We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, quiet location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate to your Saves list
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Karang Mas Sejahtera | 100Y, Jimbaran, Bali 80362, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Last unit for Peak season
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Jimbaran
victoria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great service, quiet location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We stayed at the Gending Kedis from July 16th to July 23rd.

I booked the Gending Kedis (GK) online and had several online conversations with the staff before our arrival. I arranged spa treatments and airport pickup online with no problems. I found the GK web site and very helpful and user friendly.

Upon arrival our family was collected from the airport and treated to cold water and towels that were appreciated after a 90-minute customs/ immigration line. Upon arrival, more cold towels and drinks. Check in was swift and friendly.

Our Villa: We booked the Sliangjana 2 that was perfect for a family with children. Both bedrooms are side by side on the upper floor. Our villa was a few steps from the complex pool, lobby, restaurant and Gym. This was an ideal location as we used the larger pool often as it had late day sun. As mentioned in other reviews we found the villa spacious and well appointed with all the comforts of home.

The hotel: The grounds were very well maintained with staff working to collect leaves and trim grass etc. I used the gym daily and found it well equipped. You never have to wait for a piece of equipment here as I only saw one other person using the gym during our stay. If you run you will like the treadmill as running on the streets in Bali is very dangerous!

We used the GK restaurant and found the food good and the prices reasonable. We took advantage of the GK beach club at Jimbaran Beach. The GK has an arrangement with a local beachfront restaurant that supplies GK lounge chairs and umbrellas. Good location for kids as the waves are small but still provide for good boogie boarding fun. The staff serves you cold Bintang Beer for 25000 r. (about 2.75 Canadian) and the food is also reasonable and good.

The Spa: My wife booked a five-day package and found the spa very good.

Service: In my view, the best thing about the GK was the service. Staff was excellent providing a level of service that was outstanding and professional. Staff remembers your name; they are helpful and are always smiling. The GK deserves thumbs up here!

My only complaint ( if you can call it a complaint) was the pool water in our villa pool was cold as our villa did not get allot of direct sunlight. This was not a problem as we used the complex pool that was a perfect temperature and was never busy. Most days we have the pool to ourselves.

Location: If you like peace and quiet you will like the GK. If you are looking for action, head to Kuta.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your very detailed and descriptive review following your holiday at the 2-bedroom Silangjana villa. This bird is the Pied Bushchat. Pleased to read that you made daily use of the gym, and you may be interested that we have now added more quality equipment. Pleased also that you found the resort's Beach Club convenient, and that your wife enjoyed her treatments at the MALKOHA spa.
Finally, a sincere thank you for your very generous remarks relating to the service from the resort staff. We all hope you will return and stay with us again in the future.
With kindest regards, Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    57
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
76
132
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

GK is set in the hillside, up the road from Four Seasons Jimbaran (whr we stayed previously) and the beach. Beautifully landscaped complex with views of the tropical forests in the valleys around it. Looked at other villas like C2, C151, Serene but wanted a 3 room villa for 3 adults and 3 kids (13,9 &7) which was part of a larger complex with a central pool and a restaurant (this one's 24hrs!). The 3 room Cherida 2 villa is nr the main building so didn't hv to climb the many steps. It's dble storey and huge with its own pool, fully-equipped kitchen, dining room, 2 living rooms, huge plasma TV, free wifi and 2 ensuite bathrooms with bathtubs in 2 of them. The ID is tasteful & luxurious. We got a big discount off internet rates, direct from the hotel wh included transfers, breakfasts & 2 hr spas etc. for all. The management and staff were very friendly and helpful and arranged a birthday cake surprise for one of us. The F&B is inexpensive, delicious esp the pancakes and had a wide range suitable for kids. The spa treatment was exquisite. Kids had a great time borrowing and watching many DVDs from the hotel collection. There's a brand new gym too. Depending on what is expected - The complex is small, unassuming & quiet (unlike eg Grand Hyatt, Nusa Dua), a bit remote (ie. not in the heart of busy Seminyak or Kuta shops/bars) like the Suma/lamu villa in Canggu area (where we also stayed previously). This makes GK very classy, private and exclusive. No shops nearby but shd be easy and inexpensive to get a taxi to and from the hotel to the shops. We had a wonderful and memorable stay. Many thanks to the 5 star management and staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
It was wonderful to read in your review that your 3 children thoroughly enjoyed their holiday in Bali. Thank you very much for your detailed round-up of the facilities available in the 3-bedroom CHERIDA villa - it is satisfying to hear that it all worked well for your family group. We hope that you will return to GK as we are a fairly short hop from KL; alternatively your children may persuade you to choose the more bustling Seminyak, in which case we would invite you to try our KANISHKA villas!
With kindest regards from all of us at GK Resorts, Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed at Gending Kedis for 3 nights in a Silangjana villa. Our villa was very close to the lobby and main pool (some other villas take a minute to walk to). We were very impressed with the size of the villa. It was exactly as described on the website. Two bedrooms upstairs with a living room and kitchen downstairs. The pool was very nice and refreshing. It was big enough to swim back and forth. WiFi connection was reliable and decent speed. The staff was very helpful and did not forget about any request we had. They always rang the doorbell before entering our villa. We called ahead to make sure we could get a ride to the beach or to another resort and they always came and picked us up right away to bring us home. They even arranged a driver for us to go to Seminyak and Uluwatu Temple. Morning breakfast was decent and never crowded. We did not eat at the Alcedo restaurant because we went to the Jimbaran Bay seafood market (great if you like fresh seafood but your clothes will smell like smoke for days) and the Ayana resort for dinner (beautiful huge resort with multiple tasty restaurants). Our 2 hour free massage was very nice. They finished with a body scrub and had a bath and shower waiting at the end. Airport transfer was great (about 15 minute drive). Beware that the Bali airport customs process is horrific (very unorganized). You will save some time if you buy your visa before arriving. It took us 45-60 minutes coming and going just for customs and it wasn't even busy season! I would recommend staying in the Jimbaran Bay area if you want a safe relaxing area (although you have to get a ride to most places). Kuta and Seminyak are very busy and too touristy for me. I would definitely stay at Gending Kedis again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comprehensive review of your stay at the 2-bedroom Silangjana villa. We are happy to hear that the layout of the 2 bedrooms upstairs suited your needs.
We agree with your suggestion to buy the visa in advance to speed up immigration clearance, as delays can be frustrating. We in the Bali Hotels Association are working to lobby the Airport Authorities to streamline immigration and customs services for the benefit of visitors. Thank you again for your very informative review, and it is wonderful to read that you would consider our resort for a future Bali holiday. We shall certainly guarantee you a warm welcome! With best wishes from me and all our team, Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

