We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staffs and owner which made all the difference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Tree Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mango Tree Villas to your Saves list
Mango Tree Villas
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Jalan Pemelisan Agung | Gang Menega Jati 14B, Jimbaran, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Helpful staffs and owner which made all the difference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at the Villa Mango Tree for 10 nights and it was a wonderful experience for us. We stayed in the 2 bedroom villa and it was absolutely fabulous.

The Good:

Beautiful villa with lush green trees, as beautiful as seen on the pictures

Good size swimming pool and it’s always warm as the sun was above it most of the time

The villa is located conveniently about 5 minutes walk to the Jimbaran Beach where all the nice seafood restaurants are.

It is a small villa complex and unlike the big hotel chain, you walk out of the door and you could see the real Bali – how people live and work. We’ve been to Nusa Dua and as much as there were lovely big hotels, you felt quite indifferent as it could be anywhere in the world.

The staffs were really helpful. They were very polite and efficient. Apart from daily cleaning and breakfast, they also helped to book our taxi and played with our little one.

Owner Andrea was very helpful too. She has been answering our query long before we arrived. The manager Nicole gave us lots of tips on where to eat and travel, sightseeing, airport tax, car rental etc. She even helped us to arrange our babycot for us.

The not so good:

It is a bit dark outside the villa complex and the local dogs might bark at you. I was assured that the dogs only barked and usually caused no problem.

Travelling Tips:

1. If you pre book a taxi, they could charge you minimum price of 250,000 Indonesian Rupiah

2. I was stung by jellyfish whilst swimming in Jimbaran beach, the local was helpful to give me onion and oil to cool it down. Maybe local could give you some tips on whether there are jellyfish in the sea?

3. The seafood restaurants on the beach cook the same way with more or less the same kind of sauces. It is important to see which restaurant have fresher fish before you get into one

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villamangotree, Owner at Mango Tree Villas, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Janice

Thank you so much for your review. It does help other customers to make a decision and give some insight of the local circumstances. Jimbaran is a very traditional village, where typical balinese life is celebrated daily, with all the pros and cons... We are very honest about this, by pointing out to each individual request what to expect as we belief very much that there is no point in promises which are not kept.

the way of life on this tropical island is so much different to other parts of the world and people coming for their first time need some reflecting before setting off in order to know what to expect. AS we always tell our guests, you have to expect the unexpected, be flexible, and negotiations always take place with a smile, you will go far...

Bali with its own share of problems, is still truely unique and can offer you a fantastic holiday experience.

All the best

Adnrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Pros

New nice quality rooms with hardwood or marble floors (1br wood, 2br marble)

Privacy created by gates at entrance to each private villa

Private pool

2br villa has covered kitchen/dining area adjacent to pool, making relaxing and dining by pool enjoyable

Cons

3-4% payment charge assessed on top of lodging fee (3% credit card or 4% paypal, no other options available)

50% nonrefundable deposit payable upon booking

Additional 50% nonrefundable deposit payable 1 month prior to arrival

Villa is located on a dodgy area, back an alley. Entrance to villa compound is not locked. It would be very easy for an outsider to enter compound.

Only thin sheet provided on bed

When servicing room, housekeeping keeps door open, allowing insects to easily enter room

Many mosquitoes and other insects (including worms and leeches) in room (perhaps unavoidable in Bali)

1br villa has no kitchen

Nothing is easily in walking distance from villa. You must have access to car. To get to nearby street vendors, you must walk 10 minutes through alley, past people sitting in alleyway.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpatriadoBali, Owner at Mango Tree Villas, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Estimated customer

We have read your comments on Villa Mango Trees and would like to add the following.
Payment method: you paid through a travel agent and they offered you the paypalsystem, so it is normal that there are costs, but so it does with bank transfers, it is inevitable that international money transfers come with costs.
Location: It is very well mentioned on the official website, where Villa Mango Trees is located. If you call it dodgy, maybe your choice of location was wrong and you should have stayed in another, more touristic aerea like Kuta, Legian or Semyniak. Where the villas are located, it is a quiet balinese neighborhood location, the access may be a little bit difficult to find and narrow lanes, but on the other side, it is not one of those drive through streets where you get all the noise of the
motorbikes and cars.
Bed linen: It is correct that beds - due to tropical climate, are set up with bedsheets only. However, Duvet covers are available for all villas upon request, so the only thing to do is to inform staff and they will set up.

Mosquitos: We do live in a tropical climate, there are gardens, so Mosquitos are unavoidable. that is why mosquito repellent as well as mosquito coils are provided and the whole aerea is fogged regularly.

Our plunge pool villa has no kitchen, that is very clearly mentioned in our website, the one bedroom and two bedroom villa do have each a kitchen. Maybe that was a misunderstanding between you as a customer and the travel agent.

The beach is in a 6 minutes walking distance, so are the local fruit and vegetable market, some grocery shops, the famous seafood restaurants etc.

