We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Marvellous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate to your Saves list
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Karang Mas Sejahtera | 100Y, Jimbaran, Bali 80362, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Super Discount Promo!
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Jimbaran
Certificate of Excellence 2014
albany, wa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply Marvellous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

From the friendly, but professional service of all staff to the beautiful villas and the surrounding gardens, our experience at Gending Kedis was simply Marvellous, with a capital M (coz it also stands for magical, memorable & magnificant!) Our 4 bedroom villa, complete with its own large pool, was very spacious, well appointed, clean and very well serviced. Located in the relatively quiet Jimbaran area, the villas are an absolute getaway for those looking for a place to wind down, chill-out and still have a great Bali holiday. The surrounding vegetation (meaning not a lot of other buildings around) results in not only lovely green vistas, but also tranquility. However, the craziness of Kuta shopping & nightlife is an inexpensive taxi-ride away, for those needing a retail fix. Breakfast (included in our "room-rate") was delicious, with a choice of Indonesian or western-style. We had a couple of meals there too (in the restaurant, over-looking the beauftiful 20m "resort" pool) and they were well-presented and superbly cooked - although a little on the small side for Aussie palates....but that's not a bad thing - one doesn't really need to eat large amounts in the tropics, does one? Douglas Wallace, the owner-manager, was delightful and it is evident that his staff love working at this superb establishment because of his professional, yet amiable attitude. Although Gending Kedis is a short ride to the hip "Rock Bar" (which is a fab experience, albeit with a hefty price-tag - for Bali), there are few night-spots or hip restaurants in the vicinity. One week would be sufficient to try most of the surrounding restaurants, but again a couple of taxi-rides to Nusa Dua or Seminyak would satisfy the die-hard gourmet wanting to get their fill of the wonderful gastronomic offerings a Bali holiday provides. The 4 bedroom villa suited our group of 5 friends perfectly, and would be great for 3 or 4 couples. There's so much space, that you don't feel like you're on top of each other. And we could only see a small corner of another villa, so we had enough privacy....people with children should feel comfortable about bringing theirs to this "resort" without worrying about whether the kids are going to disrupt anybody. I couldn't fault this place, and would whole-heartedly recommend it to those seeking a relaxing, reinvigorating holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
It was a pleasure reading your review after your stay at the four bedroom Kokokan villa with your 4 girlfriends. And wonderful to hear that you found the peaceful surroundings and vistas relaxing. Thank you very much for a very detailed and positive review which we feel accurately describes the natural surroundings at GK. We just wish you could teach us how to plant vineyards in Bali! Thanks again for choosing GENDING KEDIS for your girlfriends getaway, and we very much hope to welcome you back some time in the future.
Warm wishes from The Island of the Gods! Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    61
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
81
140
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

I stayed for six nights at this resort with my sister. It is one of the few places i have been to which surpassed expectations. We may have been lucky with our villa as i think there are a variety available but our 2 bedroom one was absolutely delightful. We had our own private infinity pool with the jungle as backdrop. The staff were wonderful and could not do enough for us. We were driven whenever we wanted to go, to any place in Jimbaran Bay and appreciated the gracious way this was done. Everything is tasteful and beautiful. The food in the restaurant is quite reasonable and tasty too. It is no disadvantage not being on the beach as the hotel will drive you to the Hotel Beach Club which is only a few minutes away. I will certainly be back!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
Dear Tripadvisor Member, Thank you very much for your review and kind comments - we are happy to hear that you and your sister enjoyed your stay at the MUNIA villa. Even more, we are so very pleased to welcome you back to GK with your niece. We just hope that the unusually rainy period in July has not dampened your enthusiasm for Bali!
It was a great pleasure to accommodate you once again, and we send our appreciation from all our team at GK Resorts. With kindest regards, Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We were invited to a wedding in Bali, and were not keen to stay in Kuta, Legian or Seminyak...and since I had been to Bali before opted for Jimbaran Bay as it was halfway between the tourist hub and the surf at Uluwatu. We decided to do a secret deal on the Wotif website, as we had been successful before, and landed Gending Kedis. We were not disappointed is an understatement. This place is simply amazing...not many other guests, and it seemed we had the whole place to ourselves. Breakfast was included and was top notch, the service impeccable, and the accommodations truly 5 star. We wished we had booked for two weeks instead of just one. Our private courtyard and pool was in the shade, and it was the coolest pool in Bali. What a treat at midnight. All the other pools we tried at friends resorts were like a warm bath. We rode a motorbike all around from here, and only caught taxis a few times. Cheap enough at 70,000 rupiah if you haggle the taxi driver a bit from Kuta after a night out. Self contained in every way it was so private. We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your pool villa at GENDING KEDIS. Thank you very much for your kind words which are most appreciated by all of us. We hope that you will decide on a 2 weeks holiday in the future and you can be assured of a warm welcome if you decide again on GK Resorts.
With very best wishes from 'The Island of the Gods', Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast hinterland Aus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Our stay was very pleasant, the room was delightful and peaceful. We decided for a quieter Bali trip. The rooms were layed out wonderfully and serviced well. We did have to asked for some building to be stopped next door, which they did fairly quickly.
The food as people have commented is better than Kaniska but still could be improved. I did however have to eat in more than I wished due to my partner being a little ill, so for room service standards the food was good.
The pool was lovely and the surroundings were very conducive for a relaxing break. As a keen biker, we got a scooter organised for us, I would liked a better quality bike for the price we paid for them to organise it. I could have picked up a better quality one for a third of the price off the street. We visited some farms and rice fileds on the bike which is what we came to bali for, so it served it's purpose.

