We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with the girls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali to your Saves list
The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali
Tiara Nusa, Goa Gong Road, Jimbaran, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great stay with the girls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Big birthday celebrations with girlfriends so house was suitable I do agree with other reviewer that the house does have a damp smell in some areas and a bit far in regards to travel and certainly not able to walk anywhere from the house, but suitable for anyone who does not want to be in Kuta area.
Best part for me was chilling by the pool and luckily the weather was reasonable for our trip, just wished the doors to the bedrooms had sliding screens so that the rooms could be open for some fresh air.
Staff where very helpful breakfast was fantastic even the seafood BBQ was superb local snapper and the calamari was a plentiful.
Van and driver a must we where 12 in total so had to arrange a second car the other driver was by no means friendly Ecko the house driver was great.
To Heppy and Areu Terima kasih banyak

Room Tip: Main bedroom which is upstairs is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed in The Longhouse for one week the last week of the year 2012. We were with 8 adults and 4 children. The best part of the house is the swimming pool!The location is nice but far away from Kuta etc. As the building on the road continues it might take you 1 1/2hr to go to other places from Jimbaran. To be honest we were disappointed upon arrival. The best night was New years Eve when we ate downstairs in the garden and the fire works at night. The staff had made a real effort to make it a party. The house is very dark and at night time there is hardly any lighting in the living area to do any reading etc. The movie room might look very nice on the website however the room is smelly and damp. Our kids were excited the first 5 minutes and than complained they could hardly breathe in there. I suggest they put a dehumidifier in there at all times. The cleanliness of the villa has to be questioned. Underneath our bed there was so much dust and gekko droppings which is very unhygienic. If you see they don't really clean they just go around furniture. The cleaning staff is also questionable as when I walked in to my room I saw the cleaner holding some photographs from me that were at my desk and he was going through them. Needless to say I was not amused. The laundry is not good at all, they ruined two very good dresses of mine and besides that the laundry smells horrible. Sigarette smoke and musty. My bed linnen had lots of tears at all times and stank so much that I had to spray perfume on the sheets. Often I didn't get new towels or new toilet rolls. The food is very good but only at night time when the chef is there in the morning they should instruct their cook not to smoke in the kitchen. There is a lot to be desired in this area. The manager was often not "on site" and this is I think the pitfall of this place. The staff do their own thing and there fore are deprived of instruction. The staff is friendly hence a bit too over familiar in my opinion.
This villa is not suitable for children due to safety. The pictures and the text on the website might make you think that the high price is acceptable unfortunately this is in my opinion not true. The rates do not make up for the service & cleanliness you get. As I am from the hotel business my hands are itching this villa could do so much better in many area's.

Room Tip: The big room upstairs with the own private swimmingpool smelled the least probably cause this one is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l1nda1, Owner at The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Jumans,
It was our pleasure to welcome you and your family to the Longhouse. Our 16 staff members take great pride in giving their very best efforts to ensure that all of our guests have a wonderful stay. Your father and stepmother booked our villa for a family treat over the New Year period. We are so very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and we sincerely hope that your opinion was not shared by the rest of your group.

We always take any criticism that we receive in a positive way in order to constantly improve our service, however, since you have chosen to make some very negative comments in a public forum we feel the need to respond to some of the key issues you raised.

1. Our staff does not smoke in the kitchen nor in any area that would affect the guests in the villa. We do use the kitchen every morning to assemble our canang floral offering baskets which are placed throughout the villa including the kitchen. This is a Balinese tradition. Each basket contains a stick of incense and we believe it is this that you mistook for cigarette smoke. We are sorry if we did not clarify this at the time.

2. Our hardworking villa manager is on site 99% of the time when guest are resident unless villa business requires him to go out. He only goes home to sleep. Ruddy enjoyed chatting with your step mother on many occasions and gave her many suggestions for the day trips you took which she seemed to be very happy with. In each room we have list of 16 things to do and see within 15-20 minutes of the Longhouse, so although it is fun to see other areas of the island, it is not necessary for guests who do not wish to spend too much time in the car to do so.

3. It was Ruddy, our villa manager, who orchestrated the New Year's eve alfresco dinner party complete with Balinese decorations, handmade by our staff and fireworks to entertain you as well as the usual New Years Eve trumpets.. You may not be aware, but all of this was done complimentary and with our very warmest wishes for a wonderful new year for you and your family.

4. Our staff happily looked after the children when you went out with other group members. If you really thought that our villa was unsafe, we don’t think that you would have felt comfortable leaving them. Our staff enjoyed getting to know your children and we hope they enjoyed spending time with our staff. Most parents who come with young children say that the Longhouse was a great family holiday since they were able to relax knowing that their kids were having a great time safely as well.

5. Cleanliness and a sweet smelling villa is a priority for us. Rooms are cleaned twice a day. We find it surprising to hear that you had torn sheets especially since we recently renewed our sheets and towels and yours were changed once at day at your request, but if you had pointed this out to the staff they would have corrected this error in a flash. We have notified our housekeeping staff to increase their vigilance.

6. Lastly, from almost every room in the Longhouse you will experience soaring views of the rest of Bali island. We have 8 meter high ceilings on the upper level and ceilings just under 3 meters in the rooms below. The Longhouse is 1229.5 square meters and has been described as “a masterpiece of tropical design” We were featured on the cover of Popo Danes’s book on architecture. Our villa has earned many other accolades. We really do not understand your description of “dark and claustrophobic”. (?)

