We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool setting and close to the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan to your Saves list
Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Balangan Beach Street, Jimbaran, Bali 80364, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Jimbaran
Saratoga, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cool setting and close to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My friends and I decided to stay at Flower Bud Bungalows for 2 nights during our recent trip to Bali. Though I have stayed on the Uluwatu Peninsula many times, this was my first time at Balangan Beach. We were very pleased with Flower Bud and what it had to offer.

We were given the Jepun Bungalow, which slept 4 people. The bungalow had a nice outdoor deck with seating. It was open air and had a very rustic feel. The bungalow had 2 levels and was small for 4 people, but unique. There was a double bed upstairs and one downstairs, along with an outdoor bathroom.

We liked how each unit was unique and unlike the others. We also enjoyed the common areas, like the pool, tables, restaurant, and massage area. I think it would be a lot of fun for children to stay here. The beach was a quick walk from the grounds. The staff was friendly and helpful, but also gave you privacy. You can arrange for many activities and taxis at the restaurant.

We arranged for a taxi to Uluwatu Temple and a few other places around Jimbaran. Since Flower Bud is quite remote and in a natural surrounding, I would recommend having a car or motorbike. However, the staff did a nice job arranging everything for us too.

The food was decent, but a bit expensive. The massage services were good. We really enjoyed the overall atmpshere of Flower Bud. It is a place for people who enjoy the outdoors and basic amenities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Goen, Director of Sales at Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear TravelGirlKate,

Greetings from Flower Bud Bungalow Balangan.

Thank you for staying with us.
We highly appreciated your review to us and we will keep improving our standard of service to ensure your satisfaction and other guests in the future.

Once again thank you for your contribution to the development of our accommodation.
Look forward to your booking and stay with us.

Sincerely yours,

Gde Gunada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    85
    28
    13
    7
See reviews for
39
80
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just had three nights at beautiful balangan beach..what afind!
Stayed at flower bud bungalows 1 and was everything was expecting. Great for adventurous families who fancy staying in tree like bungalows. Very rustic with cold water pipe shower under the stars. Beautiful pool and friendly staff. Good value for money conveniently located and a fun start to our holiday.

Room Tip: Choose bigger bungalows at front if you have family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Goen, Director of Sales at Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Karlterry,

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to find out that you enjoyed your stay with us and happy to hear that you like our rustic bungalow concept. This concept are offered to people who seek for adventurous beach live.

Once again thank you for your stay with us and look forward to your next stay.

Best regards,

Gde Gunada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We ended up here even if it was slightly expensive for our budget (46$/night) but for one night it was worth it. Never saw such a pretty bungalow, super comfy, cold water shower in the back with the toilet, comfy bed with net, wardrobe, sofas on the patio outside. They even provide mosquito repellent.
The pool was nice as well, and the place is at a short walk from the beach. We stayed at FlowerBud 2, which they say it's a lot nicer and quieter than number 1.
The food was nice as well and portions were quite reasonable, even if - I repeat myself - a little bit expensive.
The staff was very nice and helpful and they even have an open air SPA right next to the pool.
Balangan Beach is very nice, try to walk to the southern side where there is a small beach in between the small cliffs. Beautiful - but be aware: not a place for swimmers!
Inexperienced surfers can enjoy staring at the better performers out in the waves... waiting for the sunset!
Definitely worth to come here for a couple of days to relax instead of wasting time in the horrible capital of consumerism named Kuta...!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

When we first came to Balangan six years ago we stayed at Flowerbud 1 (there was no Flowerbud 2 then). We loved it and were really happy when our travel plans included a trip back to Bali so we could once again stay at Flowerbud. What a mistake. Expansion has not been good for Flowerbud. The prices have really increased - for both food and accommodation - and the staff has gotten downright rude. The food was overpriced for the small tasteless portions.

Balangan itself is much more built up now with many, many bungalows and hotels to choose from and Flowerbud was mostly empty while we were there (July - high season) but the area itself was really busy. The staff at Flowerbud tried to get more money every time we got near them and we ended up paying 10$ per night more for the room than we were quoted. We should have just walked away at checkin.

There are many, many other better, more reasonably priced options with better facilities now at Balangan. Flowerbud has no sea view, no hot water, no A/C, no TV and the continental breakfast consists of two or three pieces of fruit and one small piece of toast (cut in three pieces to make it look like more!)

Needless to say, we won't be coming back to Flowebud again.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I and My friend have 3 times come to Flowerbud. and this is the first time I stayed at Flowerbud 2. The place is very interesting. I really like this place. quieter than Flowerbud 1. has a nice pool, garden was very green. I stayed in double room. very comfortable for me. but one thing I don't like is the man as cleaning service who are less polite to the friends. how he can appreciate to the Guests if he can't appreciate with own friend? very unprofessional if a company like Flowerbud lowered by one person on staff. the staff must be polite at work. I hope the staff will be read this comment and understand what I mean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed four nights @ Flowerbud ll and didn't want to leave. What a perfect place to totally unwind and get back to basics. Gorgeous rustic bungalows, lovely staff and delicious food! The chef worked hard to cook us something special each night. Kids loved the surf & pancakes! Would be handy to have a small fridge in the bungalows. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay here on the second leg of our trip in order to be at Balangan Beach. For people who are not familiar with this area, this is not a place to stay if you want to be in the centre of nightlife.
In any case, waking up in the morning and going down the steps to surf at Balangan in 3 minutes was great! Flower Bud II is made up of rustic cute bungalows in a pristine garden with a nice pool. It's a bit like camping (you can hear the wind, the cows, the rooster in the morning and sometimes a gecko says hello in your veranda) so if you like the idea this is the plce for you. The place was well equipped against mosquitos (bed net, incense..). The bathroom is an outside Balinese one, with shower under the stars. The pool bar offers food and drinks and it's quite good if you don't feel like going out. Very relaxing stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan

Address: Balangan Beach Street, Jimbaran, Bali 80364, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Jimbaran
#19 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic rustic Balinese traditional beach bungalows close to Balangan Beach Our Bungalows built with mostly natural bamboo, wood and natural stones. Restaurant, Sharing pool, Spa and massage, tour service, rental bike/scooters and car. See you there...!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan Hotel Jimbaran
Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan Bali/Jimbaran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flower Bud Bungalows Balangan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.