We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, convenient and great ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kupu Kupu Jimbaran - Rooftop Suites & Spa

Save Saved
You added Kupu Kupu Jimbaran - Rooftop Suites & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kupu Kupu Jimbaran - Rooftop Suites & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Uluwatu | Banjar Pesalakan, Jimbaran, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Our best price? Our site.
Ranked #17 of 36 hotels in Jimbaran
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique, convenient and great ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with the design and uniqueness of this hotel.
Friendly and helpful staff members throughout my stay. The ambience is fantastic and really suitable for travelers who wants a fuss free holiday, with a great place to chill out and pamper themselves. The Jimbaran Beach Club which is 3 min buggy ride away is a great place to lounge around.
Location wise, its close distance to airport is a plus. However do be warned that the area can get pretty quiet with shops and restaurants generally closing at around 10.30pm. Therefore, for those who wants nightlife, be prepared to head out to areas like Seminyak or Kuta.
Overall, it has been a perfect short break for me to recharge and rejuvenate. Will definitely be back again for this great experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Jimbaran - Rooftop Suites & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear SharonKmf,

Thank you very much for your comment about Kupu Kupu Jimbaran. I am happy that you were pleasantly surprised by our hotel and that you had a great holiday.

It is true that Jimbaran is rather quiet when compared with Seminyak or Kuta. Since the new toll road and the underpass road have opened, these 2 cities are more easily accessible: About 25 minutes for Kuta and 35 minutes for Seminyak.

In Jimbaran, the activities are mostly for day time: The beaches (Jimbaran and all around Bukit: Dreamland, Balangan, Pandawa, etc), some fantastic sunset venues, the seafood restaurants, and some shopping as well in Jimbaran Corner.

We will all be happy to welcome you back in Jimbaran. If you make a booking, please check our website first or email us directly to receive our best deals and offers.

Warmest regards,

Thibaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    66
    24
    6
    7
See reviews for
35
101
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Located in Jimbaran, this hotel is located above a small shopping centre. The shopping centre only consists of some local boutiques and restaurants. Entering the lobby you feel like you are in an exclusive spa, you are welcomed with a unique design of lobby, nice ambience and aromatherapy fragrance. Impressive. Check in was fast, staff was friendly and attentive. The rooms are located on 3rd floor (top of the building). As soon as you exit the lift, you could see a long swimming pool with sunbathing bed at the end of it facing a forest/garden. The room is huge, we booked the two-storeys room. Dominant wooden decoration and floor. First floor is a living room and bathroom with bathtub in the middle of the room. Ammenities are great and complete. Second floor is the bed and balcony. The bed is so comfortable and huge. Don't forget that they have a beach club 5 mnts away by buggy (provided by the hotel) and you could have breakfast on the beach club. I was dissapointed by the quality of the breakfast in the beach club though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Jimbaran - Rooftop Suites & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Rhendarto,

Thank you very much for your review of Kupu Kupu Jimbaran! We are glad that you had a fantastic stay with us and your comment certainly motivates us all.

As mentioned in a previous answer that I posted a few days ago to a tripadvisor comment, I will work with the team on the ways to improve our breakfast at the beach club. We have less options there than in Chocolate Café so I will also make a wider food selection. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly to share in detail about your breakfast experience in the beach club (thibaud at kupubarong dot com).

Thank you again for your stay with us, we hope to see you again soon in Jimbaran.

Warmest regards,

Thibaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great rooms, over two floors with a lovely balcony looking at the pool. The beach buggy was a great little extra, taking only 3 mins to the beach. Overall I really liked this hotel but have some negative points:

1. Beach club staff were not very attentive
2. Breakfast at the beach club was poor and the juices were not 'fresh' as advertised
3. I had asked for late check-out, I tried to confirm over the course of my stay and seemed to get a multitude of different answers. Eventually I spoke to the manager the day we left, who told me I could not check-out late. It was a shame I couldn't get a straight answer earlier
4. Unfortunate stagnant water smell around the pool areas

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Jimbaran - Rooftop Suites & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Nwhoran,

Thank you for your stay in Kupu Kupu Jimbaran and for your constructive remarks.

I am happy that you really liked the hotel and I will work on the improvements you noted for our future guests.

In particular, we will work on the service and the quality of the breakfast in the beach club. We have made an agreement with the fishermen of Jimbaran to recruit only staff within this community. We have trained most of them from the beginning and we still need to improve their skills to reach Bali's highest standards. I hope this can be done soon.

Regarding the late check out, the hotel was almost full at the time of your stay and we tried to accommodate your request. We had to wait until the last minute to confirm to you that it was not available because we were still thinking there could be a cancellation. We certainly did not explained the situation very well to you and we are sorry that you couldn't get the information you needed faster.

As you are living nearby in Singapore, I hope that you will visit us again in the future. If you do so, please visit our own website to get our best offers and prices.