These were the major points that we felt we must address but will be happy to come back in more detail if anyone has any further queries about the issues raised.

We wish you a lovely 2013 and hope that in the New Year you will find peace and happiness. If in the future you decide to give Bali and the Longhouse another chance we will welcome you with an open heart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This review is well overdue as we stayed here in April 2012. My family got together for our parents joint 60th celebrations and whilst I was a bit concerned about staying here with the entire family it was ill-founded.

The layout of the villa is over three storeys and has so many rooms, areas and space that there is plenty of privacy to be found.

We arrived over 3 different flights and the drivers all picked us up and delivered us to the villa without any issues. We were all so impressed from the moment we arrived to our reluctant departure.

I can’t add much to what is already here but it was simply an amazing stay and I would recommend it to anyone!

The facilities are first class and the equal of any 5 star hotel or resort in Bali. The staff give personalised attention and service. We had some young children as part of the group including a 1 year old. Whenever he got whingey the staff would take him for a walk and feed the fish or play with him for hours. Giving my sister and her husband a very good break.

On our final night we organised a birthday party in the gardens. The staff moved everything to the garden, set up beautiful candles in the garden and provided us with a veritable feast of fresh seafood and the finest steaks. All staff (day and night shifts) were on hand and they gave us a fireworks show that lasted for 5-6 minutes and was spectacular especially with the breathtaking views that the villa has over all of Bali.

Whether it was the evening sunsets over Bali, watching kites from the beach, planes landing and taking off – it was so relaxing and peaceful.

Amazing people who made the holiday amazing!!!

Room Tip: Every room in this villa is superb - each with its own unique features
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a great spot if you want to relax and enjoy the local surroundings and culture.... I am yet to experience "bad service" at a villa in Bali but the Longhouse staff are second to none and truly made our holiday. My wife and I stayed by ourselves for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon before going to Amanusa for 2 nights. At the end of our stay, I mentioned to Ruddy the villa manager our plans, it came out that he had previously worked at Amanwana in Bali and this is the level of service you can expect from his staff at the Longhouse.. unintrusive, friendly, attentive and at every level go the extra step to make your stay special. The food is excellent, my wife asked the chef how he prepared one of the local dishes and the next day he offered to take us to the various markets and give us a cookery class which we did, now while Im sure you can arrange these kind of activities pretty much anywhere in Bali, the manner in which this was done was impressive, done at a seconds notice and just keen for us to enjoy our stay and when I tried to pay for the class I was point blank refused.. "please tell your friends to come next time." Same story for going to the beach, visiting a local temple, organised instantly with a very friendly driver... you do what you feel like doing without having to organise a thing.. and for me that equals holiday. As for the villa.. its all modern, comfortable, tastefully furnished and as appears on their website.. but the longhouse is all about the extras a website doesnt show

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We visited the Longhouse in September 2012 with 4 families (8 adults, 4 children). The longhouse is more than you could expect from the imagery and description on the website. The staff are amazing, caring, attentive and thoughtful. The food is absolutely delicious and cheap cheap cheap if you get the staff to purchase and cook local cuisine. The accommodation is spacious, luxurious and super comfortable. The ammenities are top class - we had a revolving door into the day spa with each getting a plethora of facials, massage, manicures and pedicures! The infinity lap pool that over looks a sensational view of mainland Bali is breathtaking and encourages you to laze throughout the day and watch the world go by in the peace and tranquility of the Longhouse. We loved our stay and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Rented the whole place to ourselves. The staff were super friendly, caring and knowledgeable. The chef was constantly whipping up fantastic meals according to what we order and the food is always fresh. The Babysitter was engaged. The chauffeur takes us anytime we want to anywhere. We could t ask for anything more. There was a private Balinese dance arranged for us and fireworks as well just for us in the villa. Everything was just magical. Highly recommended! Want to come back again someday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

When we walked into the place earlier than check in time the staff were very welcoming and our jaws were left open with how amazing the place was from the pool and rooms to the beautiful panoramic view of southern bali. We stayed for 5 days with a group of 11 people and it would have to be one of the best places I have stayed at. The staff were a real highlight from the chefs and butlers through to the driver and cleaners. The food that was prepared for us was to die for and we just couldn't get enough of it from a seafood extranvangza to what felt like a three course breakfast! We all used the spa regularly and the massages were great and added some extra relaxation to the stay. We regularly headed out into Jimbaran to see what was on offer and the driver was always giving tips and places to go. It is a very pretty area and is worth getting out and about to see some of the areas highlights especially the beaches. Everything about this place just left us not wanting to leave and us talking about it constantly when we got back. I don't think there was one low point for the whole time we were there! Would definitely recommend this place, it is amazing!

Room Tip: This would be a great place to bring a large family, group of friends or similar. There is 6 room e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali

Address: Tiara Nusa, Goa Gong Road, Jimbaran, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 Bedroom Luxury Villa with incredible view and 16 amazing friendly staff including car and driver, in house activities, 2 chefs, villa manager, butlers, housekeeping etc. Rooms are themed after Indonesian Islands. Excellent food and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longhouse Bali Hotel Jimbaran
The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Longhouse, Jimbaran-Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.