We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice seafood meal with sunset thrown in!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Matahari Cafe

New Matahari Cafe
Jl. Pantai Kedonganan, Jimbaran, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 856-3783-170
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 141 Restaurants in Jimbaran
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Terrigal, Australia
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Nice seafood meal with sunset thrown in!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We came here on the recommendation of our hotel concierge. Had a table on the very front with a nice view of the sunset and great for people watching. We chose some nice seafood which was very nicely cooked, had a couple of bintangs, had a soup to start with, fruit to finish with, finger bowls to clean our hands in! The Legong Dancers were good enough and the firework show is always good fun. Staff was courteous, efficient and attentive. Our total cost was $65 aud and would have easily cost 4 times that amount back home.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    38
    27
    31
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food, beautiful atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We came here for lunch, which is a stark contrast to the busy candle lit dinners Jimbaran Bay is famous for. It was so peaceful and we had the beach all to ourselves.

The food is very well cooked, and certainly at the higher end of the scale compared to other warungs along this strip, the service is friendly and welcoming, and the venue is clean for beach cafe standards.

We found the food at this end of the bay was a little dearer than that at the middle section, but compared to what we would pay at home, it was very reasonably priced.

Would I eat here again? Definitely.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced food, no taste, bad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Our driver took us there, so we thougt this restaurant should be great. But we were wrong. After we order the food, it took about half an hour until served to us. But the food are cold. And our prawn served after another half an hour waiting (it is also cold)
The food has no taste, thanks to "sambal" so it tastes better.
The price is like too high. Way to high for that kind of taste. You should consider visit your chef to consult.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanguru, Public Relations Manager at New Matahari Cafe, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear guests New Moon Cafe, we apologize for not good is our service during your visit dinner at our restaurant, we will immediately reformation from now, so that our future can be better, and also for the future of our restaurant as well as the family of our staff who where very dependent with your review,,,, my regards to your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dinner by the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Even if the food is priced by the kilo, you can opt to buy less. I was surprised when they served my food with rice on this small basket. I thought it was just a cup or two but it was more than that. There were Balinese dancers performing for the customers that time and you can take pictures with them after their show. One thing though, they don't serve house/service water. When I asked for a glass of water, the waiter told me they only have a bottle.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Our driver took us there after we asked him where he recommended. We paid $140 australian for 1kg lobster and 1kg fish and 4 beers (All average). After leaving we looked at reviews and it confirmed our suspicion. We should have done our research so have no one to blame but ourselves. Much better and better priced places around. Don't go.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanguru, Guest Relations Manager at New Matahari Cafe, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear guests New Moon Cafe, we apologize for not good service during your visit dinner at our restaurant, we will immediately reformation from now, so that our future can be better, and also for the future of our restaurant as well as the family of our staff who where very dependent with your review,,,, my regards to your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Matahari Cafe also viewed

 

Been to New Matahari Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Matahari Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.