We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, decent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Havana

Cafe Havana
Jalan Dewi Sita, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
361 972973
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in Gianyar
Cuisines: Cuban, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Cafe Havana is not just a lively cantina serving Cuban Caribbean cuisine & Cuba's legendary cocktails. With Salsa dancing waiters & waitresses, Cuban memorabilia & library, live bands & Salsa or Rueda dance classes, it's a place to celebrate Cuban culture, music & dance.
North Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I fancied some wine and some small dishes to share, this place was perfect. Great tapas food, mostly decent staff. There was a band playing good salsa music, created good atmosphere - even the staff were dancing!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet1042, Owner at Cafe Havana, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Yes, Cafe Havana is the perfect place to sit back with a wine and some tapas, watch the street scene as the band plays. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    99
    34
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cuban food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We went here because of interest of tasting Cuban food, but end up ordering only tapas because we were previously treated to a big lunch. The ambiance was good and I was interested in the red car parked at the front of the cafe. The food was tasty, but did not get a chance to snap a picture of it.

Will surely get back to this cafe should I revisit Ubud.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet1042, Owner at Cafe Havana, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We certainly hope you get to visit Cafe Havana again. You have have already had a small sampling of Cuban influence dishes in the Tapas selection. Our amazing 1963 Chevy Biscayne car has just had a new paint job and looks spectacular.... . Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oysterville, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What fun is all about...distinctive good time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

After a day of shopping and feeding the monkeys...it was time to get down and party with the locals. The band was playing Salsa music and people were dancing the night away with good food and great drinks. I found a drum and played with the band and blew my whistle with the music. Awesome good fun. A great way to end the day in Ubud with friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet1042, Owner at Cafe Havana, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank YOU for such an awesome review. Glad you enjoyed the whole Cafe Havana experience, and hope you come back again to jam with the band.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Was nice to try cuban style food. service was great. Food was delicious. Kid friendly. Close to main st in Ubud.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet1042, Owner at Cafe Havana, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We LOVE having kids visit Cafe Havana. Our staff can usually entice them to get up and dance or play the Maracas with he band. Thank you for letting other parents know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Okay meal in Ubud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I dined here in January with my partner after searching for something mexican in Ubud. It was a nice meal but just okay nothing special. I tried lots of the little starters to get a variety and my favourite dish was the chicken tacos. Nothing else really did it for me other then my mohjito. Prawns were way to fishy for my taste, bruchetta a little boring and the chips with dips were good just not much dip supplied. I finished all of my food before my partners ribs came out which all up took around 45-60 minutes and were quite a small serve. Loved the atmosphere and service though.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet1042, Owner at Cafe Havana, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for letting Trip Advisor readers know you enjoyed the atmosphere and service at Cafe Havana. Although Cuba and Mexico are geographically close, their food is very different, so maybe you were expecting all the food to be very spicy..
Perhaps you are referring to the Smoked Duck Taco? ( we don't have a Chicken Taco) Here we created a fusion dish of Ubud's famous Balinese smoked duck, which is very spicy, adding a Mexican presentation.
We hope you get an opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Havana also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Havana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.