We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but grotty, damp rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Puri Royan

Save Saved
You added Villa Puri Royan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Puri Royan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Pantai Sari 25, Jimbaran, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Jimbaran
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but grotty, damp rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This place is cheap and close to the airport. The staff are helpful and will help organising onwards travel and scooter hire. Furthermore, it is right by the infamous sea food beach BBQs on Jimbaran beach. However, the rooms themselves are pretty grotty. We we're put in a room on the ground floor which was very damp, dark and smelly. We asked for a change of room and were given a room on the second floor. It was less smelly but the beds were so damp it was uncomfortable to sleep. Both rooms were shabby.

It's worth noting that the hotel is made up of more than one building. The largest - which we were in - contained most of the rooms. However, there are a further three buildings, each with two larger rooms - which actually looked more like the villas in the photos advertised. They looked much nicer than the rooms we had in he shabby, budget block.

Room Tip: Never in ground floor. Villas are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    31
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
11
36
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Good location. Friendly staff. Pool! They offered toast and eggs in the early morning so we could eat before catching our flight! Room was HUGE but very basic. Perfect for a night or 2. Make sure to walk out to the beach and head South(left) to where the resorts are, the beach is happening there and more people are swimming with less/no boats. Rent a surfboard or SUP down there too. I did not surf in the bay but 100 local groms were. I surfed airport reefs and rented a board and got a boat ride for 175,000 rp. I was walking North on the road asking around and was pointed to a family warung that would rent. Its about 5 min north of the "surf club" which you'll see. Nice local family helped me out and made it easy. Airport reefs are good on a bigger swell, otherwise too small.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here to be close to the airport for a our early morning flight. The hotel is old and cheap but we really only need a place to sleep. Seemed pretty clean. The location is dark and quiet. Not sure I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I would like to thank the management and staff of this lovely hotel for their hospitality. When you arrive to a new country it is important that the first people you meet are welcoming. Vila Puri people certainly were. But so are Bali people. The most friendly people I have ever met. They are very helpful, particularly with transport options.
We stayed in the room on second floor with the balcony and lovely view. Breakfast was just average, pancake, coffee, fruits but was included in the price of room.
If you are looking for a peaceful place (Kuta is crazy) where you can relax, read the book at the beach or by the pool in your hotel, Jimbaran is a good choice. If you don't want to spend a fortune in luxury 5 stars around you should try VPR.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

When I consider the cost to stay here (and I mean accommodation and incidentals) it is fantastic value. For example we had soft drinks by the pool for a family of five for Rp 35,000 that's less than $3.50 AUD, that's all of us, not each! You have to go to a fridge to get them, open them, return then etc, but wow, you couldn't beat it for value. The value extends to the kitchen as well for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The complementary breakfast is basic but you can pay for more food if required. With regards to rooms, you need to know this. When you leave the foyer the numbers run right to left around the pool. No 1 is the first bungalow on the right, no 2 on top, no 3 next bungalow, no 4 on top, so on for 5 and 6. Next comes the block of rooms. Ground floor air conditioned rooms run from no 7 to no 10. Then two floors above. We had bungalow no 4 and fan room no 17. For an extra $10 p.n. We changed the fan room to an air con room directly opposite the steps of the pool - well worth it compared to a fan room on the top floor. Incidentally the fan is a cheap floor stand type! Our bungalow was ok, but because it was on the top floor and faced west it got very hot in the afternoon and only a ceiling fan in the lounge area (air con in bedroom only), so I think the ground floor ones would be much better (ideally no 1 - but I did not check). If you expect the Ritz then you'll never be satisfied, but if you like a little rustic Bali accommodation, it will be fine. Not much to do in the area.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

If you are looking for quite place for relaxing at the local or budget price this is you place.
The room is front of swimming pool and comfortable equipment.
The villa is near the jimbara beach.. but deserted from outsider makes it less being maintained by locals. .
Coz the beach dirty with litter.
The Villa mybe far from top beach and city center but there are local taxi on service at the villa entry.
It evan little far from main road where you can get daily shopping.
But still comfortable for the price tag.
You need to rentallll taxi and drivers to move along from this villa.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the start of our holiday and came back for the last 2 nights. We loved the place. Very friendly place. Great food. Very close to the middle seafood warungs on the beach which is not to be missed. Try the little Bintang bars amongst the trees further along past the seafood warungs on the beach. Take a visit to the fish market early in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Puri Royan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Puri Royan

Address: Jalan Pantai Sari 25, Jimbaran, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Puri Royan 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Villa Puri Royan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Puri Royan Bali/Jimbaran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Puri Royan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.