It is also true that streets and allies are small in Bali, from former times, when no cars were available. However we do not understand why you are bothered by balinese people sitting outside, it is their way of socializing and seeing what is going on, it is their home in the end, and we all are their guests.

We also were informed that your transfers were ordered double, again, that must be a misunderstanding with your travel agent and to follow up directly with them.

Overall, we are really sorry that you did not like the location, and do believe, that you probably made the wrong choice in staying in Jimbaran, which is a traditional fishermen's village, with all its pro's and contras! With direct bookings, we always do point out this fact as we are aware that not everybody is ready for this teal traditional and though very balinese approach.

best regards

Management Villa Mango Trees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there with my girl friend and friends. We like the design of the villa, especially the private swimming pool. The stuffs did clean it on the second day, because a lot of fall leaves after a heavy rain night.

The location is not that easy to find, because need to go thru some small road, it's difficult to turn even for a small car.

Overall, the villa is just perfect, especially the couch in the living room. We like to sit there and had our great time.

The only thing that spoilt our mood was there were no water and electricity supply during our stay for a short period. This was due to some maintenance work at jimbaran area.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

It should be Mar 2011 to be exact, and me and my husband, we stayed in 3 different accommodation for our Bali trip and we love this villa the most. The location is not very strategic but it isn't a problem for us since private driver is available, convenient store, market and Jimbaran bay is within walking distance, even taxi to Kuta/Seminyak is also available & it is affordable. The design of the villa is simply nice, very cozy and just feel like home, the private pool is a bonus but we also enjoy lying on the sofa in the open air living room/kitchen area, very relax and this is all Bali about...

Room Tip: The villa is surrounding by tree/plant, meaning insect is every where, if you hates ants/mosquito/sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife and I are about to stay for a second time at Mango Tree Villas having stayed there previously in March 2011. We were so impressed that this time we are are sharing our find with other family members. Yes the villas were hard to find ( they are new and anyway how wonderful in Bali that there are still places that haven't been overrun by tourists) an issue easily solved by taking advantage of the return transfers offered by Andrea. Yes the beds were firm but very similar to many parts of Asia. However the bed and linen were of excellent quality and the Villas as accurately described by other reviewers are amazing.
My wife and I loved the Villas and we particularly loved the area. No there weren't the noisy bars and nightclubs - what a shame! No there weren't the shopping malls and markets - what a shame! No there weren't crowds of aimless boozed and drugged tourists amongst whom you don't feel safe - what a shame! However there was a feel for what Bali used to be like. Yes the villas are located in a traditional Balinese community setting - how wonderful! And yes we spent our time feeling safe wandering the streets and enjoying the local community. We also enjoyed some wonderful meals at the Jimbaran beach restaurants which we look forward to doing again. Most of all we enjoyed the warm hospitality of Andrea and her staff and the outstanding accommodation offered. So my recommendation is to stay in Jimbaran, definitely stay at Mango Tree Villas and read the reviews on Trip Advisor so you know what you are getting.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Arrived here for our honeymoon having prepaid for 7 nights. The villa was nice, with a pool and amenities as described on the website. The bed, was terrible with only a single sheet and generally a terrible quality. Hard and cheap. My first task upon arriving was to kill a massive spider. The staff were friendly but we were a bit dismayed that upon arriving at 10pm, there were no options for food or entertainment of any kind around the area.
We stayed the first night and my wife and I went exploring around the area. There was little for tourists there and once my wife and I had to wander the streets looking for a place to eat, dodging several rats and stray dogs, we decided to relocate to seminyak, where there are options for tourists.
I want to be as fair as possible and say that the villa and staff there were great (save for the bed, which was completely unacceptable at this price) I would not recommend staying in this area. The beaches were dirty, there is nothing for tourists and our correspondance with the owner after we left (having only stayed 1 of 7 nights) would be described as hostile....Stay in Seminyak or Ubud, avoid this area and avoid Mango Tree Villas.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We had chosen Bali as our honeymoon destination and wanted to experience staying in a villa with a private pool. After a thorough research, we chose Mango tree villa as it looked really pretty, has a private pool and the rates were within our budget as well. My wife and I were glad that we opted for mango tree villa from the numerous other villas which are available online.

The villa management had arranged an airport pick up (at a price) and we must have taken around 20 minutes to reach the villa complex from the airport. The approach to the villa from the beach road is pretty narrow and one gets the feeling of “where the hell are we going”. After a few twist and turns we reached the villa complex which brought a lot of relief to us as it was really peaceful, clean and green.