The Gending Kedis definitely surpassed our expectations. After being in Bali over 20 years ago, I spent much time laboriously reading reviews of hotels so that I could make a great choice for our vacation! I felt I had made some good choices, and Gending Kedis was just that!
Beautiful, stylish, welcoming and modern with all the amenities. We absolutely loved every minute of it! We had a 2BR with private pool, which was absolutely amazing.
My husband and I were completely amazed with the space and accommodations. It was truly spectacular. (Even had IPOD stereo and your own water cooler!)
The complimentary breakfast was great, with lots of choices. The transportation was not used by us, but we did go to Kuta and Legian a few times in other cabs, it hardly costs a thing!
We loved the location being very quiet and peaceful, but you're close enough to take a cab ride into Kuta for some beach night life and dinner!
The owner was very nice and wanted to truly make sure we had a great time, and enjoyed our stay there.
I do suggest if you are travelling to another city, you arrange your own taxi to pick you up, as it is a much better deal. We hired a taxi to take us to UBUD and saved a lot of money that way.
All in all, we can't wait to go back hopefully with our kids someday! I would definitely stay here without a second thought~ LOVED it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Apologies for a very tardy response from us to your lovely review.

Thank you very much for taking your time to write such a glowing description of our resort; it is noted that you hoped to return to Bali again - and that the first visit was over 20 years ago!

Should you decide to make plans for a future holiday on The Island of the Gods, please feel free to contact myself or our reservations for any assistance we can render, and kindly be advised that we now have our Kanishka Villas in Seminyak as a great option for you.

Thank you again for your great review. Warm wishes from me and our team at GK Resorts!

Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Stayed in a two bedroom villa for six nights. Villa was very roomy and nice. The area is so quiet and pretty you can definitely relax. The spa is outstanding and "Anis" is just excellent at her job. You need to be in good shape because there are a lot of stairs and you need to be able to deal with frogs, ants, and sometimes large geckos because of the open air bathrooms (which I don't care for). There were times we ran out of hot water but it was of no consequence. There needs to be better drainage for the shower because the bathrooms get rather wet. The tub is nice looking but not comfortable. Bathrooms need more hooks to hang towels or robes. Rooms need brighter lighting.

Food is good. My only complaint with the restaurant is you have to constantly ask for coffee refills or water. After two days of knowing what we ask for you would think the staff would remember the next day but they don't. They need to ask customers if they need anything or if everything is ok while dining.

If you like going into town (Kuta or Seminyak) often Gending Kedis is not convenient. Traffic in and out of Kuta and Seminyak is terrible. It takes over an hour to get to town.

