We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent villa! Value for money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athena Garden Villa

Save Saved
You added Athena Garden Villa to your Saves list
Athena Garden Villa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Athena Garden Villa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Athena II No.3 Padang Sumbu, Denpasar, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 103 hotels in Denpasar
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent villa! Value for money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Fantastic Villa!! Beautiful gardens and outdoor shower / bath, perfect pool, lovely staff who could not do enough for you, great value for money! Thanks to the staff who made the stay so fantastic. They provide free cool drinks in the fridge, complimentary massage and afternoon tea, fresh fruit, cooked breakfast each morning and a free taxi / bus shuttle service into town twice daily! This is great as the Villa is a little way out of the town centre so it negates the distance. The service could not get any better!

We have now recommended this place to friends and family and we will not be staying anywhere else in the future, this will now be our Bali home!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Was not what it states when booking, they tried to charge us more by using their own rated of conversation and not the actual rate on the day and then advised that the online price was cash only (which is not stated at all in the payment methods listed). Internal amenities i.e. basics like toilet paper, sugar coffee you only get 1 roll of toilet paper and a few sachets of sugar and coffee, you do not get any milk you have to ask for the to top up the jug every time. They do not clean your room every day only looks like occassionaly. The massage is not great, compared to other places we have gone to and stayed at previously. The menu is extremely poor and there is no restaurant on site, I recommend to purchase your own food and cook it yourself, menu is expensive for the price as there is nothing else in the area within walkable distance - very remote. The spa - it is there but is not operational and no water in it - has no bubbles. Lots of cats in the area and did not get much sleep. Breakfast was not very good at all.

Room Tip: not value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

For a private villa with a pool, the price was good but the pool was a little old and not super clean (but by no means dirty) and the room, while clean and well kept - just had that worn sort of feel. The bathroom was nice though. The meals were ok - not as good as at some of the higher-end places. It was a bit far away - had to take a taxi to get anywhere, could only walk up to the small convenience shop. And the faux-greco-roman statues and theme was a bit unsettling for Bali... but overall, just for a short break, its good value

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Stayed our last 2 nights in Bali at Athena Villa. We were all very happy with the beautiful, cozy set up of the villa. It was such a beautiful villa and the rooms were very nice with outdoor bathtub and shower.

Though the website said there is a hot spring tub, there wasn't any hot spring water, though there was a separate tub. We had fun dipping in the little pool, too small to do any laps.

They will ask you the day before your breakfast time and preference, either american breakfast, fried rice or fried noodles. they chef comes to the villa to prepare the breakfast to freshly make omelets, or fried eggs. rice and noodles are pre made. They set up the table for us & cleaned up after us.

We had complimentary 30 mins massage & tea time. Book via www.villabalivillas.com/seminyakvillas/athena-villa-seminyak.php for better rates.

Air-cond for 2 rooms needs servicing as it broke down in the middle of night!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Absolutely fantastic hotel, there was a mix-up with our booking at Kozy Villa's and Athena Villa's made us feel very welcome. Upon arrival we received free beverages and a 30-minute massage.

After this we were led to our villa, which has a large front area, with a shapely pool, water-feature with decorated flowers all around, was also a small outdoor area to the back of the villa which had an enormous bath and outdoor shower. Inside the villa was also beautiful, with a large comfortable bed and a mosquito net. Breakfast is prepared and cooked for you each morning, the dining area was outside but well-covered, featuring your own cooking stove and microwave if your feeling adventurous.

More importantly the staff are extremely friendly and love to chat, we missed our shuttle bus into town and the consierge was kind enough to pay the taxi fare for us. If we return to Seminyak we will definately try and stay at Athena villa's!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Once i enter the room, i was superised by the big room and good apperance.

We have the bed room/tea room,private outdoor pool,outdoor bathroom,outdoor kitchen.

You can cook some seafood bought from Carrefour(Not near from hotel) by yourself, but should be simple meal.

The pool is small but no one shared with you because it was private.

Committment with WIFI free, but sometimes not work.

Welcome fruit and spa.

Outstanding issue:
1.Far away from Kuta and any other attractions,once go out, you need taxi or the shuttle bus (inconvenience)
2.lots of mosquito, not good sleep
3.Ants around,even in my room

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Athena Garden Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athena Garden Villa

Address: Jalan Athena II No.3 Padang Sumbu, Denpasar, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Denpasar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Athena Garden Villa 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Athena Garden Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Garden Villa Hotel Denpasar
Athena Garden Villa Bali/Denpasar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athena Garden Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.