We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful coastal scenery.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Balangan Sea View Bungalow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Balangan Sea View Bungalow to your Saves list
Balangan Sea View Bungalow
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Jl.Pantai Balangan no 2 Cengiling | Badung, Jimbaran, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful coastal scenery.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I'm staying here with family a few months ago., This bungalows is quite comfortable, there is also a swimming pool to cool the body. beautiful scenery around this place. Standard rooms, a fan so much fun especially my daughter, have continued to swim even though it was night.
Breakfast is good, provided coffee, tea and others.
It's fun...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    44
    35
    23
    10
See reviews for
23
45
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed there because another booking screwed up. It's a simply guesthouse and you get a room according to the price. Lots of surfers stay there. I stayed at the newer building and not in a bungalow. Bed was ok. Shower with cold water and no curtain between toilette and shower, as usual in such guesthouses. It was clean but had no charm Food was ok but not special. You can easily walk down to the surf beach which is in my opinion not really nice for swimming, there are lots of local cafe's. Only one younger person of the staff was relatively friendly. The transport they sell there is overpriced.

I had in general the impression, that prices raised in Bali. For 400'000.- IDR you are not getting a good value anymore in any tourist areas. Or you have really to search for. I met as well lots of locals who were not that friendly as you are always told about Bali.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had a good time staying at Balangan Beach but did find it a bit far from everything when we only had a scooter to get around on. Rooms were quite nice, combined shower and toilet was a bit strange though. No hot water either which my partner wasn't too keen on. Rooms have a little bar fridge and lockable cupboard. Bit of a walk through a paddock and down stairs to the beach, but it is lovely and had some good waves during our stay. Restaurant was nice but no free breakfast so our bill added up quickly. Best dinner we had was down the road at the la Joya restaurant. I felt Balangan bungalows were a little overpriced considerin the facilities and location and I think I'd stay at uluwatu next time.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port macqurie,australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We moved to Sea View for one night after checking out of Flowerbud (for reasons why, please refer to my review of Flowerbud).
As per the last reviewer, it's not the prettiest of buildings however it was A: clean, B: enclosed, C: big (in room AND bed size) and D: it had a nice dining area with a pool table to entertain us while it poured down rain.
We found the staff to be accommodating and the food good and cheap.
We probably wouldn't stay any more than 2 nights however it was a good 'port in a storm'.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Prior to our trip, I was debating over Flower Bud and Sea View Bungalow. With all the positive reviews favoring Flower Bud, i went with them. On arrival, Flower Bud was a huge let down, there was nothing to praise for, the accommodation was inadequate, dirty and provided zero comfort ! (for more information see my Flower Bud review). There was no way for my husband and 2 kids to spend the night there. We are not fussy, but this was way off our limit. We left and went across to Sea View Bungalow.
"....We saw the ugliest building ever built in Bali and some big grey square concrete or brick structures with absolutely no taste or anything Balinese to it. Unfortunately, this is where we ended up staying, since all their new rooms were in that building....." We didn't even bother to ask for a bungalow at this point after seeing the Flower Bud, i knew we should just go straight to the new block, get a (basic but) clean room with an air con - at this point, i knew the heat and humidity and the general LACK OF COMFORT in the Balangan area. So we ended up in the concrete block which has absolutely no charm whatsoever, but provided a clean bed and cold water shower. BREAKFAST : not included, really not a warm gesture. I wouldn't paying a little bit more on the room rate and have breakfast included, that would make me feel more hospitable (bad management). FOOD : An upside, the food was not bad though, we had dinner there and found the food tasty, reasonably priced and the cook is flexible in menu, you can request her to prepare to your liking. STAFF : laid back and somehow rude (or is it what they learnt from the foreigners), nevertheless you do get what you ask for eventually, but this is no Thai hospitality. POOL : too small to its room ratio, because they added the new block. LOCATION : Great ocean view with natural setting on a plateau that leads onto the cliff overlooking Balangan Beach. That's probably the only reason to be here. But for a more stunning ocean view and location and better comfort, I will pay more and head to Bingin !

Room Tip: If you are booking a room from the new block, ask for 1A,it is on the side and has good open view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Ok I will admit I am also partly one, however it feels weird to come all the way to Indonesia to hear Parisians talking next to you as if you were in the French Riviera. When I arrived at Balangan, initially to go to Flowerbud next door, I saw the ugliest building ever built in Bali, or so I thought. They have a few more close to Uluwatu. Some big grey square concrete or brick structures with absolutely no taste or anything Balinese to it. Unfortunately, this is where we ended up staying, since all their new rooms were in that building. The bungalows were already booked. We soon realize they had forgotten to supply us with towels and toilet paper. The service seemed already suspect before that. When I decided to book a room for the night, the reception lady shouted at me "can't you see I'm busy sir!".... Then when I finally spoke to her and asked her to show me the room one more time ( we had come earlier but looked around in the meantime), she yelled again: "You saw the room already sir!!"... I already had my dose of poor service and unprofessional-ism for the day ( see my flowerbud review) so I didn't want to raise my voice in return. I just said, "sorry but I saw so many rooms today I can't remember". Now the pool area: It's too crammed. The bungalows are overlooking the pools, the restaurant as well, and you feel as if everyone is watching everyone else, a feeling I didn't get in any other place I stayed at in Bali. Could it be because I was surrounded by frenchies, or was it the fact they didn't feel comfortable in or by the pool either? The upside is, the rooms are not expensive (300,000 roopia) but breakfast is not included. As for the food it's better than at Flowerbud, but nothing out of the ordinary.

The beach area now looks like the old Dreamland. All the warungs have moved to Balangan. Now Balangan feels like what Dreamland used to be. Unfortunately the lack of sewage system means a lot of that used and dirty water gets thrown in the ocean, and all the plastic trashes are burned next to the beach, with the toxic fume for breakfast. The upside is, for a surfer, Balangan gets great quality waves and as long as the plastic trashes from Java (The Balinese blame Java but who knows where it comes from?) are not floating around in the lineup, it's still a great place to be.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed in this place for 2 nights, august 2011. Yes it is the high-season, but 400.000 IDR for a room (after talking it down from 450.000) for a very simple room in the story block in the back, breakfast not included, simple room, no charm what so ever, is just not what we enjoy. We were very disappointed with the unfriendly, western, instead of Balinese service. Then there were the 'service people' supposedly working for the hotel. They were nothing but husslers that tried to be friendly, but were only after you money, which is not uncommon, but their false and aggressive way was. If you are a good surfer and don't mind to pay a little extra, this place will do. It is close to the beach and the restaurant and pool are nice. We will however not come back here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balangan Sea View Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balangan Sea View Bungalow

Address: Jl.Pantai Balangan no 2 Cengiling | Badung, Jimbaran, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balangan Sea View Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Balangan Sea View Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balangan Sea View Bungalow Hotel Jimbaran
Balangan Sea View Bungalow Bali/Jimbaran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balangan Sea View Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.