We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Animal conservation?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Adventure Tours - Day Tours

Bali Adventure Tours - Day Tours
Bypass Ngurah Rai Pesanggaran | Pesanggaran, Denpasar, Bali 80221, Indonesia
+62 361 721480
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #49 of 448 Activities in Denpasar
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bali Adventure Tours is a long established and most awarded Adventure Tour operator with world-class activities ranging from premium white water rafting, jungle trekking, river kayaking and mountain cycling. It is well known for its top-notch facilities, such as the Elephant Safari Park & Lodge, where you can touch, feed and ride an elephant through the tropical jungle of Bali. Bali Adventure Tours specializes in both family oriented experiences and off-the-beaten-path adventures and has been established for more than 25 years.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Animal conservation?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I expected (or my kids expected) animal conservation and education, instead we got a photo opportunity with the animals and a great elephant ride followed by a circus style elephant show and buffet lunch, like a disneyland ride and we were herded along like cattle, but most people like that. My son cried at the treatment of the elephants (one was tied on short chain surrounded by its own filth, others were made to perform circus tricks, and the hammers/picks were used constantly, but a great day out if your kids aren't too fussed about conservation or animal rights, although very expensive if you book through Melasti hotel and price quoted was much less than what they asked for at the park gate where it is too late to say no!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    76
    22
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent rafting! But you must bargain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I did excellent rafting with bali adventure tours. Everything was well organized, feom pick-up to drop off at your hotel.

The rafting was incredible and much fun with our guy/guide. Make sure to tip him id you had a good experience.

The lunch consisted of a wide variety of food including vegetables, rice, noodles, chicken, potatoes and they also have fruit like watermelon and pineapple.

Drinks are not included though, and moderatly priced. (25.000 for soda, 35.000 for juices + 21% service and tax!)

One important thing I would like to mention:

Make sure you bargain hard. The advertisin price was about USD 88 for the trip but after bargaining hard I paid 300.000 (about USD 30). I met another couple who paid much more than I did.

This was in low season tho, (January 2013) so perhaps this will not be their minimum during high season.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had a great time doing the rafting and elephant safari.

We were picked up from our hotel in Nusa Dua the drive to Ubud took about 2 hours. So make sure you bring a book or something to do.

The rafting was great fun and went for about two hours our guide was great. He instructed us on when to paddle and when to hold on. There were a lot of people doing the rafting but I think this added to the fun of the whole thing. Just be aware there is a few hundred steps at the end to get up to the top of the valley. Once we finished the climb we were driven to lunch and a shower. Just be aware drinks aren't included and are a bit expensive so bring money.

The elephant park was great as well. I read some comments about the elephants being chained up, there was an explanation for this at the park on a poster. There are genuine reasons for the elephants being chained up at night. This has to do with safety of people, elephants and government regulations. I feel that the park could benefit some what by explaining this to visitors. So that they understand, the elephants seemed very happy and very well cared for.

We had a great day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great white water rafting experience for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Family of 2 parents, 3 kids (10 yo girl,13,15yo boys). This tour ran extremely well from hotel to rapid to lunch then back home again. Guide (Tudi) was great fun. He responded to our need for excitement by choosing edgy routes through rapids. Lunch lovely in beautiful setting. More information about rapid grading would be helpful, as we have discovered since Waterbom park we are adrenaline junkies and we would have enjoyed even more thrills and spills! So this is ideal for novices and young families, however, we understand that today the river was relatively calm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshima, Japan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Rafting & Elephant Riding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our family did the combination White Water Rafting and Elephant Riding Tour, and it was the highlight of our Bali vacation! We started the day with the rafting, which is 9 km, almost 2 hours. There is no required fitness level, much of it is just sitting. However, there are A LOT of steps. You have to walk down all the way to the river, which was not pleasant (especially in the rain), and then walk all the way back up. One member of our party has knee problems, so the walk back up was very bad (there were two guides who happened to be walking behind us who were kind enough to stay with us though!) You do need to pay attention. Each raft is four guests and the guide, who does the majority of the work. Before you go, they will tell you the commands, and then you just listen and do what they say. It is absolutely beautiful, I wish we could have taken pictures. The guide (at least ours) did a wonderful job of explaining things that we were passing. There are vendors along the river selling drinks, but this company prohibits stopping there to prevent pollution in the water, which is nice. We were very sad when we were finished, we had so much fun. After that, you walk back up to the road, take a bus back to the main building, where they give you your clothes and a towel, and lead you to the changing rooms. If you book a combination tour, you then get a buffet lunch.

The lunch was very good, especially for an included buffet. The chicken was great, the selection was huge... it was real balinese/indonesian food, which was very nice.
After, you get back on the bus and go to the Bali Elephant Park, which was endorsed by Steve Erwin. We had time to walk around beforehand, so we went into the museum and shop, fed the elephants, watched the show (also included in the tour), and got to pet the elephants and get pictures with them. At all points at the park, we felt that the elephants were being treated well, and we felt very safe. After that, the Elephant ride comes. It is two people sitting on a bench on the elephant, with the guide sitting on the elephants head. There is an umbrella on the elephant, in the case of rain (which we ended up using). The guides are very nice, they let us stop to take pictures of the rest of the family on their elephants. They also tell us all about the elephants. It is a good length tour, it is very interesting to see how the elephants act. Though the workers take pictures with a big DSLR camera which they sell, they are also totally willing to take pictures with your camera for free, which I was surprised by.

Overall, the Rafting + Elephant Riding tour was a very good experience, I would recommend it to anyone going to Bali, especially given the convenience with the included hotel transfer.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bali Adventure Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Bali Adventure Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Adventure Tours - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.