We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view, average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Matahari Cafe

New Matahari Cafe
Jl. Pantai Kedonganan, Jimbaran, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 856-3783-170
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 141 Restaurants in Jimbaran
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Jakarta
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awesome view, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We got full service started with pick ups and dropp off at our hotel in Grand Hyatt Nusa Dua. I can say the service is excellent, the food is average and the price I can say it's quite pricy (Come on, It's Bali).
But I can see they're trying their best in the food preparation- too bad when we're there they don't have any life fish- don't know why.

I think they have to pay lot's of money to rent the space/place to government that's why the price is quite expensive (for me). I ask some of their employees to get better info on what's driving the price, they did confirm that all 21 restaurant in Jimbaran has the same price for each kind of food- they say it's the agreed terms. That's why I get the impressions, the government is driving all the price. But, considering you're in Bali and sea food is best when you have it next to the beach, right?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    38
    27
    31
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“NEVER EAT HERE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My partner and I went to jimbaran bay for a romantic dinner, this is where our driver pulled in so we thought we would try it out, it started off with a poor variety on the menu then to my girlfriend receiving an incorrect meal, my meal didn't come until 20 mins after my partner had finish eating they had even handed us the bill before my meal came.
Everything was highly expensive and eating here ruined our day, do yourself a favour and eat else where

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanguru, Guest Relations Manager at New Matahari Cafe, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear guests New Moon Cafe, we apologize for not good service during your visit dinner at our restaurant, we will immediately reformation from now, so that our future can be better, and also for the future of our restaurant as well as the family of our staff who where very dependent with your review,,,, my regards to your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Starting off with a fresh coconut milk...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

...served by very friendly and pampering staff Nick and her colleagues who make sure that you feel in heaven. If you are quick you will also have one of the four deck chairs just in front of your table. A shower is available next to New Moon.
You can enjoy freshly cooked and delicious sea food partly at European rates accompanied by tasty vegetables. Wine is more costly then in Europe as it is imported so I stuck to beer. Big bottles of water are not on the menu but are available if you ask.
When leaving charming Meikel will organize you a driver within seconds.
I will be definitely back in June.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Alabama
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Excellent table on the beach.Great friendly staff.Food was nice.The grilled fish was excellent and the Lobster was nice.The oysters were my favorite. The margaritas were ok. All this for around $115 US dollars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice location to enjoy sunset dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Walking along the 4 km long Jimbaran beach, we got here to get a drink during. The atmosphere was very nice and the sunset was going on, so we decided to stay for dinner. At the entrance we choose some nice fresh fish to get BBQ. Beware of what you choose or you end up with something that you dont like. Our fish was good grilled on the BBQ so no complaints. Althouigh the food is of average quality, the relaxing atmosphere and the scenery is a great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Matahari Cafe also viewed

 

Been to New Matahari Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Matahari Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.