwatu is a dedicated healing and beauty facility for individual sessions, while the exclusive Villa Retreats promises indulging spa packages for couples. A superb choice of restaurant venues makes every dining experience an adventure in culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bali Hotel Jimbaran
Intercontinental Hotel Bali
Intercontinental Hotel Jimbaran
Bali Intercontinental
INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort Jimbaran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage INTERCONTINENTAL Bali Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.