We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to come back again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bon Nyuh Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bon Nyuh Bungalows to your Saves list
Bon Nyuh Bungalows
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Banjar Bon Nyuh | Desa Petak, Bali 80155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Want to come back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We've been to 3 resorts in Bali and this one was the best one. The staff is fantastically friendly, prices are reasonable, free shuttle to Ubud and back by your schedule. Place is hidden and fulfilled with atmosphere of relaxation. We travelled with 2 kids 1.5 years old (not a honeymoon trip), but this guys gave us perfect conditions to relax and explore the area around - Ubud, Gianyar, Safari park. Perfect choice!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Spent four nights here and am about to leave. There are four bungalows, each measuring about 500 square feet. Although not typically Balinese in style from the inside (a little dark and closed rooms), the bungalows are spacious, comfortable, pleasant and ultra clean. Daily rate includes a la carte breakfast (western or indonesian style) and good, stable, reliable wireless Internet throughout the property. The lap pool is really nice and the water was the perfect temperature while I was here. Quiet surroundings, no motorcycle noise here, this is the place to come to if you want to get away from it all. I found it a little too far from Ubud to go into the center everyday (a good 45 minutes each way; they will drive you for free anywhere you want in Ubud - and back - once a day per bungalow).
On my third morning here, I was the only guest and a crew came in and started doing some work around the property: hammer and electric tool noises and all, the place instantly turned into an inferno. I called Agung (the manager) on his cell to explain the situation, he apologized profusely and promptly asked the construction crew to pack their things and go. I've never been to a hotel anywhere in the world where the staff is that accommodating. He had told me on my first day that they were here to please and that I could ask whatever, whenever. Well on the third day he proved to me that they practice what they preach here. So refreshing!
The only downfall of the place is the limited English skills of the staff (making it a little difficult to communicate when Agung is not around to interpret for the guests) and the rather limited menu at their on-site restaurant: mostly sandwiches and deep fried finger food. I did try two Indonesian curry dishes they have on the menu: the beef rendang and the opor ayam. It took almost an hour each time to get the food ready (remember to order these dishes in advance when you're staying here) and although the taste (in terms of spices) was amazing, the meat was over cooked both times and there was not quite enough sauce to kill the dryness of the meat. But it was very tasty and well worth it, and I know that with the attitude of the people here the kitchen can and will improve.
Comfortable rooms, lovely staff and setting, affordable rates for lodging and for food, and on-site laundry service, I will definitely be back next time I long for the peace and quiet of the Balinese countryside. Thanks to all the staff here for a job wonderfully done!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This place is a dream-place for those who like to get relaxed, calmed and want to reinforce himself. Staff here is like from the tourist fairy-tale - it seems that the desire of each and every person is to have you satisfied and happy, to make anything you just start wishing. We stayed here twice is our trip to Bali - after the first visit couldn't resist the desire to come back again, cancelled the prebooked hotels and spent another 3 nights in this perfect, perfect, perfect place. The surroundings are very quiet, everyone around is friendly, the bungalow itself is spacious and comfortable - we were traveling with 2 our small kids and they had their own room with 2 portable baby beds that the staff brought for us. There was a water cooler, air condition and even the toaster and the kettle in the bungalow. The laundry is cheap and fast, the food is ok and also rather cheap. There is a free transfer to Ubud every day, on the time that is fine for each guest.
I will repeat - perfect, perfect, perfect place. Hope one day to come back again. And again.

