We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ananda in the Himalayas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ananda in the Himalayas to your Saves list
Ananda in the Himalayas
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   The Palace Estate | (Near Rishikesh), Narendranagar 249175, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narendranagar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Wonderful sprawling property on the slope of a hill, thoughfully done up. Great food that keeps one spritely and cheerful all day, maybe because I stuck to the "wellness" menu at all meals. The yoga classes in the morning (7.15 am) too helped - excellent instructor and great venue (big wooden floored hall at the palace annexe). Made it a point to ignore the electric carts and instead walked up to the palace at least once a day - the steep climb left me breathless at first.

Rooms are spacious 5-star quality with a balcony. Mine was on the lower level and faced the garden - I feel that the green view can be a lot more soothling in winter compared to the valley view rooms, particularly if the valley remains shrouded in mist.

Staff was wonderfully and uniformly caring throughout my visit - a big thank you to all for the service and warmth.

Tips: the airport runway can be sighted from the sunset point if you know which way to look. Also, expect to see peacocks roaming about the grounds, but please don't feed them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaideep_Anand, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Sir,
Namaskar,

I Thank you for taking the time on reviewing your visit to Ananda, We are happy to know that you fid the Food, the Yoga, the Guest rooms experience and our Staff exceeded your expectations during your visit.

Ananda is truly a magical place and in my opinion it’s our warm and caring team across the board which makes the experience really special.

I look forward to welcoming you, your friends, and your family back to Ananda In the Himalayas in near future.

Warm regards,
Jaideep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    66
    20
    11
    9
See reviews for
55
172
54
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in Ananda for 7 nights in December 2012 - January 2013. Based our choice on word of mouth, cemented by UK Conde Nast Traveller best spa award for 2012. The stay was virtually perfect.

The design of the property is a bit bland - you will find no New Age perfection. Rather strangely designed dining room for a 5 star property, simple rooms - not in a cool minimalist way, but in a "we don't care" or "we don't know" about design too much.

Having said that - the staff is very helpful and warm, the food - I could write a whole review about it - was truly amazing. We felt that the food on offering (especially the wellness menu) was on par with a Michelin-starred restaurant, yet it was light and healthy, a lunch or dinner never exceeding 500-600 calories. For those of us conscious about what we eat, finding calories below the description of each dish was delightful. Quite understandably, the kitchen does Indian food best.

Very nice treatments. I am not a big fan of massage, but massages here - I've tried five different kinds - were delightful.

Yoga program, lectures, fitness - you could fill up your whole day with the free group sessions. Yet, I would recommend hiring private sessions with yoga teachers and personal training coach - these did not disappoint by any means. I expected the fitness trainer to just be helping me with the weights, this being provincial India, but he guy was on par with my usual trainers in best fitness clubs in Moscow and London.

One disappointment - the hiking program. I signed up for four individual hikes, ended up doing three, one was a big disappointment - a 2/3 of it was a downward trek on a construction site for plumbing, littered with plastic and what not. This being Himalayan foothills, I simply could not believe a 5-star health resort would send its guests on something like this.

The property itself is peaceful and well-maintained. Nearby Rishikesh is surely not to be missed. I do not know if we'll be back - the drive from Delhi is 6.5 hours (we did both ways in different times and both times it was just that - 6.5 hours) - and there are many other incredible spas in the world, but I would highly recommend coming here at least once. It is an experience to remember.

Room Tip: we stayed in a two bedroom villa with a private pool and its own butler. 703 - if you can afford it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaideep_Anand, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Mr. Dzhaparidze,
Namaskar,

I would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to Ananda In the Himalayas.

We are encourage to hear that you find the Staff, the Food, the Wellness treatments and the resort met upto your expectations of being one of the Best Destination Spas of the World.

I will most definitely convey your compliments to my Kitchen Brigade, our Yoga Master, and our Gym Instructor who truly are talented people.

I noted your disappointment on the Hiking trail and assure you that we are in the process of reaching some beautiful trails for the future.

May I recommend that next time you travel to us take a convenient half an hour flight from New Delhi, which shall bring you to the resort in less than an hour. There is excellent connectivity between Delhi and Dehradun with a brand new Airport to land into.

We look forward to having you back again soon

Warm regards,
Jaideep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

There is almost nothing left to say, the title says it all. Everything about our stay was amazing, from the fabulously comfortable room (candlelit bath anyone?) to the incredible food (best cold breakfast selection in India) and genuinely warm and attentive staff.

There is a lot you could do at the Spa, but equally, you can spend your whole stay doing nothing but relaxing from spa area to poolside to your bedroom balcony.

The turn down service is a cute touch and the spa sessions are well worth it.

If you stay isn't perfect, the staff will do all they can to rectify this: our trip to witness the ganga aarti in Rishikesh was ill-timed and as such this was struck off our final bill.

We wholeheartedly recommend Ananda to anyone who wishes to enjoy a little piece of heaven on Earth!