Warmest regards from Jimbaran,

Thibaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 5 nights. After staying in Seminyak and Ubud we enjoyed Jimbaran. No night life to speak of, but great beach and just as many locals as tourists. Hotel is small and convenient, being part of a small, relatively classy shopping mall, but this could be a bit off-putting for some. We got an upgrade and had a huge suite and own patio; almost too big! Bed etc was top class.
The pool was just great. Bali can be very noisy but usually you just had some background noise from the traffic while sunbathing
The hotel is NOT on the beach. It's just a 3 min golf buggy ride away. Was a little disappointed about this at first, but that didn't last, as the hotel's beach club was very enjoyable. Here you can lounge away a whole afternoon just watching the local life go by, swimming/body-surfing in the sea and enjoying the great fruit juices and beer - my highlight.
The service in the hotel was excellent if a little over the top at times. On the first night they were digging up the local road (at 2:00 am !) and the morning after the manager found us, explained the situation and offered to relocate us to a room further away from the road (not necessary). Additionally the toilet was flushing with dirty water at one point and this was repaired within the hour.
Everything was pretty new and well maintained
Overall it was a nice and relaxing visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Jimbaran - Rooftop Suites & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Philip H,

Thank you very much for writing a review about Kupu Kupu Jimbaran. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were fully satisfied with our service and facilities.

As you mentioned, the hotel is not on the beach. It is on Jalan Uluwatu, a street which is parallel to the beach, 300 meters from it. To go to the beach, it is possible to walk about 5-10 minutes, or use our small car for about 3 min.

We are one of the few hotels in Jimbaran to have our own beach club though, which is located in one of the nicest part of Jimbaran Beach (between the Four Seasons Hotel and the Intercontinental Hotel). We are also 300 meters from the famous Jimbaran seafood BBQ cafés.

Thank you again for your stay with us, we hope to see you again soon in Jimbaran...

Best regards,

Thibaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very clean and tidy. Stylist design from lobby to your room. Very where with green view and feel comfortable.
Only 20 minutes to airport and very convenient location to beach.
Nice breakfast and service.
Don't forget to book their spa centre earlier as their high quality of service always make it fully booked!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Jimbaran - Rooftop Suites & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Gloria T,

Thank you very much for your comment about Kupu Kupu Jimbaran!

We are all very happy that everything went perfect during your stay.

Regarding our Bamboo Spa by L'Occitane, we do advise advance booking as it is indeed rather crowded. We are currently training new therapists in order to make it more easy to get an appointment.

Hoping to see you soon again in Jimbaran,

Best regards,

Thibaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraainem, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Boutique hotel by all means : design, feel, ...
Don't get scared by reading that the hotel is at the roof of a shopping center it is a small center with only a couple of upscale shops.
Room are EXTREMELY spacious (we stayed in the family suite) : 2 huge rooms with 2 bathrooms (1 of them being also MEGA spacious) and a sitting room + large terrace.
Beach club : quite small, but all very agrébale with nice beach furniture!
Food beach club very good!
Breakfast very nice : don't stick to the set formula of either a healthy breakfast or a US breakfast etc... : you can have a US breakfast AND a yoghurt AND a pancake...
EXTREMELY clean hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Jimbaran - Rooftop Suites & Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear 001brussels001,

Thank you very much for your review of Kupu Kupu Jimbaran on TripAdvisor, and for your stay with us!

I don't think I have anything to add to your very kind comments... I agree with all!

If you come back to Bali, do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@kupujimbaran.com to enjoy our best rates and offers...

Thank you again and best regards,

Thibaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked here last ,invite for our first night in Bali, we were great with a smile, offered a cool drink and escorted to,our room. Wow, what a great room, the Uluwati rooms were lovely. We were provided with plenty of guidance to shops, restaurants close by.

We dined at Balique and were dropped up there in the Hotel golf buggy. When we walked back we were scolded for not calling to be collected, it was an easy 5 min walk. It was sweet that they were concerned for us.

We were dropped to Kuta in the free shuttle, and provided guidance on costs or taxis back. They held our luggage and dropped us to our new hotel when we arrived back from Kuta.

Overall a Antarctic stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKB_Management, Manager at Kupu Kupu Jimbaran - Rooftop Suites & Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear rnr2310,

Thank you very much for your stay in Kupu Kupu Jimbaran and for your review on TripAdvisor!

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future...

Do not hesitate to contact us directly for the best rates and offers (reservation@kupujimbaran.com).

Best regards,

Thibaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kupu Kupu Jimbaran - Rooftop Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kupu Kupu Jimbaran - Rooftop Suites & Spa

Address: Jalan Raya Uluwatu | Banjar Pesalakan, Jimbaran, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
#13 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#15 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
#15 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kupu Kupu Jimbaran - Rooftop Suites & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Kupu Kupu Jimbaran - Rooftop Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kupu Kupu Jimbaran Hotel Jimbaran
Kupu Kupu Jimbaran - Rooftop Suites & Spa Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kupu Kupu Jimbaran - Rooftop Suites & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.