We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama San

Mama San
Oberoi | Seminyak, Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
361730436
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 479 Restaurants in Denpasar
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here last night. Made sure we had a reservation and luckily we did because it was a full house. The service was great, the food was amazing (bbq duck stramed buns, prawn stirfry, red duck curry) and it was all very reasonably priced. We are so glad we tried Mama San and it definitely deserves all these rave reviews.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    102
    25
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Asian Fusion Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We went out last night for a dinner for 7 people and we were blown away by both the venue and the food. I had the begun chicken curry and the lamp and pumpkin potstickers. Both were delicious! Everyone loved their food but the stand out was a snapper hotpot.

Great venue. Lovely staff. Great wines. Would come back EVERY time in Bali.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Top shelf restaurant in Seminyak - must be booked ahead”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

After recommendations from friends I booked this online, receiving a confirmation directly from Mama San. The restaurant was a short walk from our accommodation too which was brilliant. My husband started with a cold beer and I had a frozen mango marguerita - but the Aussies at the table next to us highly recommended the coconut mojito AND OMG, that was brilliant.

Our waitress Utami was excellent. We were going to order three dishes and she suggested to order only two as they were large dishes - and that was a great idea. We shared the twice cooked port ribs with the meat literally falling off the bone - and a great soy, garlic and chilli sauce (accompanied by rice). And we shared a massive serve of red duck curry, complete with lychees and small tomatoes (with both rice and crispy, mouthwatering roti). The sauce was amazing and we soaked up all the juice with our rice and roti.

The owner was also present and wandered around meeting guests.

We've booked again for Sunday night (in two nights time) and could only get a table for 6:30pm (out by 8pm) as it was already nearly booked out. So, I would highly recommend booking ahead.

FYI, kitchen opens at 6:30pm.
And don't expect a cheap night out (guess it is all relative) - we paid $70 AUD for the above (which given it is Bali is expensive, still cheap by Aussie standards).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Top quality Asian dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Had one dinner with my family at Mama San in Seminyak. It was very busy, but fortunately this was because the restaurant is very very good. The decor is very classy but relaxed. The service was fast and friendly. The food was superb - some of the best Asian food we have tasted. Top quality Thai fish cakes and BBQ duck steamed buns as starters. Family devoured the Thai beef salad, crispy chicken, Kway Teow noodle and Massaman curry. Wine pricey, but easy to make do with local beer. A must visit in Seminyak.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Food and drinks were of very high quality along with very quick service from the many wait staff. Prices are fairly high but worth it

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama San also viewed

 

Been to Mama San? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama San, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.