We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Bali Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Bali Resort to your Saves list
InterContinental Bali Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Uluwatu 45, Jimbaran, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Jimbaran
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of Bali, 10 minutes from the airport and 15- 20 minutes from Kuta. Jimbaran is a really nice beach, quite, secure and safe to swim. I had read many reviews about the resort, before deciding to book. I booked the “Get together Package’ staying in the Singarjara Duplex suite with 3 of my girlfriends. The suite was very nice, big and is suitable for families as well as 4 adults. The "Get together" package offers exceptional value as you only pay for two guests and additional beds are complimentry (kids or adults). I found the staff efficient, friendly and helpful and there was no language barrier. The resort has beautiful grounds, excellent ameneties and has 7 pools. One main big pool , 4 smaller pools. 1 kids pool which is part of the great kids club,(and is free to use on the "Get Together" package) and 1 exclusive pool for club guests.The hotels spa is very luxurious and well appointed. It is a fantastic place to relax and rejuvenate. Guests are able to use the spa, Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna for free. It also has a private outdoor area with day beds. The resort offers lots of various daily activities, some complimentary. We loved the Singarjara Concierge lounge it is open 24hrs and offers free juice, water, tea and coffee. There is also a variety of nibbles. The resort offers a great variety of restaurants. Also there are a great choice of good value restaurants just on the beach, which is a lovely place to sit and have dinner while watching the sunset. I had read reviews that said the resort was outdated and was showing its age, I did not find this to be the case at all. I have stayed at many 5 star hotels and found this resort to be of an exceptional 5 star standard. My friends and I had a wonderful stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,333
    529
    127
    48
    36
See reviews for
549
999
59
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The welcoming was fantastic..and relaxing... easy to look at staff and friendly made it a welcoming experience...

the rooms are great... we were upgraded automotically to a duplex room - which we didnt like and requested to be given the simplex room - which we loved... it had the beach view...

very personalised service... we received written notes on our bedside when we came in after being out in the beach - giving us details of our enquiries at the reception - brilliant...

the beach -- fantastic... ample beach chairs... and ample beach space for visitors means we dont have to bump into other guests everytime we make a turn....

the beachside bar was great... we hung out near it and was able to get service easily everytime..

We left our valuables by the beach chair and never felt like in danger of losing our cameras and stuff.. (not recommended though)..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I did not get impressed by this hotel during my four day stay. Everything was just standard - in fact some things were below what I expected of an InterContinental property.

The hotel did have interesting programs such as turtle releasing program for kids and a chance to experience local culture by participating in various activities. It's also got a good Japanese restaurant (I tried it) and a, supposedly, critically acclaimed Italian restaurant. However, in my opinion the hotel had failed me by allowing some basics to fall below standard, such as:

1) The white towels provided in the room seemed to have come from different batches of acquisition. When placed together on the towel rack, I could see clearly that there were different types of towels based on their looks and textures. They felt different too when used.

2) Quality control/cleanliness was definitely below standard:
- The shower head in my room was not properly cleaned and maintained, resulting in needle like water stream that went everywhere in the stall.
- Telephone mouthpiece smelled very badly.
- The bedside table lamp was missing one lightbulb.

The property is about twenty years old, built in the style of Balinese royal palaces. Due to this design and its furnishing, my room, which was located on the ground floor, was a bit too dark for my taste. It is unfortunate that, save for the flat screen television set and bedding, room furnishing had not been updated. Staying in a room like that I felt like I have been transported twenty years back in time. It took a bit of an effort to find electrical outlets to charge my electronic devices. This should not have been the case for a modern hotel, let alone an Intercontinental.

It is important to provide a high level of standard in order to satisfy guests so that they keep coming back. It is in this department that I felt the InterContinental Bali had not lived up to the expectation. When visitors to Bali are being spoiled by so many different choices of hotels catering to different tastes, I wonder if I would ever choose to stay at this place again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Bali Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Edges,

We would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. We will follow up with the executive housekeeper to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments and suggestions as the InterContinental Bali Resort is geared towards providing the highest level of hospitality to our guests.

Again, thank you for your comments which help us identify areas of improvement. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at the Intercontinental in July this year.
Our arrival was all that was promised, a driver to collect us and in no time we were at the desk signing in. All done with speed and we were made to feel very welcome.
Our room was ok. Large room but small balcony with limited views- not what we had thought we were getting when we booked on line. The bed was fantastic and we were certainly looked after by staff.
The staff at this hotel are wonderful. We had been learning Indonesian at home and all staff were keen to assist us- very happy that we were learning their language. Help was always done with a smile and we shared some very funny moments as we tried to get our heads around the formalities of this language.Metri was lovely. Each time we met she would test us on our new found skills and be happy to extend our understanding.
As we explored the hotel it is very large) we realised that some restaurants were better than others and the selections at some was much better than at others. Those close to the beach not as good as those in the main buildings.
The biggest disappointment was the pool area. We have adult children so our days of listening to 'marco polo' are over. We were told that children were not welcome in this area (there are 3 large pools at the hotel). This was not the case. Loud, poorly behaved children were there every day. We did share our disappointment with staff, however staff too found it difficult to convince parents that their children needed to move to the more family oriented areas.
This is when we become aware that some Australians travel very badly. Sitting by the pool, drinking, talking loudly and totally ignoring the fact that their children are behaving so badly- no thought for the comfort of others.
A return visit? still considering our options.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Perfect hotel for a honeymoon we had there. Rooms are little bit older but refurbished and well maintened and very spacious. Free wifi internet connection in whole resort works nice.
Staff is very very friendly, polite and helpfull.
Only not so good thing are the prices in restaurants and bars, way too high!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here as a family (2 older teenagers) for 5 days in August. The location is incredible and we thought it the best beach to swim and play in, in Bali. It is a large resort hotel and lacks the "personal touches" that we experienced with the other villa type hotels we stayed in but staff were friendly. At night the staff light hundreds of candles along the pathways and it looks really magical. The gardens and pools are lovely.

Great shaded spots for relaxing right on the beach and plenty of sun loungers.

Our hotel rate did not include breakfast and we found them to be really expensive.

Jimbaran has a great beach and the seafood restaurants but lacks the great local restaurants and shops that Seminyak and Ubud have.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Hello

To start - no complains about the intercontinental
Everything what you expect from a 5 star hotel is here

Personally
I found it a bog to big (but this is an advantage to - lots of space & pools)
We had a classic resort room - bad location in the hotel - get a club room or upgrade

Not a lot of action goin on in jimbaran - prefer seminyak & couple 5stars there to

I am satisfied but not a wow experience

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Bali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bali Resort

Address: Jl. Uluwatu 45, Jimbaran, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Jimbaran
#4 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blessed by an endless stretch of white sand beach overlooking the tranquil waters of Jimbaran Bay, InterContinental Bali Resort features 417 guest rooms in three unique levels of accommodation. The property embraces a 14 hectare tropical landscape that is a blend of indigenous flora, gentle waterways and stone statues reflecting the island’s artistic heritage. There are six swimming pools, Planet Trekkers children’s resort, a fitness centre and plenty of recreational activities to keep guests occupied throughout the day. Spa Uluwatu is a dedicated healing and beauty facility for individual sessions, while the exclusive Villa Retreats promises indulging spa packages for couples. A superb choice of restaurant venues makes every dining experience an adventure in culinary excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Bali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bali Hotel Jimbaran
Intercontinental Hotel Bali
Intercontinental Hotel Jimbaran
Bali Intercontinental
InterContinental Bali Resort Jimbaran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Bali Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.