All in all, a great place to relax, grab a cheap eat on the beach and take it easy. Aunique place if you dont wont huslte and bustle .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Many thanks for taking the time to review GENDING KEDIS following your recent vacation.
We are sorry that your partner was ill during your trip. It is great to hear that overall you had an enjoyable holiday and especially liked visiting the rice fields and farms.
Thank you again for choosing GK Resorts for your Bali break.
With warm wishes from staff at both our resorts.
Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in a 1 bedroom villa.
From the moment we arrived we were impressed. Polite, professional staff and a quality establishment.
The villa was magnificent. Clean, very spacious, very quiet and private.
There are a lot of stairs down (and up again) for the villa we stayed in. This might be something to consider for some...but there are villas on higher ground.
The private pool was lovely, with a view into a valley.
A gym and expanded spa are being created...all the construction has been completed, so you don't have to worry about building noise.
With everything so good, my small list of faults was very petty.
Enjoy it...we did.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you so much for penning your review of your stay at GENDING KEDIS.
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the PRINIA one bedroom villa overlooking the valley.
Thank you for deciding on GK Resorts and we hope to be fortunate to welcome you back either at Jimbaran or at our Seminyak villas.
Kindest regards, Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austarlia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

We spent three days in thriving Seminyak at Kanishka Villas,

The villas are beautifully finished and the customer service was second to none!

We found the location of the Kanishka Villas perfect for getting around the eateries and souvenir shops in Seminyak.

For Nyepi day, when the Balinese celebrate their New Year in total silence, we decided to move to Gending Kedis, managed by the same group for a little peace and serenity.

The property is incredibly beautiful and strategically located on the Jimberan Bay, close to the internationally acclaimed New kuta/Pecatu Championship Golf Course.

From the time we arrived until our departure, the guest recognition, service , food & beverage

and experience was something we will never forget.

We cant wait to return and live it all over again!

Thank you for making our holiday so special and memorable!



Sean Williams,

Melbourne,

Australia..

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for choosing to stay at both KANISHKA and GENDING KEDIS for your vacation.
It was a great pleasure for us to enjoy your company over the Silent Day of 'Nyepi' the Balinese New Year.
Having experienced the total silence and darkness of this unique day in the Balinese calender, we hope you may decide to return again in the future.
Best wishes from the GK Resorts team! Douglas Wallace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Without doubt...this is a simply stunning villa resort.The attention to detail in the design & configuration is sympathically executed from the sublime service to the beautifully presented breakfast each morning was excellent...Our extremely private 2 level spacious & luxurious 2 bedroom villa with pool had all the mod cons you would dream of on holiday....The G.M Douglas Wallace was a personable host & this was reflected in the attitude of his smiling staff & serene surroundings....driver/butler Bagoush,Herma in reception & Herma upstairs in the bar/restaurant were truely exceptional...they made our brief stay even more magical.
We caught the free shuttle on several occasions down to the elegant Rock beach bar @ Ayana hotel formally Ritz Carlton to sip salacious cocktails & watch the sunset...a must!...Try one of the cheap fish cafes down along Jimbaran Bay where the tables are on the beach with the waves lapping lazily on the shore...the smorghasboard of seafood is deliciously overwhelming & merry mariachi band a delightful distraction.
The location of the resort as in you require a shuttle could be a hindrance but I didn't find this a problem...my only negative was the dinner in the resort restaurant didn't quite match my expectations...it was disappointingly bland...however,Gending Kedis which means songbird in Balinese is a charming chorus of memorable melodies!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Our staff were thrilled to read your recognition of their work in your review! Thank you very much for writing your kind notes; most of all we are delighted to receive feedback from guests such as yourselves.
Great to hear that you enjoyed the stunning Rock Bar at the nearby Ayana as well as the perennially popular seafood cafes close by on the Jimbaran beach.
We hope that the London winter will next year convince you to come back once again to the warmer climes of Bali.
The same warm wishes from me and all our team!
Douglas Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate

Address: Jalan Karang Mas Sejahtera | 100Y, Jimbaran, Bali 80362, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Jimbaran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Jimbaran
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Jimbaran
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jimbaran
#9 Luxury Hotel in Jimbaran
#9 Spa Hotel in Jimbaran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gending Kedis at Jimbaran Bay is a collection of 1, 2, 3 and 4-bedroom luxury villas each with its own private pool villa. The resort is located within 15 minutes from the Bali airport and just 2 minutes drive to the white sands of Jimbaran beach.The resort has full services and amenities including the Alcedo Restaurant and bar lounge, room service and 2 function rooms. The Malkoha Spa offers a full range of body treatments and the Rudy Hadisuwarno Salon offers hair styling for ladies and gents. A fully equipped spacious gym and a 22 meter swimming pool complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate Hotel Jimbaran
Gending Kedis Villas And Spa Estate
Gending Kedis Hotel Estate
Gending Kedis Resort Estate
Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate Bali/Jimbaran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gending Kedis Villas & Spa Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.