We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Private Villa with all the Amenities of a First Class Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kusuma Sari Villa & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kusuma Sari Villa & Spa to your Saves list
Kusuma Sari Villa & Spa
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Br. Pekuwudan Sukawati, Bali 80582, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Gianyar
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Private Villa with all the Amenities of a First Class Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Wayan and his staff of 7 were ever attentive to our every wish. The food was prepared deliciously to order. We enjoyed breakfasts cooked with local eggs, lunches and dinners with fresh vegetables and great preparation and presentation. The 2x daily room service was better managed than many 5 star hotels that we have stayed at. The grounds were beautiful, with the cascading terraces of lilly pad gardens. The infinity pool at the base of the property was an inviting oasis every day. If you are looking for a truly restful and quite boutique property, this is it. Thank you Wayan, et. all, for taking such great care of us.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
16
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rueil-Malmaison, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We spent 4 days with the kids (9 and 12). Parents in one villa, kids in another one (just a few meters between them): in the middle of those...the swimming pool ! Wayan and his team made these 4 days fantastic. They even organise a private buffet for us, as we invited friends from Ubud to spend an evening there...everything was perfect. If you are tired from big anonylmious hotels...this is the place to be ! I'll be back. Antoine. France

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tours, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Every bit as good as the rave reviews we read prior to visiting Kusuma Sari Villas. We spent 3 nights in this enchanting hideaway, and this was the highlight of our 6-week vacation in Bali. This was a welcome change after the busy, anonymous resorts of the south. The elegant design of the villas and lush gardens, seemingly natural yet sophisticated create a unique atmosphere of serenity. The villas are very private, set on the edge of a series of water-lily pools that cascade down the hill and lead to the simple, elegant swimming pool.
We have seldom encountered such a combination of comfort and charm. Given that we had already toured around the island quite a bit we tended to enjoy the villa and vicinity more than venture further out, but being located in a small market town (Sukawati) halfway between Ubud and Sanur we found that this was a good base to both relax and discover Bali.
Besides, Wayan and his staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and explore the surroundings, we used the motorbike to go to the market, then Wayan drove us to a cremation and around the countless craftsmen's shops. He turned out to be extremely helpful in our shopping spree (we bought furniture for our new home, something we would not have done without Wayan).
We can't afford to spend a month at Kusuma Sari, but next time we go to Bali we are certain to go back, if only for a few nights.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

We booked three nights here as a treat in the middle of our holiday. It is the most amazing place you will ever stay! There are only a handful of villas so the service is really personal. Wayan would ask us every day what we would like for lunch dinner so that they could buy it fresh from the market. He also took us out and about free of charge whenever we wanted to leave the villa. As it turned out we hardly left the villa which is very unusual for us! This is not a hotel, it is a truly wonderful home away from home complete with CDs and DVD's, a lounge, numerous day beds on balconies off the rooms, outdoor shower and luxurious four poster bed. Our villa had steps that led straight to the infinity pool and jacuzzi. The infinity pool by the way overlooks the jungle where a small stream runs down below.

The villas are completely tucked away so it is very tranquil. As there are so few villas you feel as though you have the entire place to yourself and the grounds are quite sprawling. The on-demand access to the rest of Ubud with Wayan meant that we never felt isolated.

The villas are carved into a hill which has layers of ponds with water lilies. The eating area is open air and you don't share it with anyone else so it is very romantic. Just candles, the jungle and a very attentive yet discreet waiting staff.

I would definitely recomend this villa to anyone traveling to Ubud. Although it may seem pricier than other villas, so many services are complimentary so it is actually excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midi Pyrenees
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Quiet hidden riverside retreat away from traffic, but near all village amenities and twenty minutes from Ubud. Beautiful surroundings, ultra clean inviting pool, well laid out gardens with water features and lush vegetation. Quiet airconditioned rooms and exceptionally comfortable beds. Staff very willing and always cheerful. Highly recommended. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

The moment we step into its compounds, we were greeted by its serenity and beauty, all in nature's own. My friends and I had a wonderful experience and truly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and took great initiative to attend to all our needs. They were definitely an awesome bunch, helping us to put our Hawaiian theme party together..without much fuss. Over that 2 days, we were nothing else but great buddies. Where else can you find a home away from home? Indeed Kusuma Sari Villa & Spa is that close as it can get - an almost paradise....

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Staying at Kusuma Sari was an absolutely spectacular experience. Our villa -- with a large and comfortable bed, deck, indoor shower as well as an open-air shower and tub, and ample closet space --was nestled in a luscious tropical environment overflowing with flowers, palm trees, pools with lilly-pads, and the comforting sound of flowing water. The swimming pool and hot tub were wonderful, as were various sitting areas on the property -- some of which look across a river to beautiful rice fields on the other side. Plus, the staff was so friendly and accommodating -- always willing to go the extra mile. A spectacular experience all around.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kusuma Sari Villa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kusuma Sari Villa & Spa

Address: Br. Pekuwudan Sukawati, Bali 80582, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gianyar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Gianyar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kusuma Sari Villa & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Kusuma Sari is your home away from home, it fulfills your dreams. Indeed, it is the enchantment that dreams are made of. Villa Kusuma Sari includes a dreamlike swimming pool and relaxing Jacuzzi in the middle of a grand tropical garden overlooking the beautiful Bembeng River. The quiet and magical environment renders a feeling of exclusiveness and perfect tranquility in harmony with the local Balinese culture while in close proximity to cities like Ubud, Sanur and Kuta. The hospitable and responsive staff makes complete an experience of living like a king in Bali.Design as a modern version of the traditional Balinese cluster compound, the villa has separate bales (pavilions) for eating, lounging and receiving guests. The master bale has a large living area for entertaining as well as sumptuous sleeping quarter. The two guest bales include two meter outdoor stone tubs for your bathing pleasure. Each of the bale includes both indoor and outdoor showers and ample storage space for your luggage, clothing and any treasures which you might purchase in your exploration of the local markets. The villa is built over former rice terraces and from the pool looking toward the stone entrance gate you will see terraces replaced by a beautiful series of terraced pools seemingly flowing one into the other. Truly a vision that evokes the paradise that is Bali. Our staff is equipped to cater to your every need. A car and driver are available for optional tour packages for your exploration of the beautiful island of Bali. Traditional Balinese ceremonies may be witnessed at many local venues or we can arrange private performances at the villa for your pleasure. Breakfast is included with your room. You can select American style, Continental style or if you are truly adventurous you can try the traditional Indonesian style. Other meals are available at the villa at your option or we can arrange for your dining at any of the wonderful local restaurants which abound in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kusuma Sari Villa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kusuma Sari Villa & Spa Bali/Gianyar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kusuma Sari Villa & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.