Room Tip: Final billing can be confusing, so be prepared to query some of the calculations. It should work out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaideep_Anand, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Sir,
Namaskar,

I would like to thank you for your overwhelming review about Ananda in the Himalayas and thank you for the compliments on every aspect of the resort.

I will most definitely convey your compliments to the team who worked hard to give you an excellent stay.

Ananda in the Himalayas is truly a magical place and we look forward to having you back in heaven soon.

Warm regards,
Jaideep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here as we had work in the small quaint town of Narendra Nagar just a km from this resort. It was a wonderful experience, the place is beautifully kept and the staff is eager to please, polite and mostly without attitude. The heated swimming pool is gorgeous, enjoyed the morning Yoga class. The food is the only thing that disappointed, the bakery products were below mark and the dishes were not authentic, I think that as per the resort's ethos food is not supposed to be the high point of your holiday so foodieds beware, however kudos to them that after a fiasco with the food they tried their best to make up and we did not go hungry.

Room Tip: I preferred the garden view to the valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Let me start with telling that the Ananda in the Himalayas is an amazing resort!! Don’t go by the name as though it might sound a bit tacky, the place is really a heaven. The exotic mixture of delicious food, amazingly spacious rooms, superb crew and finally the specialized yoga and the exercise classes await you at the AITH. Moreover all this at an amazingly affordable price!!

Well, I booked the Uttaranchal tour through the web portal of Antilog Vacations. The site had offered us multiple hotels at all the locations and we finally selected the Ananda in Rishikesh based on the representative’s call. The resort was a 10 hour drive from Delhi (which included a 2 hour layover at a roadside motel). We arrived in the evening, just as the sun was setting. It was truly a sight to behold as the milieu bordering the resort had the snow glistening in the dusky sunbeam.

We got a dedicated butler from our arrival. He guided us to our 2 bedroom cottage and helped us throughout our stay with interesting tidbits. He even arranged for the trek and camp at the Kunjapuri temple. It was 6 hour trek from the resort and the 360 degree panoramic view atop the hill was truly worth the climb.

The food was superb too with an incredible mix of various cuisines like Mediterranean, Lebanese, Italian along with the usual Chinese and Indian fares. Moreover the healthy aspect of the resort was even inculcated in the foods with a variety of salads on offer in the lunch and dinner buffet.

Having been here, I would most definitely stay only in this place the next time I arrive in Rishikesh and even it might work the other way round – I might return to Rishikesh just for staying at the Ananda in the Himalayas!!! 

Next day we headed for Mussorie leaving behind some xcellent memories

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were in Ananda Spa last week with a group of friends for a Business Meet. The resort was not only able to meet our already high expectations, it exceeded them.

We had booked 6 double rooms with a Valley View for 2 nights. Asad, Nitin & the F&B team went the extra distance to provide a bespoke experience. The hotel and the food were of the highest caliber but what really stole the show was the warm & personalized service. They had organised a special bar-be-cue for us at the poolside and even let us have an meeting, on the lawns close to the Palace. For all the above arrangements, they didnt even charge us any extra fare.

Highly recommended for a couple or group. Do keep in mind that kids are not permitted. An outdoor trek to Kunjapuri temple on the mountaintop with fabulous views of snow covered Himalayan peaks are a must. White water rafting on the Ganges River will enthrall and the evening aarti at Parmarth Ashram will lift you straight to heaven. One must sure end a visit to Rishikesh town with hot Gulab Jamun's at Chotiwala.

Room Tip: Must choose, Valley View rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Ananda - true to it's name - spells pure bliss.

The resort is one of the most serene & peaceful places one could head to for a totally relaxing getaway from the mad crowd. Superbly managed by very courteous, ever-smiling staff who are ready to help with anything to cater to one's fancies. The food is a perfect blend between indulgence & home-cooked. Goes without saying that the Spa boasts of ace therapists who really know their job. Optional Vedanta & Yoga classes add to the magical Ananda touch ..

A vacation, I feel, everyone must have at least once every six months to calm one's senses and have a total release of constant urban-living pressures.

Room Tip: Level 5 is the ground level at Ananda Spa .. so a level 4,5,6 valley-view room is ideal according to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ananda in the Himalayas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ananda in the Himalayas

Address: The Palace Estate | (Near Rishikesh), Narendranagar 249175, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Narendranagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narendranagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ananda in the Himalayas 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ananda-In the Himalayas is a luxury destination spa located in the foothills of the Himalayas, the birthplace of India’s ancient arts of yoga, meditation and Ayurveda. Dedicated to restoring balance and harmonizing energy through a holistic approach, Ananda incorporates the healing principles of the East and the West with a specific focus on Ayurveda and Yoga, along with contemporary International spa experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Ananda in the Himalayas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ananda In The Himalayas Hotel Rishikesh
Ananda In The Himalayas Rishikesh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ananda in the Himalayas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.