We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Peaceful Jungle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gorumara Forest

Gorumara Forest
Jalpaiguri District | Terai region of the Himalayan foothills, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 552 attractions in West Bengal
Type: Forests, National Parks
Attraction Details
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
383 reviews 383 reviews
236 attraction reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Jungle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were a group of five(5) and stayed at the Green Lagoon in Lataguri at the edge of the Gorumara Forest. Our hotel stay was comfortable but the several visits in and around the forest/jungle areas yieled "Nil" results as far as "Big" game viewing is concerned..

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“jungle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Jungle experience is good, its a excellent place to visit at winter & summer.specially stay at joy ma Tara RESORT,the place is excellent. Hotel ambience is good.visit again &again, really feel good.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Gorumara Forest - A perfect jungle experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I and my husband wanted a tranquil weekend away from city hustle bustle with a wee bit of adventure, and Gorumara sounded ideal for that. Well, first impression of the area was the lush green which was so soothing to our sore eyes, which were kind of tired with view of concrete 24*7.
The scenic beauty is mesmerizing. The first day, we just relaxed, strolled around jungle. Next day early morning , we took a jungle safary arranged by our resort. It was pretty good, even got to see a few herd of elephants, some wild boar and lots and lots of peacock.
We both again tried our luck in afternoon , for the jungle safary arranged by forest department. Though we stood in queue pretty early 2pm, though tickets are given from 4, still we did not manage to get Jatraprasad, as people fits agents who buys all the tickets. so, we managed to get some other . Though some heavy drizzle marred a small portion of our trip, but we thoroughly enjoyed bullock catr ride , for a stretch and also managed to see two 1 horned rhino and loads of Bison and many unnamed birds.
The return journey was very adventerous, travelling back from jungle in an open top jeep, through pitch dark deep jungle on both the side, and only light was jeep's headlight, only sound was whizzing of insects . The effect is beyond explanation.
Our hotel manager asked us to visit sometime in december, if we want to see more animals and birds.

Overall, the trip was successful. We came back refreshed. :)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Experience at Gorumara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We spent that whole day and night in a most amazing and different atmosphere altogether at the heart of the Gorumara National Park.
Actually we wanted to spent it differently and how different it was. From NJP we got a hired Omni and through the Lataguri forest road we approached Gorumara. On the way we stopped at the Murti River which was not at its full force but serene and nice with dense forest at both side.
Then we entered the actual core area of the forest. There are various hotels and resorts outside the Forest but we were lucky enough to get a booking at the Forest dept bungalow which is deep inside the core area and approx 20 minutes from the main Lataguri road. On the way from the main road to the Bungalow the forest grows thick and very scary .
The bungalow is surrounded by a big trench so that no animal can cross it at night.Its a beautiful bungalow very well maintained. It has three very well maintained all wooden room with a Living and dining room too.
It is a very special bungalow which is mostly booked by VIPs. Otherwise you have to stay outside the core area and can only make paid trip once in a day. But we were spared of such ordeal. There is a cook whose cooking capability is like heaven.
There is also a watch tower within the compound of the bungalow which directly oversees the salt pits and the water ponds which is a favorite place for the animals after dusk. The spotlights are there and you can actually sit and watch wild animals from there without any risk ,though if you switch off the spotlight it will be pitch dark except the stars. We have seen various animals from there. But didn't have the clue that the real thing was waiting for us later on. Up to 8 PM we were there at the watch tower and then it is said not to be safe outside so we went to the bungalow.
At around 9PM when we were just dinning with mouthwatering Chicken curry and rice we heard one of the helper in bungalow calling us. He said it was tiger outside . We rushed out leaving our dinner and hence also forgot to bring our camera from the room and so could not capture one of the rarest moment of our life.
There were two leopards sitting just opposite the main gate of the compound and the guards put on the spot lights right on them for a better view.. One leaning over on a large tree trunk and another beside it. The Forest officer and other ranger were so excited and were saying it was really a rare scene to see two leopards so close. We found ourselves really lucky. It was a state of utter disbelief and we could not move too. Since the officers were there so we did not feel the risk or scare but it was really risky to have two wild leopards in open just 30 feets away from you . after 5 mins or so one of them felt disturbed by the spotlight and went under the trunk and then the other followed and after 10 min or so they went into the forest into their territory and we came back to finish our incomplete dinner heart full with excitement .
The night at the Forest is equally crazy with all sorts of scary sounds you feel like with all other animals. It was a night to remember.
Next day at the crack of a dawn we were ready for a trip to another watchtower inside the forest which is called Jatraprasad watchtower. We went there and got a lovely view of the early morning forest and the animals getting back to their den.
The morning in the forest is so serene , satisfying with greenery all around, birds chirping, the first sunlight on the trees, the dews on the grass, the calmness , so unpolluted that it felt like bliss.
We had such a overwhelming experience that all these words cannot describe.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Average specially after you visit MP forest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Probably this one is more green and dense however not many animals. We hardly saw anything. On day 2 we were lucky enough to see a Rhino from distance and few peacocks. Does not justify for the cost of the safari - each trip for 6 folks cost around 2000 bucks for about 2 hrs.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gorumara Forest also viewed

Jalpaiguri, West Bengal
Jalpaiguri, West Bengal
 

Been to Gorumara Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gorumara Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gorumara Forest to your Saves list