Room Tip: As far as I know all the bungalows are almost the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The friendly staff and restful surroundings far from the tourist bustle made our stays at Bon Nyuh Bungalows extremely enjoyable. We were able to experience the village lifestyle of Bali by walking to and through the nearby small villages. The friendly staff from Bon Nyuh village showed great attention to detail and ensured that our time there was pleasant and relaxing. The rooms were extremely clean, the meals excellent and the pool and surroundings very quiet and restful. For several years I had resisted the pressure to go to Bali for a holiday but after the first visit to Bon Nyuh Bungalows in June 2013 I couldn't wait to return. The second visit in November did not disappoint and was, if anything, even better than the first.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Thank you Trip Advisor Reviewers, as we stumbled upon this place by browsing the previous reviews. This place deserves nothing but 100%. If you need noise, restaurants, shopping, nightly entertainment, other tourists, do not come here. This place is secluded, isolated and very quiet, set among rice paddies in a small village. There are no shops around, so bring snacks. We were happy to have brought cookies, crackers and fruit, as we travel with a small child. We also brought extra coffee and our own tea although those are supplied as well.
There are 4 lovely brand new bungalows set around a small 20m lap pool. Each bungalow has a bedroom, bathroom, a living room and a kitchen area with a fully stocked fridge, drinking water fountain and a safe. There are games, magazines, lots of good books and DVDs to keep you entertained. There is also an excellent information manual on things to do and on Bali generally. The shuttle into Ubud is free once daily at a time that is convenient to you. They are happy to book tours and take you anywhere you like too. The pick up from Kuta and return was included for us,as we are staying for 5 nights. The pick up was on time and excellent!
The staff are all incredibly nice and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant is open all day until 10pm and the food is tasty and decent but takes a while (around 1 hour). Breakfast is from 8am. The laundry is very cheap.
If you want peace and quiet, then this is your place.
Great for children, as the pool is suiable for young kids and the garden is safe to explore.
So far it has been taking us around 40 minutes to get into Ubud which makes it a little exhausting when traveling with kids, as you cannot just duck back to the hotel for an afternoon nap or a rest.
If I had to criticise anything, it would be that the food arrives at different times one after another and not necessarily together and that some of the meals are then already cold. Other than that, this place is incredibly relaxing, meticulously maintained, the staff are friendly but not intrusive and the stay is very memorable. Come here and see for yourself. You will not be sorry! It is the best place by far I have stayed in and I have been coming to Bali for 20 years!
Highly highly recommended! And the beds are superb!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Arrived at the bungalows and was greeted by all the friendly staff who took our luggage to our rooms then we were shown around the bungalow and received a welcoming ice cold drink on the terrace,the complex was very clean and tidy to a high standard,the staff were very helpful and on standby for all our needs.
the free shuttle bus to Ubud was very handy ,as was the organisation of all of our trips for a competitive rate,food was good as was the icy cold beer,our 14 year old son was very happy with the free dvd library of the latest movies plus satellite tv.
one nice touch was when we arrived back from a trip it was raining and the staff met us with umbrellas so we didn't get wet going to the bungalows.
great holiday had by all and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: all bungalows were the same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We got picked up from the airport by the friendly staff of the Bon Nyuh Bungalows, greeted with much needed icy cold water and were ready to relax for the 11/2 hour's drive to the Bungalows.

The bungalows are situated in a village away from any tourism and are surrounded by rice fields. Upon arrival we were greeted by the staff with welcome drinks (freshly made watermelon juice) as well as face towels.
The bungalow is roomy, clean and has all the comfort of home. Having bought some nibbles beforehand was an added bonus.

Daily transfers to Ubud (at any time that suited us) as well as pick ups was fantastic. Ubud is about 20-25 min away.
The Bon Nyuh restaurant has enough choice and the meals are very nice. It's opening hours are very generous.

Bon Nyuh Bungalows staff are friendly, accommodating, cheerful and will make your stay the best it could possibly be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bon Nyuh Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Nyuh Bungalows

Address: Banjar Bon Nyuh | Desa Petak, Bali 80155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gianyar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Gianyar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bon Nyuh Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four bungalows, each consisting of a bedroom, lounge, bathroom accessible from both bedroom & lounge, mini kitchen/office in the entry. Comfortably accommodating 4 adults or 2 adults, 2 children. The lounge can be reconfigured with a king size bed or 2 king size single beds. Each bungalow has 2 A/C units (1 in the bedroom and 1 in the lounge), fan, safe, fridge, tea/coffee facilities, televisions & DVD players to both the bedroom & lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bon Nyuh Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bon Nyuh Bungalows Bali/Gianyar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bon Nyuh Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.