The staff and service at Gending Kedis is excellent. They do everything to make your stay a happy one with a smile. The General Manager Douglas is visible and very friendly and approachable. He is always checking to see you are happy with your stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Many thanks for your very helpful review. Firstly, thank you for mentioning your satisfaction with the spa - your masseuse has been praised on your behalf!
Your detailed perceptions especially regarding our bathrooms and the restaurant service have been noted and will certainly help us to improvements in these areas. Thank you very much indeed for your appreciation of our staff and service, which is the greatest reward..
Kindest regards from all our team, Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany, wa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

From the friendly, but professional service of all staff to the beautiful villas and the surrounding gardens, our experience at Gending Kedis was simply Marvellous, with a capital M (coz it also stands for magical, memorable & magnificant!) Our 4 bedroom villa, complete with its own large pool, was very spacious, well appointed, clean and very well serviced. Located in the relatively quiet Jimbaran area, the villas are an absolute getaway for those looking for a place to wind down, chill-out and still have a great Bali holiday. The surrounding vegetation (meaning not a lot of other buildings around) results in not only lovely green vistas, but also tranquility. However, the craziness of Kuta shopping & nightlife is an inexpensive taxi-ride away, for those needing a retail fix. Breakfast (included in our "room-rate") was delicious, with a choice of Indonesian or western-style. We had a couple of meals there too (in the restaurant, over-looking the beauftiful 20m "resort" pool) and they were well-presented and superbly cooked - although a little on the small side for Aussie palates....but that's not a bad thing - one doesn't really need to eat large amounts in the tropics, does one? Douglas Wallace, the owner-manager, was delightful and it is evident that his staff love working at this superb establishment because of his professional, yet amiable attitude. Although Gending Kedis is a short ride to the hip "Rock Bar" (which is a fab experience, albeit with a hefty price-tag - for Bali), there are few night-spots or hip restaurants in the vicinity. One week would be sufficient to try most of the surrounding restaurants, but again a couple of taxi-rides to Nusa Dua or Seminyak would satisfy the die-hard gourmet wanting to get their fill of the wonderful gastronomic offerings a Bali holiday provides. The 4 bedroom villa suited our group of 5 friends perfectly, and would be great for 3 or 4 couples. There's so much space, that you don't feel like you're on top of each other. And we could only see a small corner of another villa, so we had enough privacy....people with children should feel comfortable about bringing theirs to this "resort" without worrying about whether the kids are going to disrupt anybody. I couldn't fault this place, and would whole-heartedly recommend it to those seeking a relaxing, reinvigorating holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
It was a pleasure reading your review after your stay at the four bedroom Kokokan villa with your 4 girlfriends. And wonderful to hear that you found the peaceful surroundings and vistas relaxing. Thank you very much for a very detailed and positive review which we feel accurately describes the natural surroundings at GK. We just wish you could teach us how to plant vineyards in Bali! Thanks again for choosing GENDING KEDIS for your girlfriends getaway, and we very much hope to welcome you back some time in the future.
Warm wishes from The Island of the Gods! Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

I stayed for six nights at this resort with my sister. It is one of the few places i have been to which surpassed expectations. We may have been lucky with our villa as i think there are a variety available but our 2 bedroom one was absolutely delightful. We had our own private infinity pool with the jungle as backdrop. The staff were wonderful and could not do enough for us. We were driven whenever we wanted to go, to any place in Jimbaran Bay and appreciated the gracious way this was done. Everything is tasteful and beautiful. The food in the restaurant is quite reasonable and tasty too. It is no disadvantage not being on the beach as the hotel will drive you to the Hotel Beach Club which is only a few minutes away. I will certainly be back!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
Dear Tripadvisor Member, Thank you very much for your review and kind comments - we are happy to hear that you and your sister enjoyed your stay at the MUNIA villa. Even more, we are so very pleased to welcome you back to GK with your niece. We just hope that the unusually rainy period in July has not dampened your enthusiasm for Bali!
It was a great pleasure to accommodate you once again, and we send our appreciation from all our team at GK Resorts. With kindest regards, Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate

Address: Jalan Karang Mas Sejahtera | 100Y, Jimbaran, Bali 80362, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#6 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#8 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
#9 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gending Kedis at Jimbaran Bay is a collection of 1, 2, 3 and 4-bedroom luxury villas each with its own private pool villa. The resort is located within 15 minutes from the Bali airport and just 2 minutes drive to the white sands of Jimbaran beach.The resort has full services and amenities including the Alcedo Restaurant and bar lounge, room service and 2 function rooms. The Malkoha Spa offers a full range of body treatments and the Rudy Hadisuwarno Salon offers hair styling for ladies and gents. A fully equipped spacious gym and a 22 meter swimming pool complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate Hotel Jimbaran
Gending Kedis Villas And Spa Estate
Gending Kedis Hotel Estate
Gending Kedis Resort Estate
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate Bali/Jimbaran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.