We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First hotel experience in Bali” 4 of 5 stars
Review of POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar to your Saves list
POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Teuku Umar No 74, Denpasar, Bali 80113, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Early Bird Room Discount
Ranked #64 of 111 Hotels in Denpasar
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First hotel experience in Bali”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

POP! was our first hotel that we stayed at in Bali and I found it to be quite a pleasant place to stay at. We checked in at midnight due to plane delays and the staff had no issues with our late check in and even offered us access to a complimentary breakfast which was not included in our booking. The air-conditioning in the room was heaven and was a great contrast to the thick humidity that hits you when you leave your hotel room.
The bathroom facilities were awkward as both the toilet and shower are compressed into one capsule. Everytime I had a shower the positioning of the showerhead would end up spraying the entire capsule with water, making toilet visits somewhat uncomfortable as you are stepping onto a wet floor with wet surroundings.
I found the positioning of the hotel to not be so much of an issue as there are shopping places and restaurants situated nearby and the hotel provides great service with flagging down taxis for you (bluebird taxi's if you request this kind).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SammyDenpasar, Manager at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Ms Cassy,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding POP! Hotel Teuku Umar, We are really happy to heard that you are enjoyed to stay with us and be the first hotel of your trip. We will maintain our services and facilities to make ours customer feel comfort and be a memorable stay with us.

We do apologize regarding our shower pod,it designed uniquely and minimalize, it will look wet everywhere when using the shower head but don't worry it will not goes to the bed room and in each floor of shower pod completed with place mat to make sure the customers safely.

Once again, thank you very much for your comment, it encourage us to improve our hotel facility and service in a better way

Looking forward to welcoming you back to POP! Hotel Teuku Umar and the other POP! in Indonesia.


Sincerely yours,

Sami Ade MERTA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    50
    38
    6
    6
See reviews for
12
38
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
177 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
557 helpful votes 557 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel locate in Denpasar, so far from interest places in Bali.
You must drive more of 1 hour from airport to get this hotel, wasting time!

Front desk officer isnot friendly. Actually for Indonesian, even we huve paid full for the services.

Room is small. Not good for children. Bathroom is not good to use. Isnt recommended also if you have body from Asia.

Breakfast is poor. Somehow this limited time, even in 9 am but already not available.

You can find more better hotel in Bali with good price and good service than this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Bapak Arifien,

Thank you for your comment.
Apologize for any inconvenience happened during your stay.

POP! Hotel is a budget hotel that provide an accommodation with good value of money. Our rate is only for room only. But to support our guest activity in a day, we provide free complimentary quick morning bite with free flow tea and coffee, with the local traditional breakfast menu, such as in Bali with nasi Djinggo that is very common and famous for Balinese, which also take our guest to get an experience of local culinary. We will ensure that the quality of or quick bite is good.

Our room is about 16sqm, designed with compact shower pod which allow our guest to feel comfort, not to get tight in a room, and still allow to have maximum 3 persons in a room. We will look the possibility to improve our Shower pod that can bring more comfortableness for our guest.

Once again, thank you very much for your comment, it encourage us to improve our hotel facility and service in a better way.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Booked hotel through airasia package at a very low price. Room was clean and comfortable Pillows and bedding are comfortable and clean Had a good night sleep. The only complaint is the limited choice of breakfast provided, The rice wrapped in banana leaf was something unique and a bit spicy. I would suggest the hotel serve some toast bread, or some indonesian kuih.Coffee and tea up to my taste.Overall a good hotel to stay. Keep up the good name of this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your reviews.

POP! Hotel is Budget Hotel, providing a good night sleep for our guest with comfort bed, 100% cotton linen, free wifi and free morning bite.
The rate that we offer is room only, but we provide free complimentary morning bite to take the guest to taste the local breakfast menu that is eaten by local balinese people, in addition, this is also for purpose to give something free for our guest in the morning before they start the day.

Hopefully you enjoyed your trip in Bali and had fun with the richness of Bali culture, beach, and food.
Looking forward welcoming back to POP! Hotels.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The magnetic card been causing me a problem to unlock my door, the crew seems not much care about this.
The bath room looks fancy but leaking water
When I walk down to request a toilet paper to be replaced for day 2, I can only get it by the second time I ask for it. The front desk staff didn't double check the delivery
When ask for information if there is any nearest clinic or pharmacy, none of the frontdesk staff able to speak proper Malay and English
Too much noisy during day time even night, we keep hearing those door open and close.
All hotel staffs are look young and energetic, but none of them can speak english.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
Your comments always be a great encouragement for us to improve our service.

We apologize for any inconvenience happened during your stay, and will ensure that it won't happen again in the future.
We really understand that training is the one of the important thing to be followed up in order to have good staff in the hotel.

Once again, thank you for your comments and inputs.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to POP! Hotels.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muttenz, Switzerland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Even though the location of this hotel is not the best in terms of sightseeing, etc. it is definitely good value for money. Where else in Denpasar do you get a spacious and very clean double room with aircon and LCD-TV for around 30 Dollars per night? The design may be extraordinary but hey, it is a POP-hotel! We can just recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Nicola,

Many thanks for your review.
It is always great to hear that our guest have good staying experience in POP! Hotels.

POP! Hotel Teuku Umar located in center of Denpasar, which is famous as one of the various Indonesian culinary area. So next time you can come back and try to get the experience of Indonesian food along this Teuku Umar Road.

Hopefully we will see you soon popping in POP! Hotels, Bali, Bandung, Yogyakarta and soon Jakarta.
Our POP! champs will always be happy to welcoming you back.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

First step you step in, it will be very good decision. starts from the front office, until you come in the room, it's just a simple way. the room was small but cozy and clean. for those who just wanna have a good sleep at night, this is the right place! eco friendly!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest in Bandung,

Many thanks for your review.
It is a pleasant to know that you enjoy staying in POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar Bali.

Hope you had a great trip in Bali and enjoyed the breeze of "Pulau Dewata"

We are looking forward welcoming you back to POP! Hotels, in Bali, Bandung, Yogyakarta and soon will be in Airport Jakarta and BSD city Tangerang.

Thank you

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel is nice, clean and modern. The reception staff is not very helpful however the travel desk staff arranged our transfer to the Gilis for us - no problem. Our room was nice but the sheets were dirty, the blind didn't work and the shower leaked all over the floor. If we had been staying here longer we would have moved room. This place is not exactly cheap so they should make an effort to get the basics right - like clean sheets. The AC was also very very loud so it was hard to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Alice,

Thank you for your comment.
We apologize for any inconvenience happen during your stay in POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Bali.

Our hotels are having dynamic pricing which come cheaper for earlier booking, and keep moving following to our booking on hand.
We will follow up the issues with cleanliness and AC to ensure it won't happen again in the future.

Thank you for your comments.
We are always glad to welcoming you back to POP! Hotels in Bali, Bandung, Yogyakarta and soon Jakarta & Tangerang.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar

Address: Jl. Teuku Umar No 74, Denpasar, Bali 80113, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 111 Hotels in Denpasar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of the city of Denpasar, POP! Harris Hotel Denpasar Teuku Umar offers eco-friendly and convenient accommodation both for business and leisure. All POP! Rooms include comfy bed, innovative shower pod, free Wifi Internet access, LCD TV + Cable TV and complimentary bottled water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Budget Places, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage POP! Hotel Teuku Umar Denpasar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.