We had booked a 1 bedroom villa and I couldn’t wait to see how it looked like in reality. Well, I have to say that the villa looked exactly like how it is depicted in their website or probably prettier. My wife and I were all smiles when we saw the villa. It was just wonderful especially for the price we paid for it. Just as you enter the villa, there is a small water body (pond like) with fishes in it. The immediate area outside the bedroom (you can consider it as a modified verandah) consisted of a living area with a cozy sofa set & a small table on one side, a dining table in the middle which can accommodate 4 people and a kitchenette on the other end. Though the décor of this area was simple, it gives a relaxed & comfortable feel and all the elements put together made this part of the villa really charming. The kitchenette has all the utensils and culinary equipment you require for cooking and serving a full fledged meal. There is also a proper fridge (thankfully with ice trays) and a drinking water dispensing machine. So one can just buy a couple of water bottles and keep refilling it from the dispenser. The bedroom was of a commendable size and it had a big 2 door wardrobe, a 32” LCD, a dvd player and an iPod docking station. The villa also provides a beach bag, carpet and hat incase you decide to have a beach picnic of your own. You will find them in the wardrobe along with the safety box. The bed was very comfortable but to our surprise, no blankets or quilts were provided. We never bothered to request for one as it was pretty hot (though the split ac of the room was effective) and a simple double sheet (which was provided) was enough for us. I loved the layout of the bathroom, with sinks at both the ends, a black granite tub at the center, a separate enclosure for shower at one end and a toilet area at the other end near the sinks. The basic toiletries were provided in the bathroom. The best part of the villa was undoubtedly the private pool. The pool seems to be in the middle of a miniature garden outlined by many trees and it is definitely a 9m pool as advertized by the villa management. After seeing the pool pictures, one would think that it is just a big bath tub but actually it is a perfect pool for 2 people. A hammock and two pool beds are also provided. The pool and the villa is cleaned daily though the towels are changed only once in 4-5 days which is pointed out through a note kept in the bathroom. The villa at night is even more gorgeous and thankfully the pool has night lights.

The breakfast, which is inclusive in the villa rate, is a healthy one but wouldn’t appeal to the people who prefer eggs, ham, sausages, bacon and the other items that one can find in a buffet breakfast. It consists of a fruit plate (water & musk melon, papaya, banana & mango ;-)), assortment of breads, coffee, butter and 3 varieties of jams. One can always get eggs or maet cold cuts from one of the many grocery stores which are a 5-10 min walk from the villa or you can ask the villa staff to get the same for you. The beach is a 7 min walk from the villa and it is lined with seafood stalls or warungs and beach side restaurants of many good hotels & resorts. The jimbaran beach was a major disappointment as I felt that the beaches of Goa (in India) were better than it. The only good beach with clear blue water in Bali is Geger and Mengiat Beach (and probably dreamland) which are side by side in Nusa dua.

On the day of arrival we were greeted by Nicole, a Swiss national, and she gave us tips for Bali travel and also answered a lot of our questions/queries. The villa staff is very helpful as well. You will also find a file in the bedroom with list of restaurants which deliver food to the villa, car & bike hiring agents, spas, tours and etc. It was pretty handy especially if you haven’t done your homework properly before coming. I would recommend that you book the villa through Nathan hospitality (www.mangotreevillasbali.com) as they provide a free airport pick up unlike the villa management who didn’t offer the same even though we had stayed for 2 nights (they said u should stay 3 nights to avail it) which was the minimum stint during off season. I was dealing with Andrea on this matter and I felt it was poorly handled. I also felt that the villa needs a few touch ups like getting the painting in the verandah fixed (it is cracked), the showpieces in the verandah replaced or cleaned (they were stained with dirt), the black tiles around the swimming pool needs to be properly cleaned and the sink’s water taps need to be firmly fixed (one almost came out when I was using it). If you plan to go to kuta or airport or any other close destination in Bali then please book a blue bird taxi (villa staff can call one for u) and not hire a private car/suv/muv as they cost atleast twice more. A car/suv should only be hired if you want to go exploring many places on the same day like Kuta, Ubud, Uluwatu etc.

I would highly recommend this place to all couples who are looking to have a peaceful and relaxing time in Bali.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mango Tree Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Tree Villas

Address: Jalan Pemelisan Agung | Gang Menega Jati 14B, Jimbaran, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Tree Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Tree Villas, situated in the heart of Jimbaran village, capture the very essence of the Balinese lifestyle with a contemporary elegance accent. The one and two bedroom villas, shaded under old mango trees, are an ideal choice for travellers with a sense of adventure, a passion for authentic surroundings and a thirst for new experiences. The villas are a short walk to Jimbaran market and temple, a five minute stroll to the famous Jimbaran beach and 10 minute drive from the airport or to the shopping and entertainment areas of Kuta and Seminyak. The formal Balinese architecture makes use of local materials, such as white Palimanan stone, teak wood, and Paras river stone, together with wooden iron wooden shingle roofs. Location: Jimbaran village is located on the southern tip of the island of Bali on the slopes of Bukit Peninsula. The white sandy beaches of Jimbaran bay are only 15-minute drive from the famous Uluwatu temple, Nusa Dua and Kuta Beach. Jimbaran is a great fishing village with stunning white-sand beach that is considered to be one of the Bali’s most beautiful beaches. The village is admired with families for its gentle tides, dramatic sunsets, brightly painted fishing boats and numerous famous beachfront seafood restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Mango Tree Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Tree Villas Bali/Jimbaran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Tree Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.